We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great ambiance, good food, nice stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Black Horse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Black Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurnham
Certificate of Excellence
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great ambiance, good food, nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

The Black Horse Inn is a little different than the places I would normally select for a business stay. It's off the beaten path, but an excellent choice if you like to stay in the countryside and enjoy an authentic "inn" style.

What makes this place special is the excellent pub and restaurant. Great ambiance and excellent food, with good service and a nice selection of beers.

The rooms are actually log cabins set in a small park on a hill. They are spacious rooms with all the normal amenities. No air conditioning, small TV, moderate sized bathroom and electrical heating. Good beds. Windows can be opened, but not locked.

Staff is friendly and professional. There's ample parking space. The layout is that of a small holiday park, with the hotel reception at the back of the pub/restaurant. The road leading to the cabins is rather steep. First impression is that this inn with its cabins is an ideal wedding party 'hotel'.

I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roland B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
310562, Owner at The Black Horse Inn, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thankyou for your comments - it is much appreciated and I am pleased to pass on such lovely comments to our staff who work so hard!

We hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    155
    31
    27
    11
See reviews for
114
223
21
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Black Horse for a week in November. The accommodations were upscale motel, but very clean and comfortable. The inn bills as a gastropub, and the food was exceptional. They rely heavily on local items, including wild game when available. We have friends living nearby who often dine at the inn. The cost for the week was quite reasonable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenShrubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
310562, Owner at The Black Horse Inn, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thankyou for your kind comments - we are pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here for two nights with our pet border collie. The staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. The food was excellent and sourced locally. The accommodation was excellent, very clean, spacious, and lovely and warm whilst it snowed outside. The hotel is set in a gorgeous part of the Kentish countryside and very picturesque beautiful surroundings. The pub was very welcoming towards pets, it has a lovely open fire which is welcoming in the cold weather. We would definitely stay at the black horse again and recommend this fantastic place to friends and family. Thank you to the staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JosieHappyFaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHorseInn, Owner at The Black Horse Inn, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thankyou - we are glad you enjoyed your stay! It's a super dog friendly area and we welcome pets as you now know! We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed here on our way to the UK from Belgium. The rooms are log cabin style and well appointed and very clean. We ate in the restaurant which was very busy and the staff worked very hard to attend to everyone. The food was excellent and well presented, we really enjoyed our evening and would definitely return. The only slight negative is that is is quite expensive for a stop over but for us it was worth paying a bit more for a lovely evening. Breakfast was also very good the next morning,

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are a little distance from the pub up a small hill so request one near if this isn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flowerpotManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHorseInn, Owner at The Black Horse Inn, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thankyou for your review we are glad you enjoyed your overnight stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We had an enjoyable two nights at The Black Horse Inn. The cabin style room was clean and comfortable although the walls are rather thin and the TV rather small. A little packet of biscuits to go with the tea and coffee would be nice as well!

We ate in the pub both evenings. The menu on Friday & Saturday evenings is restricted to the more expensive meals and the food, whilst enjoyable, is somewhat on the over-priced side. The menu for the rest of the week offers some less expensive options which are better value.

The pub itself is delightful and the breakfast was very good.

We would happily stay at The Black Horse Inn again when in this area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richp4nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHorseInn, Owner at The Black Horse Inn, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thankyou for your review - it is always a great help to get opinions of our guests. I am sorry you heard noise through the walls. I am not sure what room you stayed in but I will look it up on our booking system and ask our handyman to investigate to see if anything can be done. We hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is a fantastic pub and B & B. A rare find with lovely rooms and a great restaurant with excellent service. The price is very reasonable and the food in the restaurant is great. Would definitely stay again.

This pub is fairly hard to find but is worth the effort when you finally arrive.

Room Tip: Rooms are on a slope - try to get nearer to the pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

I can not praise the Black Horse Inn enough, from the absolutely fantastic staff, especially the assistant pub manager (and Spurs supporter) who was so conscientious and friendly, always concerned that we were well looked after, that the everything was ok with our room, food etc., and a genuinely nice guy. That is not to say the rest of the staff were not excellent, just that he was exceptional! Also Gemma the receptionist who actually phoned us on our way to enquire which room we wanted (we had Clover) as I had requested 'a nice view' on booking as a bit of an after thought, I was so impressed! and last but not least the relief receptionist 'Bill' a genuinely cool cat! The rooms were lovely, so clean and contemporary and stylish. The food at the pub oh wow, just brilliant, and the sticky toffee pudding with it's own toffee sauce boat, popcorn and ice cream, to die for, you have never had one like it!!
We have stayed in lots and lots of hotels, b&b's and guest houses over the years and often go away for weekends, this was a brilliant find at a brilliant price, they also do a wedding venue, and although we are already married, were we to do it again this would definately be an option just because of the great service, food and staff, and for the guests staying in the lodges it would be ideal, so would definately recommend it for anyone thinking about it!

Room Tip: We were recommended Clover it overlooks a small copse and is not overlooked, we found it very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stmoritz1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurnham
1.7 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
0.8 mi away
Detling Coachhouse
Detling Coachhouse
#7 of 15 in Maidstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Maidstone Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#8 of 15 in Maidstone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Townhouse Hotel
The Townhouse Hotel
#10 of 15 in Maidstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
3.6 mi away
Village Hotel Maidstone
Village Hotel Maidstone
#4 of 15 in Maidstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Horse Inn

Property: The Black Horse Inn
Address: Pilgrims Way, Thurnham, Maidstone ME14 3LD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone > Thurnham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurnham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Black Horse Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17th Century Pub / Restaurant with beams, hops and open fireplaces serving real ales and country wine. 27 beautiful en-suite rooms in the grounds provide a peaceful haven around the duck pond. Ideal for business or tourists. Close to Leeds Castle and only a 50 minute train journey to London. Lovely gardens and outside dining area. Also licensed for Civil Marriage Ceremonies.Fully equiped air conditioned business centre ideal for conferences, meetings and training seating up to 80 delegates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your The Black Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Horse Hotel Maidstone
Black Horse Maidstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing