We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Property in West Des Moines” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in West Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Property in West Des Moines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This is a great property located adjacent to the Jordan Creek Shopping Center, and only minutes from I-35. The staff is friendly and very accommodating. Dawn from Guest Services ensured I always had a great experience here. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and the pool/hot tub/workout facilities are great. A great value in a convenient location!

Room Tip: I like the rooms on the first floor for convenience, but did not have a bad room here in my two mont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    126
    32
    8
    6
See reviews for
180
93
23
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

We usually love Hilton Garden Inn's. This is the first one that we will probably not ome back to.

We ordered dinner in the lounge which we usually do. When my meal came I had to send it back because I ordered it well done and it came very medium. On the second try, it came back the same ... Even emphasizing to burn it... WELL DONE!

It came med again. Guess you can only get beef here cooked med.

Secondly,, most Hilton Gardens are priced very close to each other. This one was about 25% higher than most/all others we have stayed at.

Last, the staff was not as helpful and friendly as most others.

End of story, we will not be back to this place.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Florida-Islands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

If you are shopping at Jordan Creek this is a good location. Not really within walking distance in the winter but they do have a shuttle! Staff very welcoming. Our expedia reservation said we had breakfast but when we got there the breakfast was not included, $8 something a person I believe, and I didn't have anything to prove I had booked that rate. The room rates were the same when I was booking (?) so naturally I took the with breakfast rate. We didn't get breakfast so that was disappointing but still giving 5 stars.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travels-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshalltown, Iowa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Very nice newer hotel that is located across the street from the East end of Jordon Creek Mall. Rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. There is a shuttle that will transport you a short distance but we did not utilize it since it only ran until 9:45pm. The mall closed at 10 pm and we decided to take in a late movie. The only thing we would have liked to have was a little something to eat in the am before we were off shopping. They serve a full breakfast but charge approximately $9.00 per person for it. We did not feel like a large breakfast and asked if they offered something "continental" style, like a bagle or muffin. We were told yes but there was a charge for that too. We felt that for what we paid for our room they could have least afford to offer a bagle free of charge. Not a big deal but a little annoying nevertheless.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grandmother53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Booked last minute at this property for a funeral. Arrived late in the evening to a new looking Hilton Garden Inn with friendly staff. Room was spacious with a comfortable bed, nice bathroom and adequate space to relax. Pool and Hot Tub area was very large and it was nice to relax after a long drive. If I am in the area again I would definitely stay at this property. Did not have much of a chance to visit the surrounding area, but the property seemed very conveniently located near plenty of shopping and restaurants. Great job!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HospitalityKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois City, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Have stayed here multiple times with my family. The pool has a great wading pool with water spouts for the little kiddies to play without needing an adult in the pool with them. The hotel rooms are nothing special but were clean. The staff is OK, the breakfast is good. If you are looking for a clean, comfortable place to stay with a young family- this is a great choice!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welltravelled36161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
215 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel a number of times, and I am impressed by the consistently friendly service. The staff is sharp, and ensures check in is pleasant, the stay is great, and check out is only sad because I have to leave the hotel. The rooms are very clean and quiet. The hotel is close to malls, shops and restuarants. This is my favorite Hilton hotel in Des Moines.

Room Tip: I prefer the two room suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MItravelerforbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Des Moines hotels
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton West Des Moines / SW Mall Area
Homewood Suites by Hilton West D...
#2 of 20 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 stars 148 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Moines/SW Mall Area
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Mo...
#3 of 20 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 stars 130 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
#4 of 20 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 stars 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines
Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moin...
#5 of 20 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 stars 337 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Des Moines West/Jordan Creek
Courtyard Des Moines West/Jordan...
#7 of 20 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 stars 137 reviews
1.6 mi away
No photo provided
West Des Moines Marriott
#6 of 20 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 stars 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines

Property: Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Address: 205 S 64th St, West Des Moines, IA 50266-8623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in West Des Moines
#2 Romantic Hotel in West Des Moines
#2 Business Hotel in West Des Moines
#2 Family Hotel in West Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines located close to Wells Fargo Corporate Offices and Jordan Creek Town Center. Whether you're traveling for business or leisure, our hotel in West Des Moines, Iowa is conveniently located near the restaurants, entertainment and shops of West Des Moines. Our Iowa hotel is near Interstate 35, Interstate 80 and 20 minutes from downtown. Plan a business conference or party in over 3,000 sq. Ft. Of flexible meeting space. Our experienced catering staff will assist with the menu and details. Stay connected with complimentary WiFi in guest rooms, common areas, and our 24-hr business center. Enjoy a workout in our fitness center or a swim in our indoor heated pool. Start the day with cooked-to-order omelets, waffles, or French toast in our Great American Grill(R). The restaurant is also open for dinner. If you'd prefer a relaxing dinner in your guest room, order room service or pick up a prepared meal at the 24-hour Pavilion Pantry(R). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines Hotel West Des Moines
Hilton West Des Moines
West Des Moines Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing