We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Black Horse Inn
Nearby Hotels
Detling Coachhouse(Maidstone)(Great Value!)
$108
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hilton Maidstone(Maidstone)
$102
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Maidstone (Sandling) Hotel(Maidstone)(Great Value!)
$78
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Maidstone Town Centre Hotel(Maidstone)(Great Value!)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Maidstone (Leybourne) Hotel(Maidstone)(Great Value!)
$65
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (622)
Filter reviews
622 results
Traveler rating
358
180
36
31
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
358
180
36
31
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubsticky toffee puddingbirthday mealchalet stylepork bellynorth downsan umbrellalovely mealvaried menumain buildingsunday lunchcalves liverleeds castleroom keystayed here for one nightcooked to perfectionmain course
Filter
Updating list...
566 - 571 of 622 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2008

I travel all over the country on business, preferring to stay in pubs rather than large, impersonal hotels. With the Black Horse I have found an absolute gem.

Friendly and helpful when I 'phoned to book, I then received a warm welcome on my arrival.

As a lover of real ales, in a traditional pub type atmosphere I was very pleased when I went in to the bar. In addition the food at dinner was of a very high standard with quite a varied menu.

I was again greeted in a friendly manner at breakfast which, again, was very good.

My room was very comfortable although the shower was so powerful and difficult to adjust, I couldn't help giving the bathroom floor a good wash when I took a shower.

Apart from this very minor hiccup I had a very good overnight stay and will try to book in again on all my business trips to this part of Kent.

I would certainly recommend the Black Horse most highly.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrummieBryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2008

The Black Horse Inn is well located to visit many attractions in Kent, in particular Leeds Castle, Hever Castle, Canterbury and 1066 Country.
This Inn serves terrific food. Lunches and Dinners are worth the trip. And the service is friendly and efficient.
The rooms are pleasant and clean. Administrative staff were very helpful, knowledgeable about the area and wonderfully friendly. We had a great stay.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank banddBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2008

Welcoming on arrival and good atmosphere, beer and food. Busy even on a Sunday evening which is positive statement about the food and staff. Bedroom bright airy and good stock of tea & coffee (inc herb tea etc) . Only issue with room was slightly musty bathroom smell. breakfast very good - cooked with local produce

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfc46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2008

stayed for one night 22/4/8 phoned them up to book directly which was cheaper than going through an agent £65 single room which compromised of a king size bed and bunk beds!! wi-fi cost £5 for your full stay. beautiful location, pheasants just walking around outside your room! sheep lambs and rabbits within 50yards too! superb meal at the inn £12.95 for 3 courses, plus a pint of Grasshopper for £3 well worth a go. the breakfast in the morning was awesome, full english, cant go wrong. booked to take the family in september cant wait to go, stay friday and saturday and get sunday for free. £170 for 3 nights and i cant wait. shame it takes 4hours to drive there!! HIGHLY RECOMMEND.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank thedaviesfamilyLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2008

Stayed for one night and found everything excellent. Quiet room ensured a good-night's sleep. Booked for dinner, the pub was very busy, but the staff were extemely effecient, helpful and friendly. Our full English breakfast the next morning was one of the best we have had at any hotel. A very convenient stopover about 5 minutes off J7 of the M20 for those making for channel crossings.

Stayed: April 2008
Thank GBAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews