We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good sandwiches” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tavern

Tavern
Ranked #48 of 253 Restaurants in West Des Moines
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
102 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good sandwiches”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Five us met at the Tavern for supper. The sandwiches were all plentiful, fresh and good tasting. The location was easy to find. We did have to get the OK from the Mgr to get a round table.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Donn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    13
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
477 reviews
300 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

A decent experience here. The decor is nothing special and the service is fine, but the food is pretty good. If you get a salad, you must try their house special creamy parmesan dressing: it is just amazing! So tasty! Their pepperoni rolls are great as an appetizer and the pasta is tasty and plentiful!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious pizza!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed in Des Moines for the weekend and decided to try the local pizza. Tavern has excellent pizza. The thin crust, toppings, and sauce are excellent. We ordered ours with extra cheese because we observed the pizzas at the tables near us and decided we like more cheese than the normal amount at Tavern. It actually had plenty of cheese when we ordered extra which was great because sometimes even when ordering extra at places, it still is kind of light. Not the case here, plenty of cheese with the extra cheese order. We will definitely be going back next time we are in Des Moines. We also tried F & O the same weekend, and we would prefer Tavern 100% of the time. We liked that they have ice cream treats too, so you can get dessert! Also, our server was really friendly and on top of things.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank A_from_Midtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls
Level Contributor
146 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

Average quality pizza is over priced. West side has decent service, Army Post location has SLOW service.

Helpful?
Thank Blancaontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best pizza ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

Sausage was awesome and wonderful thin crust. Onion rings are great too.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank MaggE53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tavern also viewed

West Des Moines, IA
 

Been to Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing