We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in West Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Milford, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

New hotel, great staff, good room service. I would not hesitate to stay there again! The surrounding area is all new development, so I didn't mind the drive from downtown. Ordered room service for several meals and was very pleased.

Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank bs983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    140
    36
    9
    10
See reviews for
201
104
28
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

This was another fabulous Hilton stay. It's a new hotel, very clean, spacious rooms, good breakfast options. What won me over the most was the service. I was on a business trip and arrived early afternoon (12:30). I really needed a place to just crash and not drive around for 3 hours waiting for check in time. They accommodated me and "rushed" to get a room clean so I could check in. Housekeeping left me a nice note and candy which was pleasant to return to after a long day. The location couldn't be better for West Des Moines. It is close to all of the shopping and restaurants you could possibly want. I will definitely stay here again when I'm in town on business.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank withni7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

We have stayed at this property 3 times so far, twice in the last month. It is practically brand new, staff is super friendly and the location is fantastic! Close to I-35 and right next to huge, new shopping area with many restaurants, movie theatre and mall. Had room service delivered last month and the food was really good!! Any time we're in DSM, we will always stay here!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjs81410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
110 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

If you are looking for an affordable option off of I-35, this is your spot. With many food options, no need to pay for breakfast at the hotel. The shopping mall right next to hotel has great incredible stores, I only wish I had more time there. The hotel itself was very clean. I was there with my family but would also recommend for the business traveler. I only wish when I travel for work I had these options for food that surround this hotel. Would recommend!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Warminmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

Stayed at Hilton Grden Inn West Des Moines, Iowa. Hotel is in an excellent location, near multiple stores (Kohl's, Dillards) and a fair number of restaraunts. Hotel was relatively new, rooms were in excellent shape. Services was efficient and friendly. The breakfast was good. Of course, the Hilton Garden Inn charges for it's breakfast buffet, but the low cost of the room offset the buffet price. I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertDHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
424 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

Great location near shopping and restaurants. Clean room but the shower wasn't great. Head was mounted too high and half of the water continued to run out the tap rather than through the shower head making for poor water pressure. Breakfast was very good and the servers there were very nice. Check in didn't seem terribly friendly and the weekend policy I had to sign regarding noise/smoking/alcohol wasn't very welcoming. The TV issues that other reviewers commented on were a bit annoying too. Pool looked nice but we didn't use it. If I returned to the area I'd probably try a different hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msu_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Thank you for your feedback in regards to the shower not working properly in your room. I've worked with maintenance to fix the issue, however I apologize that it wasn't resolved sooner. We are currently evaluating our current cable provider and don't foresee any issues in the future. Thank you again for your review and I invite you to stay with us the next time you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
133 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

The Hilton Garden Inn WDM is always our first choice when visiting Des Moines. The property is ideally located near Jordan Creek mall and many good restaurants. The staff is warm and friendly in every regard with many key people (GM, maintenance, restaurant staff) there since the property opened about 6 years ago. The rooms are very clean and well-maintained. The property was recently renovated with new carpet and large flat-screen TVs. The reasonably-priced breakfast buffet has fresh fruits, cereals, bread, etc. along with cooked to order eggs, waffles, etc. There is a large indoor pool and nicely-equipped workout room with new Precor cardio. This property is frequented mainly by bushiness people during the week and many families on the weekends. We highly recommend the HGI, WDM.

Room Tip: We prefer the 1-bedroom king suites for the extra space and nice tiled showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Island_Gypsy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Des Moines hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Moines/SW Mall Area
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Mo...
#1 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton West Des Moines / SW Mall Area
Homewood Suites by Hilton West D...
#4 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
1.6 mi away
West Des Moines Marriott
West Des Moines Marriott
#6 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines
Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moin...
#5 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Des Moines West at Jordan Creek Town Center
Residence Inn Des Moines West at...
#7 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
#3 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines

Property: Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Address: 205 S 64th St, West Des Moines, IA 50266-8623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in West Des Moines
#2 Business Hotel in West Des Moines
#2 Romantic Hotel in West Des Moines
#2 Family Hotel in West Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines located close to Wells Fargo Corporate Offices and Jordan Creek Town Center. Whether you're traveling for business or leisure, our hotel in West Des Moines, Iowa is conveniently located near the restaurants, entertainment and shops of West Des Moines. Our Iowa hotel is near Interstate 35, Interstate 80 and 20 minutes from downtown. Plan a business conference or party in over 3,000 sq. Ft. Of flexible meeting space. Our experienced catering staff will assist with the menu and details. Stay connected with complimentary WiFi in guest rooms, common areas, and our 24-hr business center. Enjoy a workout in our fitness center or a swim in our indoor heated pool. Start the day with cooked-to-order omelets, waffles, or French toast in our Great American Grill(R). The restaurant is also open for dinner. If you'd prefer a relaxing dinner in your guest room, order room service or pick up a prepared meal at the 24-hour Pavilion Pantry(R). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines Hotel West Des Moines
Hilton West Des Moines
West Des Moines Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing