We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There was some thing in the room that irritated my eyes and...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Waterloo Hotel and Convention Center
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Waterloo
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    121
    181
    190
    125
See reviews for
248
78
30
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Came here again for the Iowa Irish Fest. The rooms still need updating but the people who work there are great. Thanks Joway for bringing me my shampoo.There was another person who did security that was helpful when I locked myself out of my room. The shuttle also came in handy for a few people in the group I was with.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank palosgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGarringer, Manager at Ramada Waterloo Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Palosgirl,

Thank you so much for your review of our property. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay, our staff, and of course Irish Fest! We agree that our rooms still need updating, which we are doing slowly yet surely. I am also glad to hear that you utilized our shuttle for traveling in the downtown area, and that it was helpful to you.

Again, thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you during the next Irish Fest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logansport
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Very nice facility and employees were very good to work with. However, the air conditioner in room 1017 (I believe) would turn on and off in less than a minute. Sometimes in less than 30 seconds! My wife and I were awakened many times through the night because this unit was on and off so frequently.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGarringer, Manager at Ramada Waterloo Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
David,

Thank you so much for taking time to review our property. I am happy to hear that you were satisfied with our facilities and our staff! I am, however, sorry to hear that your air conditioner was not functioning properly during your stay. Our building and some of the appliances in our hotel are older, but we are slowly replacing them during our ongoing renovations.

Thank you again, and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazleton
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2013

All was good except the service was not the greatest never got our refrigerator like we requested, had to ask several time for a crib did not have rooms located near each other even tho we blocked rooms months in advance

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank Scott & Chantel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGarringer, Manager at Ramada Waterloo Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Scott & Chantel,

Thank you so much for your review of our property. I am sorry to hear that your stay was not what you were expecting. I do apologize for the confusion and the difficulty in which you had to endure on you stay with us.

Again, I apologize for the inconvenience, and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The business suite was drab. The mattress in the pull out bed was lacking and the springs were so squeaky that we ended up put the matress on the floor. The windows throughout the hotel were smudged, the carpets need to be replaced and our experience with the service desk was lacking to say the least.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGarringer, Manager at Ramada Waterloo Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Tim,

Thank you for your review of our property. We do understand that our building is outdated, and we are currently undergoing major renovations through out the entire building. Unfortunately it is a slow process since we are open 24/7 every day of the year.

Our employees at our front desk are trained to be guest oriented, unfortunately, as of late, that seems to be lacking. We are in the process of taking care of this issue.

Again, I'm sorry to hear that your stay was not necessarily the most pleasant. But I hope that you will stay again to see our changes as we progress through our renovations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I should have checked TripAdvisor before hitting reserve, because I wouldn't have made the same decision! I can't say it's horrific, but its not good. The dirtiest windows I have EVER seen. And quite possibly the nastiest hotel bathroom. I can't say that the bathroom isn't clean, because it appears to be. But, it needed to be updated over a decade ago. The tub that looks like it has had decades of use and the mildewy caulk around the tub is pretty gross. Just not what I would expect from a Ramada.

Seriously though, have your maids spend a day cleaning your windows. I doubt they've been cleaned in years. At least the carpets appear to have been replaced in the past 5 years, even if the furniture is from the early 90's.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kballtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGarringer, Manager at Ramada Waterloo Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
kballtraveler,

I have to apologize for the age of our building. We agree that our building needs major updating and we are in the process of a major renovation, but with a hotel that is open 24/7 every day of the year, it's a slow process. Our windows have been recently cleaned by a professional company.

Thank you for your review, and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterloo hotels
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Waterloo
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Waterloo
Hampton Inn Waterloo
#1 of 15 in Waterloo
426 reviews
3.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Waterloo/cedar Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Waterloo
2.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Waterloo
2.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Waterloo Cedar Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Waterloo Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Waterloo Hotel and Convention Center

Property: Ramada Waterloo Hotel and Convention Center
Address: 205 W 4th St, Waterloo, IA 50701-5403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Waterloo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Waterloo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Waterloo Hotel and Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Waterloo Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn Waterloo Hotel Waterloo
Ramada Waterloo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing