We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FRESH!quick tastey food!”
Review of Rudy's Tacos

Rudy's Tacos
Ranked #11 of 136 Restaurants in Waterloo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Takeout
Waterloo, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“FRESH!quick tastey food!”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

I choose a beef and bean burrito.It was fresh and the shredded beef was melt in your mouth tender. I asked for all the extra toppings which included lettuce,cheese,onions,black olives and jalepenos.They also serve many kinds of beer and mixed drinks upon request that are made at the lava loungethat is also on the property.The decorative scheme is eclectic, old 50's tables and hundreds of marionettes hanging from the ceiling.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Moor4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    28
    12
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Rudys tacos”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Rudy's Tacos is a regional Mexican chain started in the Quad Cities. Having gone to college in Davenport I am well aware of Rudy's You get very large portions of Americanized Mexican at Rudy's. Every is always good but if your looking for hot spice you need to go elsewhere. The only draw back is the price. It is much higher than the stores in the Quad Cities. Just ate at the newest Rudy's in Davenport. Bill was apx $5 less( for 1 person) than in Waterloo.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tmyankee15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food, fresh ingredients, a little pricey”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

My family loves this place. It is definitely pricier than many restaurants, but the quantity and quality are top-notch. They use fresh, locally-grown ingredients, and you can definitely tell. I do wish they started you off with a free basket of chips and salsa...they have these, but you need to pay for them. At nighttime, it is definitely more of a "bar-type" atmosphere, so we prefer to go at lunch time. Rudy's platter is a favorite of mine.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deganotneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“great non-chain mexican food”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

All of the food is prepared with fresh homegrown ingredients to order!!

I love the chimichangas, guacamole, Taco pizza and enchiladas. There are multiple draft beer choices. The refried beans are excellent as well. Anyone thinking Taco Bell has better food than Rudy's is sadly confused. I think Taco Bell is OK but clearly chain fast food. If that is what you like fine but Taco Bell is hardly authentic Mexican. I have winter residence near Tucson and Rudy's is much like the true family Mexican restaurants in the desert southwest.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fresh and Delicious!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Rudys never fails to leave me hungry.The taco pizza is our favorite.Crispy crust, plentiful beans and meat and the freshest toppings ever.Always great with a frosty mug of beer.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Moor4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rudy's Tacos also viewed

 

Been to Rudy's Tacos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing