We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting, friendly team”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Black Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurnham
Certificate of Excellence
North Wales
Level Contributor
231 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, friendly team”
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with work following a mix up with the Mecure who wouldn't change a reservation. Well I'm pleased to say I'm glad. Set in a lovely village, yet only minutes away from the motorway network, The Black Horse is ideal for both leisure and business.

The rooms are well laid out, a great size with comfortable beds. The bathrooms are again large and well planned.

Overall forget the large chains, call in here.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank welshman279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    160
    33
    28
    12
See reviews for
123
237
21
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

A two day stay with the dog and we were really made to feel welcome. The separate reception for the chalets is an excellent idea as there is always someone there to help with any questions or problems. The room was clean tidy and spacious and well set out. The food was excellent you could have stayed a week or more and still found items on the menu to try, the many choices was varied and good, plus many extras on the specials board. Dogs are allowed in the bar so we ate there, but there is a restaurant for those without dogs. This is a great place to explore Kent from.

Room Tip: As the chalets are on a hill if you have a walking or breathing problem we recommend you ask for a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Felt like being at home, rooms were clean and warm, plenty of tv channels. The rooms are located down a hill so if you don't like the climb in the morning, you will have to drive up! Very friendly service, the food is excellent, a couple of meals i had to have substitutes for some items on the me nu but they were great. No complaints at all! It is located out in the sticks, along a long narrow country road, and quite far from basic amenities so make sure you have all you need before you go.

Room Tip: The lower you are down the hill, the higher the climb back up, get a room not so far down the hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zootmasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhuddlan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

I stayed here on a business trip. What an absolute gem of a place.
The rooms are like little chalets. Very clean & well appointed. The bed was extremely comfortable & had a great nights sleep.
The restaurant was in the pub. What a great place. A cosy olde world place with natural timners & hop vines everywhere. Great choice of real ale and a good choice on the menu.
The staff there were very pleasent & helpfull. The food I had was outstanding. The scallops & the smoked haddock just epic. And you did not have to wait long before it arrived.
The breakfast was cooked to order and like the previous eveing it arrived in a very short time & very tasty it was too. Great bacon.
I will definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Our room was clean and well equipped but a little basic.
We had a drink in the bustling bar ( great atmosphere and service) before being shown to our table downstairs in the modern conservatory.
Our waitress was friendly, helpful and efficient. The menu offered lots of choice and daily specials were also available. After delicious starters of smoked salmon with a crab croquette and Mozzarella with Heritage tomatoes, my husband chose Romney Marsh Lamb (excellent) and I opted for pork with fondant potato, carrots and fennel (also excellent!).
Desserts were equally good.
A delicious meal and great atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sils55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Templecombe
1 review
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Nice pub and location, food nice but pricey and not much choice. Chalet was clean but they need to invest in a decent mattress which is very old and extremely uncomfortable and tried to disguised it with a mattress topper !!! For a 4 star £95 room you would expect a lot better

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruthking68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Visited twice on our way to and from cornwall, what a find! room simple but great bathroom and parking right outside your cottage, we where traveling with our two dogs also and there are great walks right outside the door but the best bit about this place is the fab pub very cosy place with good selection of drinks and great staff, the restaurant part of this pub has to be seen to believe! i have never seen such a popular pub restaurant as this place they serve food from lunch all day, and i strongly recommend you reserve.

Room Tip: When you arrive don't go to the pub to check in there is a small office between the cottages and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurnham
1.7 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
0.9 mi away
Detling Coachhouse
Detling Coachhouse
#7 of 15 in Maidstone
213 reviews
4.4 mi away
Village Hotel Maidstone
Village Hotel Maidstone
#4 of 15 in Maidstone
1,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#8 of 15 in Maidstone
1,524 reviews
14.5 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
1,155 reviews
7.3 mi away
Chilston Park Hotel
Chilston Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lenham
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Horse Inn

Property: The Black Horse Inn
Address: Pilgrims Way, Thurnham, Maidstone ME14 3LD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone > Thurnham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurnham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Black Horse Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17th Century Pub / Restaurant with beams, hops and open fireplaces serving real ales and country wine. 27 beautiful en-suite rooms in the grounds provide a peaceful haven around the duck pond. Ideal for business or tourists. Close to Leeds Castle and only a 50 minute train journey to London. Lovely gardens and outside dining area. Also licensed for Civil Marriage Ceremonies.Fully equiped air conditioned business centre ideal for conferences, meetings and training seating up to 80 delegates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The Black Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Horse Hotel Maidstone
Black Horse Maidstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing