We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location but they could try harder.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Des Moines West at Jordan Creek Town Center
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in West Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Nice location but they could try harder.”
Reviewed October 6, 2009

Our room had a separate living area, which was nice, and the kitchen would be great for an extended stay. However, the mattress on our bed sagged markedly and the bulb was burned out in one of the bedside lamps. Bathroom was rather small and minimal amenities. TV was old and small. Breakfast is a nice inclusion, but the oatmeal was runny and the only fruit was thawed/frozen with a mushy texture and sour taste. Not bad, but not impressive for the money.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fuzby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    64
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
59
37
9
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midwest
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2009

We stayed here on our way to a family reunion. The front desk personnel was very pleasant. After our arrival, we headed to the swimming pool and hot tub area. After we were done with swimming, we headed out on the path that is right outside the hotel and takes you around a pond and several restaurants along the way--we ended up at The Cheesecake Factory, which is connected to the Jordan Creek Mall (very nice mall).

The room was pleasant with a small kitchenette. In the morning, they provide a pretty extensive breakfast downstairs off the lobby area, and I went for a walk with my children around the pond again. We also went over the the mall again and walked around, even though the stores weren't open. The hotel is in a great location and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MidwestBusymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2008

This is a lovely, new hotel situated on beautiful grounds near a top-quality, shopping, dining, and entertainment destination. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. The breakfast and evening meal were both delicious. We definitely plan on staying here again and would wholeheartedly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
Helpful?
Thank dpierce5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2008

If you have to travel to Des Moines, this is the best place to stay. I have stayed in a number of different places in Des Moines, but, since I first stayed here two years ago, this is the only place I want to stay. The rooms are nice -- standard Residence Inn rooms -- and the staff, from housekeeping to management, is about the most customer-service oriented I have seen anyplace. They have a great breakfast (including a number of healthy items), and manager's receptions on some week nights. The location is great for everything. Good restaurants, shopping and movies within walking distance. If you have a meeting downtown, you can hop on the Interstate and be there in 10-15 minutes. Ask for a room overlooking the pond and fountains.

  • Liked — Service an location
  • Disliked — Room did not have luggage rack
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Auntie_El
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2008

A nice hotel in the center of the action. The building is surrounded by water, resturants and shopping. It is easy for teenagers to walk to their destinations i.e. movies, shopping. For parents, Costco, Best Buy and Walmart are just around the corner. The resturants are Applebees, Cheesecake Factory, Flemings, Joes Crab Shack, On the Border, PF Changs, Panera Bread, Starbucks, Culvers and so much more.

The studio rooms are large with a spacious kitchenette (no oven). The fully equippd kitchenette has a microwave and stove top, full size refrigator and dishwasher. The king size beds are plush and soft with plenty of feather pillows. The sofa pulls out into a large bed too. Wireless is available. A full breakfast with eggs, potatoes, sausage/french toast, waffles, cereal and yogurt are served. The coffee is fresh and tasty. Milk, OJ and apple juice are served in addition to variety of breakfast breads i.e. bagels, english muffins, toast, crissonts(sp).

If you are looking for a hotel close to the Wells Fargo and other corporate offices and interstates 80 and 235, the Residence Inn should be your temporary home.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Location alot of construction still going on in West Des Moines.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank treki999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2007

This property is quite new and it shows. Everything is quite clean and in tip top condition. I stayed here two nights for business and was impressed by the mix of long term residents and short term guests like myself.

Breakfast: Adequate, nothing special but it's included in the price.

Evening reception: A bit of a joke. Food offerings are VERY limited. If you are not there on time, you are out of luck. Many of the guests seemed to load up on beer and food to take back to their rooms.

Location: Awesome. If you're on a shopping junket wtih some friends, this is the place to stay. The awesome Jordan Creek mall is just a short walk away on a dedicated path. You can also walk along the lake and try to decide which restaurant to go to. The evenings are very romantic with the music and the mood lighting all around the lake.

Rooms: King room has a kitchen and sitting area. Quite large and comfortable. Sink area is separate from the Toilet/Shower area. Both were clean, attractive and easy to use. Coffee and Tea welcome kit was awful... stale coffee and powdered creamer. Room has a full size frig. and stove. Kitchen was bigger than mine at home!

Internet: I didn't have my laptop so I tried to use their public computer. There is only one in this establishment and it is VERY old and slow. Slower than diaup. Bring the laptop.

Overall, a good place to stay. I would stay here again.

  • Liked — The place is new and clean - location next to the mall and great restaurants is fabulous
  • Disliked — Internet service was terrible
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TomRiedmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2007

I believe this is the one on Jordan Creek Parkway - that's where we stayed. The retail development around this area has been explosive. We walked to dinner with a choice of 5+ restaurants, then did some strip mall shopping followed by ice cream. All of this with a family of six with children ages 4 - 14. They didn't even complain. The interent worked well and the location is great. We'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — green banana's at breakfast
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank FrqTravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Des Moines hotels
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton West Des Moines / SW Mall Area
Homewood Suites by Hilton West D...
#4 of 22 in West Des Moines
224 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moine...
#1 of 22 in West Des Moines
584 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place West Des Moines/Jordan Creek
Hyatt Place West Des Moines/Jord...
#8 of 22 in West Des Moines
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Des Moines-Jordan Creek
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West ...
#10 of 22 in West Des Moines
200 reviews
1.1 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines
Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moin...
#5 of 22 in West Des Moines
385 reviews
1.6 mi away
West Des Moines Marriott
West Des Moines Marriott
#6 of 22 in West Des Moines
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Des Moines West at Jordan Creek Town Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Des Moines West at Jordan Creek Town Center

Property: Residence Inn Des Moines West at Jordan Creek Town Center
Address: 160 S Jordan Creek Pkwy, West Des Moines, IA 50266-8138 (Formerly Residence Inn Des Moines West)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in West Des Moines
#6 Business Hotel in West Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Des Moines West at Jordan Creek Town Center 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NEW Des Moines West Residence Inn by Marriott at Jordan Creek Town Center offers all that the business, leisure, and those relocating are seeking. Located minutes away from the headquarters of Wells Fargo, the downtown financial district, and Des Moines International Airport. Our visitors have access to many local attractions including the Iowa Events Center/Wells Fargo Arena, Science and Botanical Center, and Des Moines Civic Center to name a few. Here you will also find shopping, lakeside restaurants, running trails, and an outdoor amphitheater for enjoying concerts and other activities all within walking distance. As the leader in extended stay lodging, our homelike surroundings invite you to relax, and our community atmosphere will make you feel welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Des Moines West at Jordan Creek Town Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Des Moines West Hotel West Des Moines
Residence Inn West Des Moines
West Des Moines Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing