We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Waterloo Hotel and Convention Center
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Waterloo
Reviewed March 6, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
2  Thank Robert I
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AGarringer, Manager at Ramada Waterloo Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (722)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

622 - 628 of 722 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
2  Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AGarringer, Manager at Ramada Waterloo Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed on what passed for the executive floor and had a large room with a couch. The heater is the old fashioned in the wall type. It was noisy but effective. The room and bathroom was clean. The room cleaner was quick and efficient. The front desk staff was efficient and used the shuttle to help us find a restaurant late one night. The breakfast in the hotel restaurant was sub par. I am sure there are better options in the area. There is a great Mexican restaurant across the bridge within walking distance of the hotel and a good pizza and beer restaurant across the street from the convention center.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chinanomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGarringer, Manager at Ramada Waterloo Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thank you for staying with us at the Ramada. We appreciate your comments on our staff! I will pass your kind words along to them! I do apologize that you did not enjoy your breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Oh my God were do I begin....

1. Room had no hot water
2. No fridge or microwave
3. Internet was down and cable not working
4. No towels in the pool area and hardly ever refilled.
5. Ice machines broken on upper floors including ours.
6. elevators were unusually slow.
7. Toliets were slow to flush or continuously ran.
8. The pathway from the "convention center" to hotel which is basically freezing cold (you can see your breath in the building) when walking from parking garage to hotel. Suppose to be the ready warm way to hotel from parking but it smelled and was colder than walking down the ramps of garage and out across the street.
9. The downstairs and lobby were beautiful and clean then you go to the actual hallways and rooms it was less decorative and Pretty run down looking.
10. Went from pool to the steakhouse bar to Get a beer After seeing others enjoy beverages in pool area and find no staff.at all in the restaurant. Then learning why saw people bringing in coolers when we checked in.

11. Decided to eat at their "steak house" they haves two steaks on the menu and were out of one of them at 6 ish on a Friday night. No kids menu especially during state kids wrestling tournament. Had to go Get a waitress to take our order for drinks after 15 mins of waiting at the table. Had to Get our own silverware for salads. after almost 30 minutes of waiting had to go Get our waitress to refill our drinks. Then order wasn't right didn't get our sides and food was cold. Paid over $100 buck for crappy food and service.

12. Front desk personel was great.... Friendly, personable, helpful, and tried to the best of their power to help us.

Im going to say the this was by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed it especially being they are the closest hotel to the center where wrestling tournaments are and hockey is played. Very disappointed!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank abrigaylesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGarringer, Manager at Ramada Waterloo Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

I am extremely sorry that your stay with us wasn't pleasant.

We were having problems with the water heaters, which has been resolved since your stay with us.

We do not yet have microwaves and mini fridges in every room in the hotel. Only a few floors have them, but guests are able to request them in their rooms if they would like to be able to use these items.

The internet and cable is run through an outside company, when it does go down it is not something that we can fix quickly or ourselves. I do apologize for the inconvenience!

Towels in the pool area are to be checked consistently by staff. This will be looked into and I assure you this will not be the case on your next visit.

The ice machines have been fixed.

Since this is an older building, the elevators do tend to run a little slow and the toilets are needing to be replaced (which is part of our renovation).

The skywalks to the hotel and to the convention center are the property of the city. We can not do any maintenance on them, the city needs to do the maintenance. They are aware of the conditions of these walk ways.

Repainting and decorating is also part of our renovation.

The restaurant is also undergoing some changes. We are in the process of recreating the menu and hiring new staff.

I am glad to hear that the front desk staff were pleasant, I will pass this compliment along to them.

Again, I sincerely apologize for your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AGarringer, Manager at Ramada Waterloo Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
4  Thank H D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AGarringer, Manager at Ramada Waterloo Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
5  Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AGarringer, Manager at Ramada Waterloo Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterloo hotels
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Waterloo
2.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Waterloo
3.6 mi away
Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Waterloo
Hampton Inn Waterloo
#1 of 16 in Waterloo
467 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Waterloo Cedar Falls
3.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Waterloo/cedar Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Waterloo Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Waterloo Hotel and Convention Center

Address: 205 W 4th St, Waterloo, IA 50701-5403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Waterloo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Waterloo
Price Range: $56 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Waterloo Hotel and Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Ramada Waterloo Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn Waterloo Hotel Waterloo
Ramada Waterloo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing