We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Des Moines West
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in West Des Moines
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“nice stay”
Reviewed December 2, 2006

very clean, close to wendys, arbys, perkins. mall few miles up road, plenty of restaraunts there also. rooms are spacious, clean, nice pool and hot tub. very nice staff. wonderful stay.

  • Liked — size of room
  • Disliked — none
  • Tips/Secrets — rest and relax here
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chappy319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    49
    37
    15
    7
See reviews for
59
32
8
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Twin Cities, Mn
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2006

Stayed at this hotel numerous times over the years, and all previous experiences were wonderful. Prior affiliations were Best Suites and Quality Suites, and the hotel was always clean and well run. Staff were very professional, yet friendly and efficient. This used to be the cleanest and best run hotel around the Midwest.

Now that Springhill Suites and its new management team have arrived, the place has headed south. When we stayed in March, our room was beyond unclean. Under the bed was a little better than a half pizza, still in the box, along with paper plates, napkins, etc. When I told the person at the front desk, her only response was to ask if I would like her to have someone remove it for me. During our planned four night stay which we abbreviated to three, it was a constant fight to get the room made up, and it appeared that the vacuum cleaner had not seen our room for the entire stay. The same dust bunnies and assorted debris that greeted us on arrival remained to bid us farewell on our departure. Yes, I did remove the pizza and related items upon discovering them.

Wrote to corporate in March and received a reply just six short months later on October 27. The letter in part said, "We would like you to give us another chance to impress you." Well folks, you already impressed me. Thanks for the pizza.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The changes to the establishment with the new management.
  • Tips/Secrets — Try the Hilton.
  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MNMNtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2006

We stayed at the Springhill Suites, a Marriot property for one night. Very nice, spacious suite with nice breakfast of hot cereal, fruit, pre-made omelets, bagels and additional items included. Pool area looked very nice and inviting but was unfortunately out of service during our stay. Hotel did accommodate the inconvenience by allowing guests to use the pool at the Marriot next door. Convenient location just off I-80 with several restaurants and a large grocery store nearby. We enjoyed the comfort and amenities of our room which included free high-speed internet and all of the typical suite amenities. Room faced the parking lot so we did hear garbage trucks and other parking lot noise early in the morning. Also awoke to the sounds of people walking around and chatting in the room above late at night. On a positive note, bed was extremely comfortable and front desk staff pleasant and courteous. Would stay again, but would wear earplugs & request an interior room away from the street.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
Thank Ahnya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2006

We booked this room because the cost was good for a jaccuzzi suite. The room was nice, clean, and spacious. The jacuzzi tub was big and the staff was very helpful. When I turned the tub on, little pieces of stuff came out of the jets. I had to drain the tub and fill it again. That was the only bad part of the stay.

The halls have security cameras and a phone to reach the front desk, which would make me feel comfortable if I was traveling alone. The breakfast is good, and the price is right. The front desk staff were very helpful. They called up to make sure our room was okay, and even had a corkscrew, when we forgot ours. Aside from the tub, and a less-than pleasant smell in the elevator, it was a good stay.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guard525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damascus, Maryland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2005

Stayed here 1 night before catching a flight the next morning. The hotel was conveniently located near the highway and short trip to Des Moines airport (about 10 miles).

The hotel seemed pretty new. The bed that we slept on was probably the most comfortable bed I've ever slept on in any hotel I've ever stayed at.

They had a nice pool area and hot tub, but we didn't have time to enjoy it. Breakfast was offered free and there were resturants near by that you could walk too.

The "Suite" room was very comfortable and spacious and the staff were very courteous.

I would definetely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PiscoMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Des Moines hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moine...
#11 of 22 in West Des Moines
201 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moine...
#1 of 22 in West Des Moines
570 reviews
0.1 mi away
West Des Moines Marriott
West Des Moines Marriott
#6 of 22 in West Des Moines
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
#2 of 22 in West Des Moines
568 reviews
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites - Des Moines
Candlewood Suites - Des Moines
#18 of 22 in West Des Moines
90 reviews
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites West Des Moines
Staybridge Suites West Des Moine...
#14 of 22 in West Des Moines
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Des Moines West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Des Moines West

Property: SpringHill Suites Des Moines West
Address: 1236 Jordan Creek Parkway, West Des Moines, IA 50266-5825
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in West Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Des Moines West 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Marriott, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Des Moines West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Des Moines West Hotel West Des Moines
Springhill Suites West Des Moines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing