We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Staybridge Suites West Des Moines

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Staybridge Suites West Des Moines
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in West Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
105 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed one night. Check in was quick, and I was recognized as a Priority Club member with a snack size bag of Cheeze Its. Everything appeared brand new, common areas, fitness room, dining area, and room furnishings and fixtures were all clean looking and clean smelling. The employee hosting the Social Hour was friendly and informative, the tacos, southwest chicken salad fixings, wine, beer and soft drinks were all a pleasant surprise. The bed was so comfortable, we almost missed the free breakfast. The hotel is challenging to find without a map of the area or a Garmin, it's in an office park, but convenient to shopping, restaurants and a main highway.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Big D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica_H_12186, General Manager at Staybridge Suites West Des Moines, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for sharing your hotel experience. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay & look forward to hosting you the next time you're in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    47
    20
    7
    3
See reviews for
42
37
4
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Livermore, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Two of us came to Des Moines for the Iowa State Fair and were able to get a room here with 2 queen beds. Such luxurious mattress to sleep on and if there was any noise, it was muffled by the quiet air conditioning. Nice mirror/sink outside of the toilet/tub area and we appreciated the microwave/refrigerator. We did not use the internet access. Our only request would be to re-surface the tub...had rust markings from old mats...and to put in the rounded shower curtains. We have gotten spoiled by those in other hotels and at home.
The staff was most friendly and helpful amidst a multitude of phone calls from others trying to find a room as they come to the state fair.
The pool and surrounding area was clean and didn't smell of excessive chlorine as so many of them do. Temperature of the water was great for a morning exercise/swim time.
Our favorite area was the wide array of breakfast items and how neatly, professionally it was displayed. The breakfast area as sparkling in metal features and cleanliness. Thank you!
We will be glad to stay there again and to share with others re: our good experience there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

Stayed one night, in only room available, sadly a smoking room.

Very large room, clean but smelled badly of smoke, nothing to be done about that.
Bed linens didn't smell of smoke so that means they were cleaned regularly.
Turned on the bathroom vent fan and left it on, the smell ok after that.

Only thing out of place, there was some paint peeling in the shower,
but everything else was clean and functional.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blottoinnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
108 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times for business and pleasure. The room we got this time was a 2 room suite with 2 queen beds. The room was huge for 2 people, but we enjoyed the kitchen area and ample living space. The issues we had were primarily with the bathroom and the carpet outside the elevator. We had several packages, etc. to bring up to the room. When we got off the elevator on the 4th floor, the carpet was loose and we nearly tripped, dropping several packages. The other issue we had was the bathroom cleanliness and maintenance. There was rust in the bath tub which also had several chipped places in the coating and the tile beside the tub was very dirty and needed a good scrubbing. The bathroom itself is very small for the large size of the rest of the room. While it had an ample sink area outside the door to the bathroom, the tub and stool room was cramped. The staff is wonderful and very helpful. The pool and jacuzzi need to be cleaned as well. If you are planning to use the pool for water exercise, be aware that the deepest end is only 5'.

Room Tip: Staying on the 4th floor seems to be quieter than other floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelDebIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie N, General Manager at Staybridge Suites West Des Moines, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at the Staybridge Suites in West Des Moines. We always appreciate guest feedback. Safety is very important to us and we will be stretching the carpet in the hallways to ensure that no one trips. Our staff has addressed the maintenance and cleanliness issues in the bathroom and pool area as well. We hope to see you the next time you are in the West Des Moines area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Minnesota
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

This hotel is very clean, the staff very friendly and attentive. The morning breakfast is extensive with a wide range of warm and cold offerings. Unfortunately, the physical plant, while visually appealing, is lacking. The most important to us was the painfully slow wireless internet service. The facility appears to have about nine different internal wireless networks, but both I tried were extremely slow, this on a weekend when only a few car were present in the parking lot. The connection was adequate for static websites, acceptable for email reading sites, but using a site with any dynamic content was extremely frustrating, including maps and low-res video from media sites, etc. Don't even think about watching streaming video like Netflix. Other signs of inattention were the installation sticker still affixed to the front side of the toilet tank and the fact that the door between rooms in our suite would not latch shut.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChelvisGeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie N, General Manager at Staybridge Suites West Des Moines, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We have recently upgraded our Internet Service to allow for faster connections and additional bandwidth. I have addressed your other comments with our Maintenance staff to assure they pay closer attention to detail. We appreciate your feedback so that we can make your next stay an enjoyable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

A bit disappointing for a Staybridge hotel. I had a five (5) day stay here and found the room and building in general to be average at best. I've stayed at other Staybridges and have always enjoyed the lodging. Much less here. Noisy rooms - poor construction - floors and walls, you can hear yourself walking in the hall. The floor tiles in the bathroom were loose and moving as you stood on them, and the room appearred to be a general hotel room with a frig, counter, etc stuffed in to make it a long stay hotel. Also, cheap windows - i.e. lot's of highway noise. I will not be staying here again for what was charged and expected.

Room Tip: on backside of building away from highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrvlgMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations IHGCare at Staybridge Suites West Des Moines, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Dear TrvlgMan,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.
I'm sorry to hear of your disappointment.
I would like to happily let you know, In the very near future we will
be doing a remodel of the hotel. All tile in the bathroom floors will be replaced
as well as other areas of hotel. I hope you are able to stay with us again after our remodel and
let us know what you think.

Thanks again,

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Island, Nebraska
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

We had all of our family members together for Christmas. We were all well pleased. There complimentary hot breakfast consisted either bacon or sausage and tater tots. In addition there was mixed fruit, bananas, apples and oranges. A waffle iron made great waffles.All eight of us including two young grandchildren were very well pleased with this breakfast. The front desk clerks were always friendly and always very helpful. We made the reservation because we wanted to take our Poodle along and as a result we got these additional benefits. There was also large HD TVs with one in the bedroom and one in the living room, which are grandchildren loved to watch their cartoons in either room. It is close to several great restaurants.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quite and we could not hear noise in adjacent rooms or the hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cletus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Des Moines hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moine...
#9 of 20 in West Des Moines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moine...
#3 of 20 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
#4 of 20 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
West Des Moines Marriott
West Des Moines Marriott
#6 of 20 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
2.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton West Des Moines / SW Mall Area
Homewood Suites by Hilton West D...
#1 of 20 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Des Moines West
SpringHill Suites Des Moines Wes...
#13 of 20 in West Des Moines
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites West Des Moines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites West Des Moines

Property: Staybridge Suites West Des Moines
Address: 6905 Lake Drive, West Des Moines, IA 50266
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in West Des Moines
#9 Business Hotel in West Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites West Des Moines 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staybridge Suites West Des Moines Invites Guests to Rest Comfortably Ideally situated near I-80, Des Moines International Airport (DSM) and the Iowa Foundation for Medical Care, Staybridge Suites West Des Moines is an all-suite, upscale, extended stay hotel within close proximity to everything Des Moines has to offer. Long-term guests of our pet friendly Des Moines, Iowa hotel can enjoy all the comforts of home with easy access to shopping at Jordan Creek Town Center and live performances at the Des Moines Art Center. Special events at the Science Center of Iowa and Living History Farms are also less than ten miles away. Business travelers appreciate our extended stay West Des Moines accommodations near Hy-Line International, Wells Fargo and Briggs Corporation. In order to best meet the needs of our professional guests, over 950 sq. ft. of meeting space, a 24-hour business center and free, high-speed Internet access are provided on-site. During your stay, you can enjoy resting in one of our spacious suites with full-service kitchens, exercising in our well-equipped fitness center or relaxing in our indoor, swimming pool. You can start your day by visiting our complimentary breakfast buffet, and end your day by joining us for our community-oriented Social Monday - Wednesday. As you plan your next trip, check out our exceptional Des Moines, Iowa hotel rates and make your reservations with us today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Staybridge Suites West Des Moines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites West Des Moines Hotel West Des Moines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing