We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect place for a quiet vacation.”
other travelers have booked this property
Main living area with high vaulted ceiling
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main living area with high vaulted ceiling
Relax outside on sunny south facing terrace Anyone for tennis?
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Main living area with high vaulted ceiling
Relax outside on sunny south facing terrace
Anyone for tennis?
You can join us for breakfast up at Thurnham Keep
Characterful, beamy pub that serves excellent food just a stone’s throw away
Where we are
Entrance gates at the bottom of Castle Hill - ruins of Thurnham Castle and the North Downs close by
Large space to just chill
Plenty of parking on private drive
Fully equipped kitchen
Antique king size bed with high quality mattress and bedding
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Thurnham, Maidstone, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Stateside...
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A perfect place for a quiet vacation.”
Reviewed September 27, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Great hosts, very hospitable and helpful. Lovely grounds (7 acres) which we were encouraged to enjoy, especially the orchard. Easy access to Motorways, train station to London, Maidstone, and charming villages and sites of interest - such as Leeds Castle, Stoneacres (Elizabethan house). Also site of Thurnham Castle is nearby (now a ruin). Good eating places close by.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet of the surrounding open spaces.
Liked least: There was nothing for us to dislike.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 27, 2016
Lovely to meet you both and so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H
2 reviews
“The Best Holiday Rental Ever”
Reviewed August 18, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed here for 6 nights and loved every moment. Beautiful setting and extensive grounds. Very comfortable bed and all mod cons. The owners were excellent; very friendly and helpful. We loved the little touches, such as the complimentary jar of honey produced by their own bees (the hives are in the grounds). Also, the complimentary cream tea was one of the best we have ever had with scones made to Claridge's recipe, home made Strawberry Jam and breathtaking views from the terrace of the main house. We will definitely be staying here again and would also be tempted by the B & B in the main house. A real find!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful setting
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 19, 2016
Wonderful - so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again
Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mangoa
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed August 2, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We really enjoyed our stay at The Stables. Amanda is a charming host and we felt really at home. The Stables is beautifully equipped with all you could need and more. We would definitely stay here again if we were in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Privacy and modern appliances
Liked least: Location a little remote
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 19, 2016
Glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking time to write a review.
Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve41An...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“A wonderful place, perfectly located for visiting Kent”
Reviewed March 30, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

The former stable is a delightful building, with all mod-con's, and a perfect level of decor (coupled, of course, with a very friendly welcome, and courteous service). It is situated in a truly beautiful part of the world, and within a minute's walk of a fabulous pub, and also sits upon the Pilgrim's Way walk, and is close to heritage, countryside and - if you should want - town and shopping areas too. Indeed, it is nigh-on perfect, although we were a tad surprised to find that it physically adjoins a non-associated house, and whilst the family within were quite lovely, we hadn't expected to share their parking area and their front garden, as this did make for slightly 'uncomfortable' times when sat out in the sun having a glass of wine, as we would have much preferred greater seclusion. That said, however, whilst it's a niggle, it is a minor niggle, and it doesn't detract from an otherwise wonderful stay.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 31, 2016
Thank you for your kind review. The Stable as mentioned is situated next to our Lodge House which is also rented and does share a drive which has ample room for parking for both. The garden by the Lodge is for their use but we have 7 acres of gardens, tennis court and swimming pool in the summer where guests can find seclusion and of course there is a private, sunny terrace outside the Stable with table and chairs.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonnaMcQ
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed February 10, 2016 for a stay in August 2015

I stayed here with my daughter for 5 days. The Stables have been beautifully renovated to a very high standard. It was a lovely, comfortable and cosy space for the two of us. Our host Amanda was extremely friendly and welcoming and the property was equipped with just about everything we needed. It's set amongst some wonderful gardens and it was nice to have a wonder around. I would highly recommend this property.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBLondon1...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely country retreat!”
Reviewed August 5, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I stayed here with my partner for two nights this summer, while visiting the area for a friend’s wedding. Thurnham Keep Stable provides a clean, contemporary living space, while still retaining the character of the house and grounds it is set in. We enjoyed walking around the beautiful gardens at Thurnham Keep – and the bed was the most comfortable we’ve ever stayed in! Perfect for a country weekend away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 19, 2016
Many thanks for your review
Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaraAlbe...
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
Google Translation

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing