We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rosemary bread is delightful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Romano's Macaroni Grill - CLOSED

Romano's Macaroni Grill
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Combined Locks, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rosemary bread is delightful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

I haven't been to a Macaroni Grill for many years. We really enjoyed the rosemary bread, Caesar salad and our entrees (although my Fettucine Alfredo could have used more sauce). Also, the wine was half-price--that is definitely a bonus! House red is very good--semi-dry without being too sweet or too bitter.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    11
    6
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
112 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Macaroni grill is consistent”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

I haven't eaten at a Macaroni grill for several (10?) years, but I will say they are very consistent. The service was very good - the summer special (1/2 price on wines) was appreciated, and helped make up for what we thought were slightly high prices for basic Italian food.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DrEvS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines Iowa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“OK food, excellent service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our party of six dined at 6:30 on a Friday night, and had only a brief wait. The servers and manager (?) were eager to accommodate our special needs (primarily gluten-free options). The excellent (and free!) bread arrived promptly and out drink orders were taken immediately. The only negative was when the server neglected to return with a promised wine suggestion from the bar tender. The food was typical of Macaroni Grill -- kinda bland and predictable. The only truly sour note was the pasta bowl with mushrooms, roast chicken and marsala cream sauce. For $12.50, the dish should have had much more (and much larger) pieces of chicken. The eggplant Parmesan was tasty, though the intact skin gave the dish a bit more chew than expected. The kids gluten-free mac and cheese was a hit, as was the portobello-stuffed ravioli. The ambiance was pleasant, without the constant drone of TV sets so prevalent in restaurants tody.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DesMoinesIowaGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Should be named pasta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

I don't think I saw macaroni on the menu, but there is pasta galore. My order lasted for four meals! Try the Italian soda-I had a delicious peach cream.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Theresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Chicken Parm rocks!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

I highly suggest the Chicken Parm. Also, really like the garden salad that was so- very fresh.
The waitress was quite simply awful... Other wait staff seemed fine from a distance?? Our initial wait was so long we ordered food, drinks etc. at her very late greeting.

I'll be back- and you should go!!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank budpaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Romano's Macaroni Grill also viewed

 
West Des Moines, IA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing