We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Black Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurnham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2013

VERY helpful staff and good food. Clean rooms and a quiet location.

I think the management/owners need to invest more in room maintenance to help their employees. The popularity of the inn is deserved, but wear and tear is starting to impact on the accommodation and adding unnecessary workload for the staff involved in running repairs.

Another investment that would pay dividends is aircon/ceiling fans to control the temperature. In heat-waves, the small fans just can't cope.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pirran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (591)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

388 - 394 of 591 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed one night in early June 2013. Check-in and check-out was a breeze. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious, clean and quiet. The free WiFi was a bit weak but did the job. There is ample free parking. The pub has an excellent outdoor area to enjoy a drink or two. We had a superb dinner at the restaurant which offered an extensive menu. The full English breakfast, cooked to order, was served in the pub and was complemented with a wide selection of cereals, juices, etc. All in all, excellent value and service. While the Black Horse Inn is slightly off the beaten track, it is well worth the effort and I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pyctravellingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed at the Black Horse Inn for three nights while visiting Sissinghurst and Great Dixter.
I cannot tell you when I enjoyed a stay in a hotel more. This place is an absolute gem, from the warm welcome from Michelle in reception to the friendly and efficient staff. The rooms were spotless and very comfortable and the food excellent. The quirkiness of the layout of the inn is enchanting; I would love to see it in the winter with the fires blazing. I'm usually wary of recommending places to other people, but I'd have no hesitation in telling them about this place. Ewan was absolutely charming and has the good taste to be a member of Royal Dornoch Golf Club and special thanks to Lisa for sorting out our table for dinner on the Saturday. The only slight hiccup is that, if you're a bit dicky on your pins, it would be advisable to ask for one of the roooms nearer the main building as the hill from the lowest level is fairly steep Other than that, just GO and please say hello to Bill the cat for me!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linnie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We went to the Black Horse Inn to celebrate a friend’s 60th birthday in the Pilgrim Suite. What a lovely Pub, Hotel and Events venue. Truly first class and everything ran like clockwork. The staff could not have been more helpful. We took the time to explore the Pub and sample some of the many great beers on offer. The evening went off without a hitch and the buffet was simply lovely. Very highly recommended to anyone planning a special event or just looking for a great pub that has good beer and food.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Ned K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The family, all ten of us, stayed here overnight and dined in the restaurant to celebrate our Golden Wedding. The accommodation was excellent, very comfortable beds and very quiet. The meal in the Conservatory was enjoyed by all the family young and not so young, the food was up to its usual standard, very, very good. The restaurant was very busy but no one had to wait to be served. A wonderful evening, thank you to all the staff for your efforts on our behalf.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night, and from when we arrived we where impressed, the location is ideal only a short drive from the main roads, but far enough out to feel like your in the middle of nowhere. Check in was easy with friendly helpful staff, advised us on where was best to walk the dog.

We decided to take our dog with us, and the chalets are all set for the four legged friends even providing towels and bedding which was a nice touch. Rooms where lovely a lot better than expected, with everyone you need. We had dinner in the pub which was lovely, and good value for money. Staff where great. We also had a drink earlier In the day and the dog was allowed in the bar.
Breakfast was again lovely and defiantly filled us up, staff was great again.
Great place to stay, would recommend to anyone and the staff couldn't do more for you. hope to return ourselves In the near future!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lexleft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We really enjoyed our three day stay. The large pub with a good restaurant is in a great position with ample parking and annexes to suit singles and families alike. WiFi is fiddly at first but fine.
The rooms are small but clean and adequate. The pub itself has a good varied menu with attention to detail and piping hot food. The prices are about right for the quality of food. I thought the wine list was good and well priced. I stuck with the French Malbec as recommended. Breakfast sensible and generous.
The busy staff were cheerful and helpful both at the pub and accommodation. At a Bank Holiday weekend it was very busy and the service slowish once but not poor.
In the accommodation the drains needed a bit of a flush though and I am sure that will be dealt with quickly as the staff are very on the ball.
This place works very well and is dog friendly but not overrun by them. There are dedicated rooms for dog owners with blankets provided and an extra deep clean to fair to others.
My only comment is whether they have over- cooked the project and if it would have been better with a few less rooms and a small garden retreat. Just an observation.
Great place - much enjoyed.
Others have said the insulation in the rooms was poor. I heard not a sound from the family next door.

Room Tip: If two couples or a family are staying you can have two rooms connecting to aid liaison about food e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alzeimers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurnham
1.7 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
1.9 mi away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#8 of 17 in Maidstone
1,700 reviews
7.2 mi away
Chilston Park Hotel
Chilston Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lenham
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Detling Coachhouse
Detling Coachhouse
#10 of 17 in Maidstone
230 reviews
6.7 mi away
Dog & Bear Hotel
Dog & Bear Hotel
#2 of 3 in Lenham
329 reviews
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Maidstone Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Horse Inn

Address: Pilgrims Way, Thurnham, Maidstone ME14 3LD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone > Thurnham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurnham
Price Range: $107 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Black Horse Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17th Century Pub / Restaurant with beams, hops and open fireplaces serving real ales and country wine. 27 beautiful en-suite rooms in the grounds provide a peaceful haven around the duck pond. Ideal for business or tourists. Close to Leeds Castle and only a 50 minute train journey to London. Lovely gardens and outside dining area. Also licensed for Civil Marriage Ceremonies.Fully equiped air conditioned business centre ideal for conferences, meetings and training seating up to 80 delegates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Black Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Horse Hotel Maidstone
Black Horse Maidstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing