We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your front desk and morning staff were inadequate. My...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Waterloo/cedar Falls
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Waterloo
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    104
    57
    32
    30
See reviews for
140
37
24
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moline, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This hotel definitely exceeds the standards from any other Howard Johnson I've been to. This location is very well-appointed with the modern rooms and it is very clean. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The staff were friendly and welcoming, and breakfast was simple but delicious. My children especially enjoyed the hot chocolate chip cookies and popcorn that were available in the afternoon. This is an excellent and affordable place to stay near the town, I would definitely recommend it to my friends and family!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 341PetersTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This place was wonderful and absolutely charming! I would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking to relax just a little bit away from the noises of the cluster of hotels in town. The staff was very friendly and We will definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PattrickS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
112 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We had a one-night stay - smooth check-in, and the room is spacious and well appointed (and reasonably clean). The bathroom is very dated (can't remember the last time I had such a low toilet). We found maintenance weaknesses when we returned (late at night), and went to wash up. The sink didn't drain properly, and the tub took 2 hours to drain from a shower. We told the management the next morning, and their only comment was "thanks for letting us know." The breakfast area was busy, and they did have a person trying to keep up, but it was apparent that either they were not used to the traffic, or they were not equipped to serve more than a few people for breakfast. All in all, it was a dissapointing stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrEvS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Waterloo hotels

Des Moines, Iowa, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I have stayed here many times, but it recently was bought out and the new owners are stupid. We booked a king sweet with a couch so 3 of us could have a place to sleep. We get there and instead of a couch, there are 2 crappy recliners. I have slept on a recliner before, but these were uncomfortable and gross. They offered us a roll out bed, then realized they didn't have any left. We ended up with an air mattress that was maybe 4.5ft tall. Nobody I know over the age of 10 could have fit on it. They didn't have any other rooms available and since it was after 4 we were unable to cancel our room for the next night. My wife's family is from Waterloo and this used to be our favorite hotel, now we will never stay at it again.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterloo
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Waterloo
3.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Waterloo
3.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Waterloo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Super 8 Cedar Falls
Super 8 Cedar Falls
#3 of 14 in Cedar Falls
562 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Waterloo
Hampton Inn Waterloo
#1 of 15 in Waterloo
426 reviews
2.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Cedar Falls
Comfort Suites Cedar Falls
#5 of 14 in Cedar Falls
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Waterloo/cedar Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Waterloo/cedar Falls

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Waterloo/cedar Falls
Address: 3052 Marnie Ave, Waterloo, IA 50701-4373
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Waterloo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Waterloo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Waterloo/cedar Falls 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Waterloo/cedar Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heartland Hotel Waterloo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing