We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The Hotel was a very clean and friendly hotel. In my...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn & Suites Waterloo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Days Inn & Suites Waterloo
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Waterloo
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas
1 review
“The Hotel was a very clean and friendly hotel. In my...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The Hotel was a very clean and friendly hotel. In my travels I have found it not unusual to find the opposite. From check in to check out I can not find anything that was not way above what I would expect. We were in town for a funeral and the lack of anything to deal with at the Hotel was greatly appreciated. Pass on our beat wishes and thanks to the entire Hotel staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    77
    53
    15
    11
See reviews for
116
36
11
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Onawa
Level Contributor
94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My family stayed the night of Friday, March 22. We arrived early in the day, to take advantage of the pool. The area looked like it had half painted walls and dirty concrete around the pool. All of this would have been overlooked if it had not been for the poor sleep quality and lack of hotel staff response. The noise started about 8:30pm, sounding like a herd of elephants upstairs. By 9:30 I was trying to get my kids to lay down (early morning because of a state volleyball tournament) and the 'elephants' were still running wild (yelling, stomping, jumping, etc). I called the front desk and the attendant said he was about to make his rounds and would take care of it. An hour later, nothing had changed so I called again. The noise might have stopped for 5 minutes and it started again! Plus, the walls of this hotel were so thin we could easily hear conversations in the hall (not just noise but actually understand what was being said).
We had a block of rooms and the next morning, several of the other parents were talking of the same issues from the night before. I complained to the attended during checkout and she apologized and said she'd make a note. I told her I wanted to talk to a manager and she said she would have one call me ... no call has ever been received. The hotel wasn't worth $100 / night in the first place but REALLY not worth it when you can't get over a couple hours of sleep due to the noise all around.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Up4Anything32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshalltown, Iowa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Motel's website says recently remodeled (maybe 2011).
Pros: Very reasonably priced. It was very clean and well kept. Rooms and bathrooms were clean, updated and very nice. Beds very comfortable, not too hard, not too soft. Nice sized flatscreen TV. Cookies in the afternoon for those with a sweet tooth. Breakfast adequate, what you would expect for the price. Staff were VERY accomodating and pleasant. Our refrig was not working, it was replaced within a couple hours. Close to several major retailers.
Cons: The pool is very small but the younger children didn't seem to mind. No hot tub. Pool towels $5 extra (bring your own!)
Tips: Call hotel directly for best price. There are a couple fast food restaurants close by and other places just minutes away by car. There is no place to enjoy adult beverages within walking distance but several nice restaurants w/lounge within a miles radius. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grandmother53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Clean quite hotel. Staff was very accommodating. The pool was small but very clean and warm. I would stay again for the price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Matthew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterloo hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Waterloo
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Waterloo
Hampton Inn Waterloo
#1 of 15 in Waterloo
4.5 of 5 stars 356 reviews
3.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Waterloo/cedar Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Waterloo
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Waterloo-Cedar Falls
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Waterloo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn & Suites Waterloo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn & Suites Waterloo

Property: Days Inn & Suites Waterloo
Address: 1809 Laporte Rd, Waterloo, IA 50702-2743 (Formerly Heartland Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Waterloo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Waterloo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn & Suites Waterloo 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome all guests to experience our clean and comfortable, 100% smoke-free property with complimentary breakfast each morning. Each of our well-appointed guest rooms features flat-screen television, refrigerator and microwave, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, complimentary high speed Wi-Fi and cable television featuring premium channel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Days Inn & Suites Waterloo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing