We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It has it's short falls”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Waterloo
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
167 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“It has it's short falls”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

They've had an on going problem with the heat/ac units in most all of the rooms for years. There is some design problem there from day one. It's difficult to maintain a comfortable temp. You are constantly adjusting the controls.

Sounds like the elevators need maintenance.

If you happen to get a room on one of the higher floors with the railing outside the windows, don't look out the curtain. They are always loaded with pidgeon droppings. That is something else that just stays that way. It's disgusting! Even the windows are plastered with it.

Remotes may not work for both tv's if you have more than one tv in your room.

The smaller suites have tiled floors in the entry. That sound echoes, poor design. If you have a room with an adjoining door, you can hear a conversation at normal volume almost as if the person was right in room! The whole places just echoes. Anyone closing a door somewhat hard at 2 a.m. you're going to be awakened, even from down the hall. Sound proofing? There is none.

One time my wife and I were staying in one of the junior suites with the tiled entry, just having a normal conversation in front of the tv, maybe our voices were a little more than normal. Next thing we know, here's security at the door with a noise complaint! After kids had been running up and down the hallway all night long that I guarantee you can be heard in ever room!

And what is up with the one cup coffee makers??!! Even in the larger suites! I know, I've seen other hotels cut back to this and it's a joke. Especially if it's even just two people staying in a room, a ONE CUP cheap coffee maker? Come on now folks. There ain't much you can do with that. Read the book, "Be My Guest" by Conrad Hilton. Give guests what you can, don't keep taking away. It is something that is being lost over time by many hotel/motels. It's not just here, but they seem to be falling into the same complacancey.

They have rebranded the buffet as 'Farmers Nicks". It's ok, some better than it was and that's about I can say for it. They still have the problem of wanting to seat everyone on top of each other for the breakfast buffet. My wife doesn't like it and I don't either. And we're not the only ones. One man was complaining about it sitting next to us one morning. As he said, you can't even sit and have a conversation with someone as the next table is at elbows length. He got up himself and moved to a booth. The waitstaff likes it because it's fewer steps with the tables crammed together.

Otis and Henrys, ok for sandwich. Just don't make the mistake of ordering a steak there. When they took out Farradays, well, I never did understand why they did that. It was good food. They did have something there. You can't get a decent dinner at this property.

This signs kept saying they were changing the bar area within the Casino to "make it better". They totally ruined it! Spent money and made something worse. Way to go!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    69
    32
    23
    12
See reviews for
33
60
12
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint Michael, Minnesota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Did not stay at the hotel, but we did stop in and play at the casino on our way through town. We really liked it. Nice layout, decent variety of machines - not the biggest casino but it was big enough. We had a good time.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Critney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conifer, Colorado
Level Contributor
75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed here overnight & loved it! I felt that the cost of the room was very appropriate for what I got. The room was VERY clean w/out any odor. Wished I would have brought my swimming suit because the indoor pool looked amazing! Was a very pleasant stay & would definitely come back to stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AK1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsleCasinoWT, Digital Marketing Manager at Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to review our casino hotel. I have shared your comments with our housekeepers to let them know that they're doing a great job. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dakota Dunes, SD
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

I stayed at the Isle Casino Hotel during a business trip, but will likely return with my family in the future. The Isle has a lovely atmosphere, with terrific dining choices, including the new Farmer's Pick Buffet Restaurant and the Otis & Henry's Restaurant. The hotel offered great amenities, including oversized rooms, plenty of towels (oversized), comfortable bed, and terrific service. With a water park across the street, it would be an ideal place for a family to stay in the summer months! I will be back to the Isle Casino, the next time I am in the Waterloo area.

Room Tip: Corner rooms by the stairwell were very, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsleCasinoWT, Digital Marketing Manager at Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
We feel extremely flattered by your review. We especially love that you enjoyed your business trip so much that you plan to come back for a family vacation. We really do have everything you may need for a quick getaway within our property; and with a waterpark, go-carts and miniature golf right beside us - there are plenty of activities to entertain any age. Thanks so much for visiting us. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Very comfortable bed and spacious room. The resteraunt and buffet served very good food that was worth the price. The pool and hot tub were exceptional and well maintained, in addition each were accessible for individuals with physical disabilities.

My only complaint was the wi-fi Internet. My party was on the seventh floor and the Internet reception and speed were horrible. On numerous occasions, I had to go to the lobby in order to utilize the Internet. That is the only reason I gave this hotel 4 stars instead of 5 stars.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsleCasinoWT, Digital Marketing Manager at Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Hi Dave! It sounds like you had a great visit! We do appologize about the WiFi during your stay. We experienced an abnormally high volume of internet traffic that week due to an on-property business conference. Our IT department made some changes following the incident, so we shouldn't have any problems going forward. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are big, bathroom sizable and excellent, not too much hallway noise, everything looks newer. Only main gripe- DO NOT ORDER A ROLLAWAY. We had to get one for our king room and the rollaway was easily 20 years old. Even the staff who brought it up joked about how bad it was. It was like sleeping on twisted wires. Not only did I not sleep, I woke with my hip very sore and rib cage tender. Great way to start the Fourth of July- sore, taking naproxen, and dead tired. Highly disappointed- you'd assume a hotel this size and age could afford to update the rollaways. An air mattress would have been better. Worst hotel sleeping experience in years.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krystal J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsleCasinoWT, Digital Marketing Manager at Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hi Krystal. I see that you noted our hotel rooms are spacious and well-kept, but by the way you rated/reviewed us, it is obvious that your rollaway bed caused you an overall negative experience. We are very sorry about that and we hope that we can change your perception of us in the future. Our hotel will do their best to get you a hotel room with two queen beds instead of a rollaway. Please contact us if you have any questions or comments.

FYI - Hotel Management informed me that we are in the process of purchasing new rollaway beds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianola, Iowa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

This hotel has an unpleasant odor when you walk in the door a combo of disinfectant and cigarettes and it only gets worse. The front desk staff is slow and inattentive both in person at check in and when you call, I called for more towels and it rang 45+ times! I called for extra towels a request I added to my online reservation
So they should've already been in the room. The casino service is also lacking, super slow to non existent bar service. A person in our party was questioned by security because he had ordered two drinks within an hours time. The casino is slow with a somber atmosphere we decided to leave, not the lively fun atmosphere you will expect if you have stayed in a Vegas hotel/casino.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank julie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsleCasinoWT, Digital Marketing Manager at Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Julie, we strive to provide great customer service and an environment that is clean and fun. If you could give us a call, our Guest Experience Manager would love to speak with you regarding your visit. Our toll-free number is 1-877-ISLE-WIN. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterloo hotels
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Waterloo
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Waterloo
Hampton Inn Waterloo
#1 of 15 in Waterloo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Waterloo Cedar Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Waterloo
1.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Waterloo-Cedar Falls
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Waterloo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo

Property: Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo
Address: 777 Isle of Capri Blvd, Waterloo, IA 50701-9299
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Waterloo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Waterloo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come visit us at Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo and enjoy non-stop gaming fun. With approximately 29 table games and 950 slot machines, including 75 video poker machines, there is something for every gamer to enjoy. Looking for something to satisfy your hunger? Stop by one of our dining locations to experience the local Waterloo flavor or some of our fan-favorites from the grill! At Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo we also offer a hotel with 27 suites, an indoor swimming pool, hot tub, and fitness center. Book your room at Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo today to experience our non-stop gaming fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isle Casino And Hotel
Isle Hotel Waterloo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing