We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pool was warm. But could use towels replinished more often...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baymont Inn & Suites Waterloo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Waterloo
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Waterloo
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    70
    37
    16
    20
See reviews for
85
23
14
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Iowa
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

I booked this hotel for my friends and i to stay for my bridal shower. It had a hot tube and a good price. We woke up to use the hot tub only to find out that it was closed. The young woman working at the front dest, kept changing her story as to why it wasn't working. She was incredibly rude and defensive. Other guests had said the chemicals were so strong that it burned people's eyes and burned the skin of a child. I have never ever experienced so much rudeness and lies from one establishment. Everyone from the receptionist to the assistant manager Marge and the manager. Marge said I was not entitled to a refund as I had 2 full days of using it. I said no I had only checked in at 4 yesterday. According to her, a full day of use includes the day when she opened it at 6 am and then immediately closed it. and she closed it at 6 am the following morning. I wanted to lodge a complaint not so much about the hot tub, but how the staff were treating their guests. Marge refused to give me the name of her supervisor or the contact number for the complaints department to lodge a formal complaint. Only when I contacted the corporation did I receive a call from the manger. The first thing he asked was if I had submitted a survey giving the hotel a negative review. He said he would give me a 20% off my next stay on the condition I removed any surveys I took. I informed him that I would never step foot in his hotel again and had not taken a survey or provided a bad review. Even though he gave me a 30% refund, it felt more like blackmail than trying to make a guest happy.

Room Tip: don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank l b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margeever12, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Waterloo, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
We would like to thank you for the opportunity to address concerns you have listed. (1) The spa was closed for the safety of all our guest, because the chemical levels being to high, since this occurred on the date of chechout. (2) The rules for the spa state no children under the age of 18 should use and because of the continous use of the spa by your party, yourself and the other guest of the hotel our system was feeding extra chemicals. (3) No other guest filed an injury report for chemical burns on their skin. So once again the spa was closed for the safety of all our guest.
The young lady at the front desk does not know how to be rude, but becomes quiet when being yelled out for not accepting the reason behind the closing. Marge is the manager and with the usage of the spa by your party and yourself did not think a refund for your entire stay was valid. The idea of a refund because of the inability to use the spa at 10 am the morning of check did not warrent a refund.
The gentleman that called you was the CFO of the company so that is why 30% off one day stay was offered for your inconvience not as blackmail.

Thank you again for allowing us to look after the safety of all our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterloo hotels
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Waterloo
0.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Waterloo
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Waterloo
Hampton Inn Waterloo
#1 of 15 in Waterloo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Waterloo/cedar Falls
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Waterloo-Cedar Falls
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Waterloo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Waterloo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Waterloo

Property: Baymont Inn & Suites Waterloo
Address: 1945 LaPorte Road, Waterloo, IA 50702 (Formerly Comfort Inn Waterloo)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Waterloo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Waterloo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Waterloo 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Waterloo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Waterloo
Waterloo Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing