We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Staybridge Suites West Des Moines
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in West Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Eagle, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

We stopped here on our way home from Colorado. The room was big, with a king size bed, couch and kitchen. It was more than we needed for an overnight stay. Nice towels. They offered a very good free breakfast that included scrambled eggs, American fries, sausage, fresh fruit, coffee cake, pound cake and more. Breakfast didn't start unti 7:30 on the weekend, we wish it would've been earlier, but we're glad we stayed for it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eagletraveler82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    49
    20
    7
    4
See reviews for
45
37
4
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

Rooms were clean, but poorly lit. Bathrooms are aging. Food smelled nasty so we went out to Joes Crab Shack which was actually nasty. Overpriced and it seems that there are btter properties in the immediate are.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderingtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

This is the 3rd time I have stayed here for business since there is a corporate rate and was recommended to stay here by the company. It is close to the mall and resturants. The room was quiet, clean and very roomy. I did have issues trying to connect to the internet so just gave up. I had joined the rewards club and gave my number when making the reservations and have never received any points. The time I stayed here before I asked that they credit reward points for that stay and the desk help did not know how to and did not offer any assistance. Breakfast had variety of hot and cold foods and was well stocked but this was at 6:30 am. I would probably stay here again for business / corporate but really prefer the Hmapton Inn across the street.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dkoble, Regional Manager at Staybridge Suites West Des Moines, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
Thank you taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Staybridge Suites in West Des Moines. We appreciate your comments and will use this as an opportunity to improve. We have recently boosted our Internet Bandwidth throughout the hotel and added addtional access points that has dramitcally improved upon our Internet service. The hotel has went through an ownership change since your stay in January and has been undergoing some changes. We have added new 32in HDTV's and DVD players in every room and have plans for continued renovations this fall including adding additional equipment in the fitness room and a breakfast room remodel. We invite you to try us again the next time you are in West Des Moines!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Iowa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

This extended stay hotel is in a nice, quiet neighborhood on a small lake a few blocks from the interstate. They have a nice free breakfast buffet, indoor pool, whirlpool, and exercise room. OnTuesday, Wednesday and Thursday nights they serve a light dinner. There is free wireless in all areas of the hotel and the rooms are clean and have full kitchens and flat screen TV's. We enjoyed our stay and would go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrenOb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dkoble, Regional Manager at Staybridge Suites West Des Moines, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
Thank you for your nice review! We always appreciate hearing feedback from our guests and use them to improve upon our services. We hope to see you the next time you are in West Des Moines.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

I was in a handicapped room not by choice. Not sure how the regular rooms are but this one was cramped. No work desk for a laptop. Bathroom was awkward for a non-handicapped person. Breakfast buffet was great except the eggs were cold.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huberm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, ihg care at Staybridge Suites West Des Moines, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Dear Huberm,

Thank you for your review regarding your experience. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced.

We strive to exceed our guests’ expectations and create memorable experiences. We take all feedback seriously. It helps us gauge what we are doing right and what we need to improve on and sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your
comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG. IHG Care ^bj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

Stayed here a couple of weeks for business. The first week, I got to my room and as soon as I walked in I was blown away by the smell of a smoking room! I called down immediately to ask if I had been given a smoking room, only to find out it was not. They said a bunch of Little League teams had been in town and they trashed some rooms. The front desk was nice and tried to come up and spray but it didn't make a bit of difference. The smell was overwhelming and smelled like a smoker's house. I went and bought candles and even in the 98 degree heat, I left windows open but the smell was still there!!
HOWEVER, the good part of this was that I emailed the manager to say that this room needed to have things removed and cleaned to get rid of the smell and she was very very nice, apologized and credited my frequent stay account with bonus points.

I really like the rooms overall...the second week my room was nice and clean. I like having the fridge and kitchen so that I can avoid eating out all the time. The breakfast area was nice and had a decent breakfast. Also, a few nights a week they had beer/wine set up free and small snacks (although when you get a bunch of softball/little league teams in, there isn't much left if you aren't down right away).

The day to day staff that you encounter were average...nice, but nothing over the top. I think that they need to be more attentive and friendly like the manager.

Only other thing that is normally important when I chose a place to stay is either a decent gym or free passes to a local gym...this hotel has a room with a few cardio. They should offer passes to a local gym...this was a downside for me, but if you don't use the gym, then it's irrelevant.

Nice area for the hotel, but it's often full and sold out, especially when tournaments or fairs are in town.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolinaGirlinParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

We were thrilled! This was our first time with StayBridge and we were so surprised, that we will certainly look for other locations in the future! It was so quiet, espcially given there was a basketball tournament staying there, the breakfast was incredible, if I had to make one complaint, it would be that the bathroom is small, but heck, that isn't much to complain about! We thought it was great!

Room Tip: Very quiet beautiful place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knowtheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Des Moines hotels
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moine...
#2 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moine...
#11 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
2.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton West Des Moines / SW Mall Area
Homewood Suites by Hilton West D...
#4 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
#3 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
0.5 mi away
West Des Moines Marriott
West Des Moines Marriott
#6 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Des Moines West
SpringHill Suites Des Moines Wes...
#14 of 22 in West Des Moines
3.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites West Des Moines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites West Des Moines

Property: Staybridge Suites West Des Moines
Address: 6905 Lake Drive, West Des Moines, IA 50266-2522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in West Des Moines
#9 Business Hotel in West Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites West Des Moines 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staybridge Suites West Des Moines Invites Guests to Rest Comfortably Ideally situated near I-80, Des Moines International Airport (DSM) and the Iowa Foundation for Medical Care, Staybridge Suites West Des Moines is an all-suite, upscale, extended stay hotel within close proximity to everything Des Moines has to offer. Long-term guests of our pet friendly Des Moines, Iowa hotel can enjoy all the comforts of home with easy access to shopping at Jordan Creek Town Center and live performances at the Des Moines Art Center. Special events at the Science Center of Iowa and Living History Farms are also less than ten miles away. Business travelers appreciate our extended stay West Des Moines accommodations near Hy-Line International, Wells Fargo and Briggs Corporation. In order to best meet the needs of our professional guests, over 950 sq. ft. of meeting space, a 24-hour business center and free, high-speed Internet access are provided on-site. During your stay, you can enjoy resting in one of our spacious suites with full-service kitchens, exercising in our well-equipped fitness center or relaxing in our indoor, swimming pool. You can start your day by visiting our complimentary breakfast buffet, and end your day by joining us for our community-oriented Social Monday - Wednesday. As you plan your next trip, check out our exceptional Des Moines, Iowa hotel rates and make your reservations with us today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Staybridge Suites West Des Moines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites West Des Moines Hotel West Des Moines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing