We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Fun Fun”

Lost Island Water Park
Ranked #2 of 20 things to do in Waterloo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lost Island is a tropical getaway hidden in the heart of the Midwest! Have you ever seen palm trees in Iowa? How about mysterious ancient ruins? Walking through the gates at Lost Island will make you feel like you just stepped off a plane in some far away destination. We offer a wide range of attractions for all thrill levels. Enjoy the Wailua Kupua - one of the first hydromagnetic watercoasters in the country! Splash around in Tsunami Bay, race your friends down Ta'Katipo, lounge in a deluxe cabana, or float around the Kailahi River. With over 14 different rides available, it won't take long for you to get lost.
Mason City, Iowa, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun Fun Fun”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Love this place!!! They keep me coming back year after year!!! The slides are awesome, wave pool awesome! The restrooms and locker area are clean and well laid out. Food prices were decent had much higher prices at other parks. I only wish they stayed open later so much fun you don't want to leave!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank RiverCity29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    52
    11
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great place to enjoy the water!”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

This is a really nice water park. They have lots of slides, keep the place very neat, and have plenty of space to relax and enjoy. I take my three daughters each August for a day and we really enjoy it. The price has gone up and the $1 savings on the internet ticket purchase makes it barely worth pre-buying. I think the food has perhaps gotten a little better over the years. It is pricey. The best option is to get a refillable drink cup if your family can stand to share. The wave pool is really fun for all. Parking is right there, plentiful and at no cost. The Go Kart and Putt Putt Golf are next to it and are separate costs. They are both really pretty neat but it is too exhausting to do the water park and anything else the same day. The casino and hotel are right there if you want to make it a weekend trip.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christy012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great fun for all!”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Positives: fantastic water rides, some of which are the first of their kind in the country; a very nicely done miniature golf course area, with two different courses to choose from - waterfalls, a few bridges, lots of landscaping; and a go-kart track - both the golf and go-karts are available until 10 p.m. The water area closes at 6 p.m., but you can easily spend a day going from ride to ride, enjoying the lazy river or wave pool, just sunning by the pools, enjoying lunch, or people watching. You will need your IDs if you want to purchase alcohol; there are changing locker rooms available, as well as small lockers to rent for those "need to have with me essentials" that you don't want to carry around. The only con: It's a bit pricey; if you live in the area you are far better off to get a season pass - at $26 for the day, it's not long before it wll have paid for itself. Another plus: located almost next to the newer Isle Casino - so a great area to stay if you want to enjoy a simple vacation.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Bauerfest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster City, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Not worht it”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Not a very big place or a lot of things for the price you pay., maybe better for a family with kids.

Helpful?
1 Thank 26lovetotravel26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great for the big kids”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We take our three grand children (aged 13, 16 and 19) to Iowa every year and one of our hot favourites is Lost Island Water Park. Having visited numerous water parks and other "theme park" type attractions Lost Island rates very favourably against them all.

Although my grandchildren are young adults and we are approaching our sell by date, all of us enjoyed the rides. They are challenging yet safe and you certainly get an adrenaline kick. The facility is well managed with all the facilities you need. Entry at $23.50 is reasonable and if you get there at opening time (10.30) and can survice until closing (6.30 PM) you get excellent value for money. Food is available at two main centres at modest costs costs with the chicken strips and french fries plus a pepsi being favouriytes with my family. Please note you cannot take in your own food and drink!

There are secure lockers for all your valuables at $5 a piece for the biggest which accommodates purses and cameras without out difficulty.

The island is located just off Highway 218 (the Avenue of the Saints) South of Waterloo and 5 minutes drive from the Highway. Parking is free with pleny available even on busy days.

A great assett for Eastern Iowa and well worthy of a vist whatever your age.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank brian_pound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lost Island Water Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing