We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently incredible”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Galleria de Paco

Galleria de Paco
Ranked #1 of 132 Restaurants in Waterloo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Consistently incredible”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

My parents live in the area, so this is one of our go-to restaurants whenever we visit them. Reservations are taken seriously, but if you don't have one, they'll work hard to accommodate (and suggest that you visit the lounge in the basement while you wait -- well worth it! The ambiance is fantastic, and the drinks are stellar.). The food is ALWAYS outstanding, and the staff is truly amazing (the owners remember repeat customers). A little higher priced than other restaurants in the Cedar Valley area, but you get what you pay for -- quality ingredients perfectly prepared and artfully arranged. (Plus, the spray paint Sistine Chapel recreation is pretty darn cool. What supportive parents!)

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank radioactive_piano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    21
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“All-around wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Was here for a rehearsal dinner a couple months back ... everything was amazing. From the service, to a special "welcome" by the owner to every single course of the meal ... perfect. I was surprised at how laid back, yet professional the staff was. Too bad I live out of town ... would love to go back!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank creativelove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellant the 1 time we tried it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

I only ate here once, but everything for our party of two was excellent, and the service was wonderful.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
115 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great find in Waterloo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is a neat and clean independent place. After a hearty greeting by our host we were escorted to a lovely table. The decor is something to behold. The artist has painstakingly tried to reproduce the works of the Sistine Chapel on the ceiling and walls of this restaurant - only with spray paint. Steaks were served to the correct temperature and were a good quality beef. Lobster bisque was delicious as was the creme brulee. Home made brown sugar butter was over the top. The only small thing I could nitpick at was the quality of the bread. Not bad for the location (Waterloo, IA) but it made me dream that the owner would consider flying in some Marie's bread from Hoboken, NJ (the stuff Frank Sinatra used to have flown out to LA everyday). Keep up the great work! The busy Tuesday night we attended is testament to the quality of this well-run restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ObanSkye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our favorite place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

My husband and I eat here on a regular basis. The food is always over the top amazing. The athmosphere and service is second to none. If you want to be treated like you are the most important person there... This is the place to come. Great for romantic dinners. Definitelly the best place to eat in Waterloo!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maidadr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galleria de Paco also viewed

 
Cedar Falls, IA
 

Been to Galleria de Paco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing