We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kind of overpriced for the quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Waterloo
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Waterloo
Certificate of Excellence
Davenport, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
269 reviews
205 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Kind of overpriced for the quality”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Hotel was noisy with alot of kids playing in the pool unsupervised. Bathroom had a couple leaks that had been repaired, but the wallpaper not replaced. Coffeemaker and coffee and supplies kept on a shelf in the bathroom. GROSS. 3 Flags out front were so old and tattered that they looked horrible. There should be respect for the American Flag.

Front desk manager was very nice at checkin. New TV in the room that worked perfectly. Hotel was clean and fresh smelling. They have a nice footstool at the base of the bed which was handy. They also have a tray to set on your bed so you can use your laptop while in bed.

Hotel was a little pricey for the quality.

Room Tip: Try not to stay on the first floor with all the noisy kids in the pool and running the halls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christa T, General Manager at Hampton Inn Waterloo, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
We are sorry we were not able to provide you with a better quality of service. This is not typical of our usual award winning service. We sincerely appreciate your feedback as we are always looking for ways to improve our guest's experience.

We apologize for the disturbance from some of our younger guests. Our staff was escorting unsupervised children back to their parents throughout the night but certainly found it difficult to keep up.

I have alerted maintenance to your concerns about the flags and the wallpaper. We have had terrible winds this year and continue to replace the flags as quickly as we can get new ones in. We completely agree that it is imperative for the American flag to be handled with respect. I'm sorry to say that we have been unable to locate the missing wallpaper you mentioned but want to get it corrected right away. If you wouldn't mind calling and speaking with me, I would really appreciate the opportunity to apologize personally as well.


Your satisfaction is very important to us and we want to ensure that you receive the excellent service you deserve every time you stay with us. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will come back and stay with us again.

Christa Thompson - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    107
    27
    5
    6
See reviews for
152
83
25
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

My family and i have not been there yet (going for Thanksgiving) but based on the pre-arrival experience. I am sure it will be perfect and amazing! The staff there have been fantastic helping me meet my wishes. We will be having 2 rooms. Trey have been nothing short of excellent.
I will writer another review once I completely visit at their property.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanKimMizzou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed there for 2 days arriving on the 7th and the hotel was lovely, clean, and fantasic breakfast as well as the breakfast staff... Very pleased the 2 gals who worked the morning shift and night shift... Both were very helpful, friendly and professional.... I almost didnt want to leave... Thank you again we will most diffently return again.....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tyler j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis, MO
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We just stayed overnight at this Hampton. The room was very clean with a lovely bathroom. Bed was comfortable with a choice of pillows from very soft to firm. Easy to choose the one I liked. The room was spacious, clean and quiet. It had everything we wanted. Staff was very nice and pleasant. Breakfast was really nice. Hot food and loved the cut up fresh fruit which included summer melons that were ripe. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amitima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
169 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I stayed here recently while traveling for business. The employees were kind and the room was clean and comfortable. I especially enjoyed having a selection of either foam or feather pillows already on the bed. The bed was quite comfortable and the duvet cover was very comfortable as well.

The breakfast in the morning was standard, but the area was very clean and well stocked. The hotel is in a good area, well surrounded by a variety of restaurant options. Across the street from a CVS and very close to a Target for the traveler that may have forgotten an item. Also, next door to a mall with a fairly good selection of stores for Waterloo, Iowa. If traveling to Waterloo, Iowa and you need a place to stay I would recommend the Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serendipity5963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naples
Level Contributor
134 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Very friendly staff. I told them I was interested in a sports bar and the one suggested filled the bill. they had an exercise room, but the hotel is across the street from a shopping center, so if you are a walker or runner, you can exercise outside.

typical hampton inn otherwise.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fooddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Have stayed here before and this was another pleasant stop for the night. No real frills, but the room was quiet, the beds very comfortable and the bathrooms large and clean. Although I didn't eat the breakfast, it looked appetizing and the fruit fresh.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterloo
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Waterloo
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Waterloo Cedar Falls
0.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Waterloo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Waterloo
6.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cedar Falls
Hilton Garden Inn Cedar Falls
#1 of 14 in Cedar Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Waterloo-Cedar Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Waterloo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Waterloo

Property: Hampton Inn Waterloo
Address: 2034 Laporte Rd, Waterloo, IA 50702-4437
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Waterloo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Waterloo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Waterloo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Waterloo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Waterloo Hotel Waterloo
Waterloo Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing