We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value and wonderful breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in West Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great value and wonderful breakfast”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We were traveling with our five children and stayed in one of the double bed suite rooms. The room was fantastic - clean, roomy and nice. Even the sofa bed was comfortable. Breakfast was not included but was great value and delicious. It was all-you can eat with some things made to order - eggs, omelets, pancakes. Well worth the money. $10.95 for adults, $4.95 for kids.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank M0mOfFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    147
    39
    9
    10
See reviews for
212
107
28
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
606 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

This is a very large Hilton Garden. You can tell that it has been added on to. It is a bit awkward. The hotel is about 7 years old. We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite in the new section which opened a few months ago. The beds were great and the room was very clean. The furnishings were nice and modern. The couch itself was comfortable, but when pulled out, the sofa sleeper was not comfortable. The 2nd night I slept on the couch itself which was much better. The front desk staff were not overly friendly. We purchased the bed & breakfast rate. The breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinnesotaRandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York NY
Level Contributor
104 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I'd probably give 3.5 stars if that were an option. A couple things irked me but they got the most important things right.

Clean - yes. Feels safe and secure - yes. Comfortable beds - slept well - yes. Adequate parking - well lit - yes. Free shuttle to nearby restaurants - yes. Quiet - doesn't sound like 18 wheelers or freight trains running through - yes very quiet (not on the frontage of a major highway).

So what could possibly have irked me? HHonors elite members are supposed to get bottled water at check-in - X. This was quite possibly the first time I wasn't given bottled water. Colleagues of mine without elite status all got very nice rooms. I got a room overlooking the dumpsters - um, don't you generally give your most frequent guests the more desirable rooms? Apparently not in West Des Moines. The breakfast / dining area in the brand new build Hilton Garden Inns is perfect but at this slightly older design, it just felt squeezed into a corner of the lobby. Are any of these things that would make me averse to returning to this property - probably not. But I have elite status with Marriott as well and I think if all other factors were equal, I'd try one of the new build Marriott properties in West Des Moines.

Important to note that the staff couldn't have been more pleasant - very nice.

Room Tip: Probably a room that isn't directly above the dumpsters may suit you better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoreFFmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

The HGI West Des Moines does not disappoint. I've stayed here 3 times in the last year and each time, it's met or slightly exceeded expectations.

Convenient location, clean, spacious rooms, and friendly, helpful staff. It delivers what HGI promises.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank owen41099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We were greeted by two very helpful desk personnel. They wanted to make sure that we had a great experience at this hotel. It is within walking distance to the Jordan Creek Mall. I will return, since every time we are in Des Moines, we stay there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2013

A clean hotel with a friendly staff, Rooms are spacious, I took the shuttle to Jordan Creek Mall the driver was very friendly and gave me pointers on the shopping and eating spots. ,we enjoyed the warm made to order breakfast, if it wasn't visible, the staff would go and make it possible... my grandkids came to swim with us, the younger children Love the shallow kid pook, while the older kids enjoyed the big pool. and i enjoyed the hot tub! great place.. I recommend this hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
536 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Very nice facilities, which is typical for the Hilton Garden Inns across the US. This one, however, is huge, with an indoor pool and its own convention and meeting center on the north end. Nicely situated, near a large indoor mall and lots of restaurants. Definitely a place to consider when staying in the Des Moines area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m2swim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Des Moines hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Moines/SW Mall Area
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Mo...
#3 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton West Des Moines / SW Mall Area
Homewood Suites by Hilton West D...
#4 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
1.6 mi away
West Des Moines Marriott
West Des Moines Marriott
#6 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines
Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moin...
#5 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
#2 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Des Moines-Jordan Creek
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West ...
#10 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines

Property: Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Address: 205 S 64th St, West Des Moines, IA 50266-8623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in West Des Moines
#2 Family Hotel in West Des Moines
#2 Business Hotel in West Des Moines
#2 Romantic Hotel in West Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines located close to Wells Fargo Corporate Offices and Jordan Creek Town Center. Whether you're traveling for business or leisure, our hotel in West Des Moines, Iowa is conveniently located near the restaurants, entertainment and shops of West Des Moines. Our Iowa hotel is near Interstate 35, Interstate 80 and 20 minutes from downtown. Plan a business conference or party in over 3,000 sq. Ft. Of flexible meeting space. Our experienced catering staff will assist with the menu and details. Stay connected with complimentary WiFi in guest rooms, common areas, and our 24-hr business center. Enjoy a workout in our fitness center or a swim in our indoor heated pool. Start the day with cooked-to-order omelets, waffles, or French toast in our Great American Grill(R). The restaurant is also open for dinner. If you'd prefer a relaxing dinner in your guest room, order room service or pick up a prepared meal at the 24-hour Pavilion Pantry(R). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines Hotel West Des Moines
Hilton West Des Moines
West Des Moines Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing