We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay for a solo traveler. Comfortable. Safe Area. Attentive staff. Good amenities.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Des Moines West
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in West Des Moines
Reviewed March 9, 2010

While not typically a fan of Iowa, this was a very pleasant visit. I was overnight by myself and after being completely exhausted from the day's events, I was happy to comfortably relax in a well-kept, well-decorated and safe area. There were more kids than I usually prefer, but it was a suite-based hotel in the midwest. Overall an excellent choice. If I am ever again in Des Moines, which I am hoping to avoid, I will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank somelikeithotEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 180 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2009

I made a reservation for a two-night stay in a two-queen, one-bedroom suite at the Springhill Suites in West Des Moines. My husband, 3-year-old daughter, 12-year-old son and I were visiting my in-laws in Norwalk for the Friday and Saturday after Thanksgiving. We wanted a separate bedroom and living area so I could put my daughter to bed while the rest of us stayed up. (We knew she'd be tired after spending the day with Grandma and Grandpa!) The Springhill Suites was a bit farther away from my in-laws than we wanted, but it had the separate rooms that we desired, at the most reasonable rate.
After check-in we went to our room and were dismayed to discover that our room was a two-queen handicapped accessible room. It did not have the separate bedroom area that we wanted (and that we'd driven so far to get). My husband went back down to talk to the front desk and was told that there were no two queen, one bedroom suites available. The front desk attendant offered the room for half price, and she also offered us another room, a king suite with a whirlpool tub at no charge. We took her up on the extra room. I stayed in the king suite with my daughter, while my husband and son stayed down the hall in the accessible room. It wasn’t what we'd booked, but it worked out quite well. (In fact, I really enjoyed two nights of soaking in that huge whirlpool tub!). The attitude of the desk attendant impressed me. She actually seemed to care that we were happy. Certainly she didn't have to offer the extra room, but she did. Without it, our stay would have been quite unsatisfactory.
Breakfast both mornings was good. There were egg patties, sausage and cheese to make breakfast sandwiches. Bagels, doughnuts, pastries, hard boiled eggs, a variety of cereals. Waffles you could make. The breakfast attendant did a great job of ensuring there was plenty of food.
The rooms were very clean and the beds soft and comfortable.
The only complaint I have is with the reservation system. The accessible room without a separate bedroom shouldn’t be in the same category as the two-room suites. Hopefully they will fix that problem to avoid situations like ours.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eskiedogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2009

SpringHill Suites is the place to stay in West DM/Jordan Creek area. The hotel has been remoldeled and is very well maintained. Rooms are siuites with separate sitting area, flat sceen TV's and kitchenette with microwave and fridge. The pool and hot tub were nice and complementary hot breakfast was more than adequate. The staff is friendly and welcoming. Its the special touches that count like assisting with recommendations in the area and free candy for the kids in the loby. There are many options in the area but this is truely the best.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dja2213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2009

My sister has multiple sclerosis and she and I had been looking forward to a mini vacation in the Des Moines area for several months.

When we checked in, I noticed a foul odor near the elevator that remained during our stay. The nightmare really began on the second night of our stay. We returned to our room at about 10:30 pm. The room hadn't been made up from the night before and the desk clerk did the best he could with a bad situation.

The sheets he used were under sized and would not stay on the bed. My sister was extremely fatigued and to avoid sleeping on a bare mattress tried sleep sitting on her scooter. It was a sleepless night and there was "no way" we could enjoy the next day.

To protect my sister's health we had to cut our trip short and headed home early. We were told there would be no charges for the room. (There was a pending charge for an incorrect amount on my credit card.) I left a couple messages for the hotel's manager to contact me. At this time, I haven't heard from the manager.

I've stayed at Marriot Hotels in the past without a problem. Now, I'm skeptical about staying at Marriot hotels in the future. I'm waiting to see how SpringHill handles my situation.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christinabow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2009

Recently had a business trip and was booked for a 5 night stay at this hotel. Staff was accommodating and friendly, rooms were very clean, spacious and up to date with furniture and electronics.

Only complaint, the hotel is somewhat close to the interstate so I could hear the distant traffic at night when trying to sleep. Nothing too bad, but was certainly noticeable.

Located within a few blocks of a nice mall (Jordan Creek Mall) and several restaurants such as Cheesecake Factory, PF Changs, Bravo, On the Border, and several more.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Off-2-seeTheWizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2008

This was my first time staying at a Springhill Suites, although I have stayed t many different Marriot properties.

The Springhill Suites was very clean & comfortable with plenty of amenities.

The rooms were large - full "living room" including a refrigerator, microwave, breakfast bar, sofa, flat screen TV. The bedroom was also a good size with a flat screen TV. The bathroom was nothing special.........

They served a full breakfast in the AM, and in the afternoon had a chips, salsa, chex mis, cookie bar. They always had fresh coffee & hot tea available in the lobby.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank babibirdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2008

Hotel and room were nice as expected. Always great staff at marriott properties.

My only criticism of many newer lower end Marriott properties is the quality of construction. The tile in the bathroom looks like a do-it-yourself installation job rather than professional. You can see many unfinished trim sections in various parts of the hotel. Otherwise, no real issues. I just think that Marriott should hold itself to a higher standard in this area as they do with customer service and quality in most higher end Marriott hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nyc_panda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Des Moines hotels
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites West Des Moines
Staybridge Suites West Des Moine...
#15 of 22 in West Des Moines
162 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn West Des Moines Lake Drive
Hampton Inn West Des Moines Lake...
#1 of 22 in West Des Moines
617 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moine...
#14 of 22 in West Des Moines
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Des Moines-Jordan Creek
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West ...
#12 of 22 in West Des Moines
208 reviews
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton West Des Moines / SW Mall Area
Homewood Suites by Hilton West D...
#4 of 22 in West Des Moines
256 reviews
1.5 mi away
Residence Inn Des Moines West at Jordan Creek Town Center
Residence Inn Des Moines West at...
#8 of 22 in West Des Moines
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Des Moines West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Des Moines West

Address: 1236 Jordan Creek Parkway, West Des Moines, IA 50266-5825
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in West Des Moines
Price Range: $90 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Des Moines West 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Des Moines West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Des Moines West Hotel West Des Moines
Springhill Suites West Des Moines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing