We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For all”

Waterfront Seafood Market
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Sushi, Soups, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
132 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“For all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

Waterfront has excellent, fresh seafood in a comfortable atmosphere. Great for kids to experience NON-fried seafood for the first time. Always have a great selection and service.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank iowaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    63
    20
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always Fun”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

I enjoy taking the Grandkids everyone has something they like best. We usually spend the entire day and are disappointed when it is time to close for the night.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rita F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Waterfront Seafood Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

The best seafood in West Des Moines. Seafood is mostly fresh, other than that which must be frozen for long range shipping. Has a limited wine list. Servers are proficient and courteous.
Has a sushi bar in which the sushi is made very competently.
Also has a market where one may purchase the fresh seafood.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rick416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“delicious but slow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

A group of 6 ladies were @ the Ankeny location to celebrate a couple birthdays. The food was wonderful and I would have given an excellent rating, however, the service was very slow.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank hveach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Avoid the sushi!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

My date and I were in the mood for sushi and decided to try Waterfront this past Friday night. We ordered pan-fried oysters and crab cakes for appetizers and asked that they be brought out before our maki rolls. The crab cakes were average and nothing exceptional. The pan fried oysters were heavily breaded and so greasy that we could not taste the oysters. The mouth feel was all wrong, too. As for sushi, we ordered a tuna roll, a king crab roll and the Waterfront roll. It was brought to us in a reasonable time. All three rolls were, simply put, bad--some of the worse sushi I've ever eaten. For starters, the rice in the rolls was not cooked properly. It was mushy and didn't have the right consistency. Also, I could taste no rice vinegar in the rice. It tasted like plain overcooked sticky rice. The tuna roll was fine but contained a skimpy portion of tuna. The Waterfront roll and king crab rolls were indistinguishable from one another and virtually flavorless. I have had sushi at supermarkets and Target for a third of the price that blows this away. Sad but true. Avoid the sushi here! On a positive note, my date ordered a key lime martini, and it was so good that she ordered another.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jjyoung78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterfront Seafood Market also viewed

 

Been to Waterfront Seafood Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing