We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, convenient and a great price!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 Des Moines West
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in West Des Moines
York, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, convenient and a great price!”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Two girl friends and I just finished a road trip from CO to PA, and about 3 days in we found ourselves arriving in Des Moines around 9:30 pm. After calling around to 4-5 local hotels that came up on the GPS, we decided that this place had the best rate for the night and decided to check it out. Plus the tripadvisor rating wasn't too bad, and the woman, Carol, who answered at the front desk sounded very welcoming!
We easily found the hotel with the help of the GPS, had a smooth check-in, and found parking right outside the front door under a light. Carol was the one who checked us in, cheerifully let us know that there would be free coffee available in the main lobby from 6-10 am the next morning.
The room was clean and comfortable--nothing super fancy, but fine for the price we were paying. We had asked in advance for a room with a mini-fridge for the extra $3, and found it in the room clean, & in working order. We brought our own toiletries, so I didn't note whether or not shampoo, conditioner, etc, was provided.
Overall it was a pleasant stay, exceeded what we were looking for in a budget motel, and I would be fine with staying again if I'm ever in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethany A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    35
    23
    18
    12
See reviews for
34
21
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adel, Iowa, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2013

When we first arrived we were greeted by Allen who was very short and unprofessional and gave us NO options for rooms or amenaties for the rooms or costs as we were unsure on how long our stay with Motel 6 was going to be. Then we were greeting Nathan, another employee and management that were also rude and unprofressional. Then several days into our stay we were greeted by Yvonne who was extremely professional and helpful as far as options for us to be in a room with a refrigerator and microwave since our stay was going to be much longer than expected. Yvonne finally gave us a weekly rate which also made our nightly rate much cheaper as well to give us a better deal for our extended stay here.. I do not agree with charging $3 per computer per day.. I think that is alot of money for someone to pay for internet usage for a hotel of this type! Also, I think that was rediculous that the hotel did not provide shampoo. I have never been to a hotel that has those items in a vending machine for purchase only! Anything that we needed Yvonne was more than happy to help us get but all other employees at the front desk seemed like everything was a burden to help someone out with.. Motel 6 also needs to get "do not disturb" signs to put on the door so when you do want housekeeping to bother you then you have a sign to put on the door for them to leave you alone! I also find the beds to be a little uncomfortable but the pillows are great! Both rooms that we ended up being in the plug for the bathtub pulled all the way out and in the 2nd room that we were in the sink had a few issues.. It snowed when we stayed here and there was no maintenance called in to clear the walkways until the next day so we shoveled for the employee that was working that night and got very little appreciation for helping her out.. The hotel definately needs to have better maintenance as the 1 door which you should be required to use your room key is broken so the door is always propped open, the floor is majorly cracked in the ice machine room on the 3rd floor and the dryer vent was broken off when we did our laundry here too..We talked to the manager about all of these issues and all she did was raise our rates. I just feel like this is a cheap hotel but the other issues need to be resolved as well to make this a 100% feel like home stay!

Room Tip: To be on the upper floors maybe or be away from entrance/exit doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. catharines
Level 6 Contributor
361 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 365 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

After a long driving day the location close to the interstate and gas station was what was needed. Staff were friendly and helpfull. Lots of parking and well lit parking lot for getting things out of the vehicle at night.
I would have no trouble staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rodney01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
238 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

This is my first stay at this Motel 6. The location is a little hard to find, but well worth it. I travel for work and stay in a motel most nights. I'm not gonna pay an extra 20-30 bucks for a free shampoo! If you work for a living and know the value of a dollar, this is the place for you. Clean and comfortable!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChuckMosher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

First off we were driving cross country, coming from the peaceful and SAFE city of Fort Collins Colorado I am skeptical about where I stay overnight, the location is perfect. High end part of West Des Moines, so if you decide to stay at this Motel 6, the location will without a doubt, the least of your worries.
Really cannot beat the price, but the room will beat you, into a soulless shell of your former self, ok that may be an exaggeration but the room is the cheapest you will find, ever, like throughout history.
The bed seemed to be a box spring with out the charisma of a box spring, more like a box of a box spring, the bed was horribly uncomfortable, BUT the pillow was like a cloud, go figure.
Also our bed spread had a cigarette hole burned into it, nice!!
The shower was slow to drain but the water was hot hot HOT!!

If you are no frills, not even a clock or shampoo and are on a super tight budget, then this is the place for you, the place was fairly clean and in good overall shape. it is like a 500 dollar car, it does what it needs to and nothing else.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I am generally opposed to staying in a Motel 6, especially the old ones. They can be dirty and downright scary. This was NOT the case at the Motel 6 on Office Drive in West Des Moines! This motel above all things was CLEAN! It is a fairly new facility. The room had newer carpet and bathroom fixtures-no dents, stains, light and CLEAN. The beds were decent. The sheets and towels were small but not the bottom of the barrel cheap. The room was furnished amply with basic furniture, a TV, refrigerator, and microwave that were clean. You have to ask in advance for those amenities as not all rooms have them. The decor was mostly white walls, blue carpet, without the gaudy oranges and yellows you see in some Motel 6 units. There is an elevator. Parking is ample. There is plenty of room to exercise a pet. There are chain and fast food restaurants close by. A couple miles south is Jordan Creek Shopping Center where there are both chain and upscale restaurants. The location makes it handy to access I-80 and get around Des Moines. If you just need a basic, no frills room, but insist on safety and cleanliness, this is not a bad place to stay at all. I was traveling with my dog and did not feel ill at ease about my surroundings or people at all. Bring your own hairdryer and watch or phone as rooms have no clocks.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the south side because it may be noisy on the Interstate side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NebraskaPineknot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This property was other hotel chains before becoming a Motel 6. The room was very clean, great location-make sure to go down to University Ave for a large selection of dining options or over to the Jordan Creek Mall area.

Only negative is I had a room facing the interstate-ask for a room away from the interstate.

I will stay there again when in town due to the location, price and ease to multiple dining options.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkkelly230Clearwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Des Moines
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites - Des Moines
Candlewood Suites - Des Moines
#18 of 22 in West Des Moines
91 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moine...
#12 of 22 in West Des Moines
207 reviews
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Des Moines West
SpringHill Suites Des Moines Wes...
#16 of 22 in West Des Moines
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
West Des Moines Marriott
West Des Moines Marriott
#6 of 22 in West Des Moines
386 reviews
2.1 mi away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#13 of 48 in Des Moines
602 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moine...
#1 of 22 in West Des Moines
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Des Moines West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Des Moines West

Property: Motel 6 Des Moines West
Address: 7655 Office Plaza Dr N, West Des Moines, IA 50266-2321
Location: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in West Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Des Moines West 2*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The motel is centrally located in West Des Moines with easy access to US 80. The shopping center and restaurants are just 10 minutes away. Deluxe modern guest rooms with micro fridge available for a nominal fee, limited supply. WIFI available for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Motel 6 Des Moines West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Des Moines Hotel West Des Moines
Motel 6 West Des Moines
Motel Six West Des Moines
West Des Moines Motel Six
West Des Moines Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing