We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate Lodging-Nothing Special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Waterloo/cedar Falls
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Waterloo
Glendora, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Adequate Lodging-Nothing Special”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

The property is really difficult to get to from all roads. It's design is typical "institutionalized" blah. From the outside it looks like it could be a nursing home or bail bonds businesses. It's pretty bland. The interior is the same. No style. No imagination. Very commercial and standardized. The overall motel is pretty depressing. The rooms are of decent size but I was on the second floor, am a senior with hip problems and they have no elevator.
The staff was helpful and friendly, although did not go beyond the expected. They do not print out airline boarding passes and when their lobby computer is not working they don't know how to help you. Their WiFi is not very good. I had to call for support twice just to get online.
The property and rooms are clean and the beds are fine. Like most motels in the Midwest it still has the noisy window heating/cooling units. It also allows dogs, which was not a problem as I never herd the ones that were there. When I come to Waterloo again I will stay at a newer, cheerier property. This one made me feel that I was incarcerated.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kewlbreezes51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    110
    58
    33
    30
See reviews for
146
39
24
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
antioch, CA
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Stopped here on way to a family gathering. Nice ,fairly clean, quiet hotel. Carpets need GOOD cleaning or replaced. Beds comfy, pillows need to go. Staff was very nice. However, the evening clerk's two little girls 3&4 were there and going kid crazy--slamming doors, screeching and running back and forth. Might be good idea to coral them while guests are checking in. A little distracting. Nice to have a family style restraurant right next door. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toothdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Lake, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2012

the staff was very helpful and professional. was here for three weeks and they treated me like family. i would definately recommend this to anyone that would be staying in this area. the breakfast is outstanding, as well as a place to eat within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2012

The only thing negative about our stay here was being placed in a smoking room. It was so bad, it burned my eyes and throat and all of my clothes smelled of smoke. Otherwise, everything else with our stay was very good.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tunruh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deltona
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for the weekend and had a nice clean room comfortable bed and friendly staff

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutchinson, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Overall we had a good time. We were there the weekend before Christmas and this was the halfway point between where we live in Minnesota and where our daughter lives in Illinois. The room we had at first, the TV did not work at all, so they immediately came to check it, then promptly checked us into a room across the hall. The mom and daughter team that were working there over that weekend were very nice and accommodating to us, and we felt almost like family by the time we left. The pool was clean and warm, breakfast was good but limited - well stocked though!! If you were hungry it was your own fault. This hotel was away from the hub of Waterloo by several miles, but everything very easy and convenient to get to. For the price and the good time we had, we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asmwmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City
1 review
Reviewed October 25, 2011

I came into town with my wife and kids to visit my family. It was a wonderful place to stay. The location is perfect, its a quiet place and has a convenient place to eat in the same parking lot. It was a short distance from the mall.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crawkbok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterloo
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Waterloo
3.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Waterloo
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Waterloo
Hampton Inn Waterloo
#1 of 15 in Waterloo
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Waterloo
2.8 mi away
Super 8 Cedar Falls
Super 8 Cedar Falls
#3 of 14 in Cedar Falls
583 reviews
3.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Waterloo-Cedar Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Waterloo/cedar Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Waterloo/cedar Falls

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Waterloo/cedar Falls
Address: 3052 Marnie Ave, Waterloo, IA 50701-4373
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Waterloo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Waterloo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Waterloo/cedar Falls 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Waterloo/cedar Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heartland Hotel Waterloo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing