We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs to be renovated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Waterloo Hotel and Convention Center
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Waterloo
SEATTLE
1 review
“Needs to be renovated”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This hotel is clean and a good price, but the whole place is old. Needs to be renovated and updated. The Red River restaurant is like stepping into the 60's/70's.
The large screen TV in the bar is an OLD projection TV that is about to die and the image is horrible. People won't want to stay in the bar and watch sports if the TV is horrible. It only costs a few hundred bucks to get a nice flat screen these days. Come on Ramada, pony up for a flat screen.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterlooFamily, Manager at Ramada Waterloo Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for feedback. We are very excited to announce that we have started renovations in the bar and restaurant. Please stop back and see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    121
    180
    189
    125
See reviews for
246
78
30
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
BETTENDORF
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I have stayed at several Ramadas and never imagined one so out dated and uncomfortable. It wasn't only outdated, but the bathroom sink cabinet was cracked and falling, which made it difficult to use. You can tell they added some "newness", but money should really be put into a major makeover, especially since it is connected to the convention center. I was there on business, but next time I will stay somewhere else even if I am going to be in the convention center.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank CMSBettendorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterlooFamily, Manager at Ramada Waterloo Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
We are excited to announce that we are in the process of renovations, from our hotel guest rooms, lounge and restaurant to our onsite meeting rooms. We welcome you to stop in and see our progress.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CEDAR RAPIDS
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Good people to work with. Friendly and helpful staff.
Needed more wait staff in the dining room.
The breakfast buffet was good and helpful getting people through.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank WILLIAM C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterlooFamily, Manager at Ramada Waterloo Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your feedback! We hope to see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I traveled more than 4 1/2 hours to stay at this hotel while attending a wedding over the weekend. I was not happy with the cleanliness of the rooms. The website makes the rooms look better than what they actually are! There was no mini fridge or microwave in the rooms as they show in the pictures, the room smelled musty because of a water leak above the air conditioner and someone came to deoderize the room but just sprayed something in the air...???!!! I would not stay here again. I would rather pay more and stay somewhere else.

The rooms seemed dirty..the floors, lampshades, bedding seemed old..the entire hotel seemed outdated and old....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank DANA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGarringer, Manager at Ramada Waterloo Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
I am very sorry about your stay with us. The cleanliness of your room is unacceptable and the housekeepers have been talked to and have gone through a different training program to improve their skills.

We do not have mini fridges and microwaves in every room, but guests are able to request them.

The hotel is an older building, this being said I am excited to tell you that we are undergoing renovations to bring this old hotel back to it's prime.

Again, I do apologize for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2012

There were holes in the blankets and holes in the walls. The fixtures in the Bathroom were not finished and the grab bars at toilet were loose and almost unusable, And there was no stopper in the sink in the bathroom,.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank Realff O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGarringer, Manager at Ramada Waterloo Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
I am sorry about your stay with us. we are currently undergoing renovations which is going to replace the linens, carpet, decor, etc.

Again I am sorry about your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SIOUX CITY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The motel is in a easy to find location downtown. It has easy access to the convetion center. There are serveral good restruants within walking distance. having the parking ramp across the street and attached with a skywalk is very nice. The only thing I found was that sometimes you had to wait for the elevator for an extra long period of time. There is no access to stairs to walk up to your floor.
But I would stay here again if I was in town for another convention.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank JEFFREY F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGarringer, Manager at Ramada Waterloo Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Ramada! We do have stairs that go up to every floor, but I do have to apologize because, upon inspection, they are not marked very well.

Thank you again, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

A wonderful hotel in a poor area. The hotel was attached to the convention center and the parking ramp, which was convenient.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank DANIEL F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGarringer, Manager at Ramada Waterloo Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Ramada! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterloo hotels
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Waterloo
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Waterloo
Hampton Inn Waterloo
#1 of 15 in Waterloo
425 reviews
3.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Waterloo/cedar Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Waterloo
2.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Waterloo
2.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Waterloo Cedar Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Waterloo Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Waterloo Hotel and Convention Center

Property: Ramada Waterloo Hotel and Convention Center
Address: 205 W 4th St, Waterloo, IA 50701-5403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Waterloo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Waterloo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Waterloo Hotel and Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Waterloo Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn Waterloo Hotel Waterloo
Ramada Waterloo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing