We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice having a separate living & bedroom area - easy freeway access”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Des Moines West
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in West Des Moines
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Rate of $200.48 for 2 nights with tax seemed a little high for this hotel.

It is very nice having a separate living & bedroom area. Looks like there used to be a door dividing the two - which would be helpful if someone is watching TV in the living area late at night. Seems as though the door was removed years ago for some reason???

Also nice having the bathroom vanity area separate from the toilet/shower area. One complaint here is there is no vanity/clothes shelving in the shower area, just one clothes hook on the back of the door.

European style breakfast including meats, cheeses, hard-boiled eggs is nice addition to the usual basic breakfast scrambled eggs, pancakes, sausage, cereal, breads etc.

I think the beds could use an upgrade, the shower was OK.

Nice front desk clerk & easy fast checkin.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milestonecruises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler C, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Des Moines West, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to submit your comments regarding our property. We are pleased to find that your overall stay was enjoyable. I appreciate your comments about the hotel layout and ideas that you have brought to our attention to be considered in the future. Thanks again for your review, and we hope to be a service to you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 180 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2013

Tired older miss, while not in complete disrepair, is in need of some investment to not only freshen the tired fixtures (a/c / Heater unit) but update the amenities. Cracked tiles in bath, analog tv, bed was fair but sound from highway noticeable. I think all the Marriotts in this strip (Fairfield, Marriott Hotel and Sprinhill) all look tired.
Staff was friendly, doing the best with what they had to work with. I will NOT stay here again.

Room Tip: Maybe find a newer hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Idahotraveler88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We were here for the Goodguy's Heartland Nationals car show in July. The location is perfect as it is close to the freeway and there are many restaurants to choose from in a nearby shopping complex. The staff was friendly but a bit inattentive. There were kids from a sports team running around unsupervised and no one said a thing to them. Also in the morning, the breakfast was very average and even though there were staff on hand standing around, the 2 or 3 trash containers were so full of used plates and cups that we had no choice but to leave ours on the floor with everyone else's. They weren't understaffed, the staff just didn't care.
People claim they are paying over $100/night but I paid $87 for a room with a sitting area and a king bed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StevoinMinnesoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

If you spend over 120 per night you should expect a great experience. Check in was quick and friendly although I did have to again provide them with my club member number. The room was fine but they have odd layouts in this hotel.

Morning breakfast was just ok but certainly could have been much better.

The bed is comfortable and room ok..but one would have expected better

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RonJac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

From the moment I walked through the doors of SpringHill Suites in West Des Moines I felt WELCOME, VALUED and ENCOURAGED! An outstanding staff clearly trained well at greeting, quick service and providing extra effort to accomodate. Kudos to local hotel leadership!

The SpringHill rooms are indeed very roomy, clean, up to date with latest technology and customer driven offerings, as well as provided at a very fair price for a Marriott in Des Moines area.

The pool area and exercise area are spotless. Saw both business people and families enjoying their stay and using the facilities. The breakfast was fresh, offered lots of options, and the eating area was large and clean. The morning attendant will offer you a cheerful smile also. :-)
They offer a late afternoon/early evening complimentary refreshment time for guests. Was not able to enjoy that as was out the door to meet and speak to a group, yet the crowd looked to be having fun and relaxing time.

Access is instant to I-80 / I-235 / I-35 so you can get to business appointments quickly.

Their are lots of Marriott offerings in Des Moines. If your hotel budget is not high end, yet you'd like a first class, up-to-date place to stay...check in here. I would enthusiastically recommend the SpringHill Suites West Des Moines to anyone. Good for business, family or even just fun. Saw a mid-sized conference room for meetings of any type...so you are covered there too.

Another group of Great Ambassadors for Des Moines and Marriott.

Room Tip: If you'd like a relaxing room with a whirlpool they have them. Great after long flights, drives...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheBondedFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for business because I stick to the Marriott Chain. Here is my review :
1) large rooms
2)hotel very clean which is a big plus to me.
3) right off I80
4) close to Jordan Creek mall for restaurants.
5) the biggest reason I thought this was a great hotel is this: I did have a few issues with my room. Lights out. TV issues , temp in room etc I made a list and have to checkin desk. When I returned later that day everything was fixed. That is great service.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bernylloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Double queen suite room was clean and quiet. fitness room and pool were clean and not crowded; staff at front desk and breakfast area were helpful and friendly; hotel was not busy when we stayed one night. Breakfast was better than other comparable hotels.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gtb6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Des Moines hotels
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites West Des Moines
Staybridge Suites West Des Moine...
#15 of 22 in West Des Moines
162 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn West Des Moines Lake Drive
Hampton Inn West Des Moines Lake...
#1 of 22 in West Des Moines
615 reviews
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton West Des Moines / SW Mall Area
Homewood Suites by Hilton West D...
#4 of 22 in West Des Moines
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Des Moines-Jordan Creek
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West ...
#12 of 22 in West Des Moines
208 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Place West Des Moines/Jordan Creek
Hyatt Place West Des Moines/Jord...
#7 of 22 in West Des Moines
136 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moine...
#14 of 22 in West Des Moines
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Des Moines West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Des Moines West

Address: 1236 Jordan Creek Parkway, West Des Moines, IA 50266-5825
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in West Des Moines
Price Range: $90 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Des Moines West 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Des Moines West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Des Moines West Hotel West Des Moines
Springhill Suites West Des Moines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing