We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrific DONT STAY!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Waterloo Hotel and Convention Center
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Waterloo
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This place was hideous, the rooms hotel does not match the pictures on the web site, the front desk staff was bluntly rude and the room..... the room was the WORST! Once the air condition was on it leaked buckets of water on the floor and smelled like mildew. My son had multiple asthma attacks from the filth and water leaks in the room. Front desk kindly told me there was nothing they could do and NO managers were available. The web site states this is a 2 1/2 star hotel... INCORRECT this is definitely just making a 1 star hotel. Last but not least my son dropped his toy I went to pick it up by bed and low and behold I find beer cans with holes in them!! SCUMMY hotel don't waste you time on money on this place. Last but not least all the manager did was thanked me for calling NO apologies or anything. That truly showed why the staff and place is that way!!

Room Tip: Head up a mile or so and stay at Holiday inn express or country inn & suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGarringer, Manager at Ramada Waterloo Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

I am very sorry to hear that your stay was not acceptable.

We do take these comments seriously because we want to ensure the best possible stay for our guests. We have checked the room for the problems stated in your comment. There is no evidence of leaking or anything wrong with the air conditioner, but we are looking for any possible leaks due to us being an older building.

Again, we are sorry for your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (742)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

606 - 612 of 742 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2013

Error on check in (was supposed to have room w/king size bed and a sofabed). When we presented issue to them along with our confirmation, they were able to move us to another room that was still available (only one left!) Place is a little dirty here and there (mostly the skywalk area, etc). Overall the halls were OK on cleanliness - don't expect perfection 24/7 when people are going back and forth all day. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Some family members of ours stayed at another hotel that was not near as clean nor as cozy & nice. Not a 5 star facility, but staff were pleasant and courteous. Pool is open until midnight (which surprised me!) and my teenage boys found that most enjoyable. Quiet time was supposed to be 10pm and we didn't notice any excessive noise on our floor, but a few moments here and there when kids were running in the hall around 10:30. Didn't last long, & wasn't terribly bothersome. Good parenting? :) I have seen other reviews that had issues with bedbugs. Quite frankly, they could have traveled in on another customer - it happens. We did not have any issues with such pests in our room.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGarringer, Manager at Ramada Waterloo Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thank you for staying with us at the Ramada, we are very glad you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AGarringer, Manager at Ramada Waterloo Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Kirsten F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AGarringer, Manager at Ramada Waterloo Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Lawerence H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AGarringer, Manager at Ramada Waterloo Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Darrell O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AGarringer, Manager at Ramada Waterloo Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AGarringer, Manager at Ramada Waterloo Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterloo hotels
3.5 mi away
Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Waterloo
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Waterloo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Waterloo/cedar Falls
2.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Waterloo Cedar Falls
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#11 of 16 in Waterloo
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Waterloo Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Waterloo Hotel and Convention Center

Address: 205 W 4th St, Waterloo, IA 50701-5403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Waterloo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Waterloo
Price Range: $68 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Waterloo Hotel and Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ramada Waterloo Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn Waterloo Hotel Waterloo
Ramada Waterloo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing