We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice time.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Waterloo
Iowa Falls, Iowa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice time.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

My wife & I went over to shop in Cedar Falls. Stopped @ Casino for a drawing. While we were there a snow/ice storm hit. We asked for a host, had him check our offers & comps & he gave us the last room in the place so we didn't have to risk driving home in the blizzard/ice. We got a mini suite with large whirlpool tub. What a nice way to spend a blizzard, whirl pooling with a TV in the bathroom. The room was nice, clean, comfortable, free internet & free with our offers & comp value. The only thing was the pigeons had made looking out the windows nasty. Good thing we didn't need to look for a view other than to see how bad the storm was. I was surprised the room was as nice as it was. We have stayed in some really nice casino's & were surprised by the quality.

Room Tip: Get at least a mini suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsleCasinoWT, Digital Marketing Manager at Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Who would have ever guessed that we'd have a snowstorm in May, huh? Well, it sounds like you understand the benefits associated with our Fan Club card program and that our casino host was able to take good care of you. Sorry about those birds. With nicer weather, we were finally able to schedule another window cleaning. Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    68
    31
    22
    12
See reviews for
32
58
12
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

We were looking to place to stay and kind of chose the Isle at random. We were very impressed. The rooms are large and have lots of extras. The food is good and there is a really great pool. The staff knows what they are doing and take extra steps to make sure things are right. (Yes, there is a casino too. But, we were there for other reasons and gambling was not on the agenda.)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cross1242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsleCasinoWT, Digital Marketing Manager at Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Well, this review just made my day. My favorite comment in your review was: "The staff knows what they are doing and take extra steps to make sure things are right." What a great compliment! I have passed your comments along to our Hospitality Management, so that they can share this with their team. Thank you so much for the awesome review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, WI
Level Contributor
127 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

The title says it all. Great check-in, room, price and friendliness (something often lacking at casino hotels). We'll be back any time we're in the area.

Our room was very large and up to date. Walk in shower was a treat. Hint, the towels are in a cubbyhole IN THE SHOWER. Great time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maybepat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsleCasinoWT, Digital Marketing Manager at Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Between your review and the 5-star ratings you gave us, it sounds like you had an enjoyable stay in every way possible! We're so excited to see that and can't wait to do it again. Thanks for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, Arkansas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

It's a great rate, large room, and awesome shower with a bench. I stay here anytime I'm in the area on business.

Buffet breakfast doesn't open until 7 so if you need to get out early, plan to hit the drive thru at McD's or Panera down on San Maren.

Free wifi (which is unusual at casinos) and if you let the desk know at check in that you won't need housekeeping during your stay, you will get $10 of free casino play.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank southernfoodiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsleCasinoWT, Digital Marketing Manager at Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We're so thrilled by your title! Thank you for repeatedly choosing us as your preferred hotel in Waterloo. You also provided a great tip for guests by mentioning our "Go Green" initiative and the free WiFi. We look forward to providing you with many more great experiences!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bennett, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

It's a nice hotel. Quality, comfortable beds and bedding. Nice to have a thermostat vs. a unit in the room. Although I do think it took more time to cool to my comfort level, the ceiling fan helped on that though (don't see many of those in rooms.) The check-in staff needs a few refresher courses in hospitality, but I wrote that off to the fact that I had two little kids and was clearly not going to be a money loser in the casino, but one would like to think the level of customer service was ranked to that, but I'm a realist. Wasn't too thrilled with the choice of dining options, but I would bet others would be thrilled. To be honest, there were many options, but I didn't feel they were too kids friendly. Over all though it was a very nice room anda good nights rest, which is what a hotel is all about.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsleCasinoWT, Digital Marketing Manager at Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Kathryn, thank you for staying with us and calling attention to our hotel's details in your review (ceiling fans, individual thermostats, etc.). We also appreciate your fair judgment in regards to the dining options. We do try to have some kid-friendly options such as pizza in The Lone Wolf and a discounted children's buffet price, but ultimately, we do cater to a 21+ demographic due to the casino atmosphere. I have forwarded your review to our Hospitality management to address with their staff. Regardless of whether you plan to visit the casino floor or not, we always want our guests to be treated with the best customer service possible and we are sorry that you did not experience that as you checked into the hotel. Thank you again for taking the time to write this review, Kathryn. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

I frequently gamble at the Isle of Capri in Waterloo. I personally have not had a bad experience there. The staff have always been top notch and most of the dealers at the card tables will socialize, which is cool. My only gripe is that I noticed that you only respond to comments that give you a good review. I would think that you could comment on some of the bad reviews and tell them that you apologize for the bad experiences and you'll try and work on correcting these in the future. Like I said, I haven't had a bad experience, but if I was to have knowledge of someone that has I would apologize and work on making it right. That's just me and how I'd run the operations.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ienvyno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsleCasinoWT, Digital Marketing Manager at Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Hello. I am pleased to hear you have had great experiences at Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo - especially with our dealers. I also understand your point about the negative reviews. We do try to respond to most all complaints, as well as our compliments. However, sometimes the responses to complaints do take a little longer. We prefer to investigate the problem, talk with our staff about the issue and whenever possible, call the guest to discuss the problem and work towards a resolution. (Our hotel reservation and Fan Club systems can sometimes help us to track down their contact information.) We appreciate our guests' feedback and in cases where we are able to call them or contact them in a more personal way, we can get even more details to help us improve in the future and make the guest happy. But thank you for your review because it does keep that perception top of mind for us - that yes, sometimes it's not just about the indivdual, but also about letting others know as well. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this dump last night and were very disappointed. We arrived Friday afternoon and checked in early. We immediately had an issue that resulted in us needing to speak with Security. Cory with Security was incompetent to take care of our needs and refused to get us the help we needed. I expect Security staff (especially management) to do their job.

The old saying that a pleased customer will tell a few people, but a dissatisfied one will tell many...well...I plan to tell as many as possible about the poor service.

I will never return and made sure they knew this when I closed my platinum level players account later in the evening.

I can't wait for another casino option to open in the Cedar Rapids area, where I voted "yes".

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank walt600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsleCasinoWT, Digital Marketing Manager at Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
I am assuming if you are a Platinum player that you previously had good experiences here. We would really like to get back to that spot with you. I am not sure what happened given the details of this review, but would you mind calling one of our Casino Hosts at 319-833-2192? We would hate to lose you as a customer and want to do what we can to make things right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterloo hotels
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Waterloo
Hampton Inn Waterloo
#1 of 15 in Waterloo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Waterloo
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Waterloo Cedar Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Waterloo
1.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Waterloo
1.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Waterloo-Cedar Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo

Property: Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo
Address: 777 Isle of Capri Blvd, Waterloo, IA 50701-9299
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Waterloo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Waterloo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come visit us at Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo and enjoy non-stop gaming fun. With approximately 29 table games and 950 slot machines, including 75 video poker machines, there is something for every gamer to enjoy. Looking for something to satisfy your hunger? Stop by one of our dining locations to experience the local Waterloo flavor or some of our fan-favorites from the grill! At Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo we also offer a hotel with 27 suites, an indoor swimming pool, hot tub, and fitness center. Book your room at Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo today to experience our non-stop gaming fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isle Casino And Hotel
Isle Hotel Waterloo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing