We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Black Horse Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hilton Maidstone(Maidstone)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (614)
Filter reviews
614 results
Traveler rating
354
177
36
30
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
354
177
36
30
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubsticky toffee puddingbirthday mealchalet stylepork bellynorth downsan umbrellalovely mealvaried menumain buildingsunday lunchcalves liverleeds castleroom keystayed here for one nightcooked to perfectionmain course
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
441 - 446 of 614 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Black Horse Inn - the surprise was that it was much better than we expected.

The staff were terrific. We enjoyed dinner and breakfast over two nights. Food was great.

The room was fairly basic but very clean.

Recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SouthPerthAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed for two nights this October whilst visiting Brands Hatch for British Superbikes.
How many ways can we compliment the staff. Absolutely wonderful. They've obviously undergone extensive training in customer service. Multi tasking is a norm. We had a minor problem on the busy Saturday night, quickly resolved with a generous offer from the restaurant manager. The chalet rooms were lovely and the planting and general aspect was beautiful. However, people with mobility issues really need to highlight this to the staff as the layout of the chalets could prove a problem. A gastro pub, recommending wines to accompany the meals is a really nice touch. Say hello to Ben the cat in reception.

Room Tip: People with mobility issues need to ask for a room at the top of the hill.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Much, i eat at the pub 3 times in Aug and it was fantastic, and promised myself that when working in area again i would stay, which we did.
My self and a colleague booked in and were greeted in a fantastic way, very friendly and professional could not have asked for better, all was in order, given room key no problem but as the title suggests it's probably my fault, but i was a little disappointed with room it's self, bed i thought was to firm with depression in at bottom area, bath had what looked like plaster dirt in the was just ok, sort of Average if TA did half i would give 3.5
When you leave the room and go to the pub it's a different world the food and service is out of this world.
But as a positive if i was in the area again i would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ram-ram-ram-ram-ram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This was my third stay at the Black Horse, Lovely location very quiet and peaceful, well appointed comfortable chalets with an excellent hot drinks tray, included is a cafetierre and ground coffee as well as nice biscuits; The inclusive breakfast is cooked to order, a good selection of evening meals is served including daily specials; WiFi is free signal is not fantastic but it works!

Room Tip: have stayed in 3 different chalets and found all to be of the same excellent standard;
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueS919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed on a Sunday night to celebrate our first wedding anniversary and stayed in Alyssum. The room was modern, clean and well equipped. The evening meal was delicious, as was the inclusive breakfast. The service was very good too. The setting is very picturesque. Only downsides were: the digibox took quite a while to pick up some channels, the WiFi signal was non-existent, the heated towel rail didn't work, heating is via one electric heater which you are not allowed to leave on when you are not in the room which means you come back to a chilly room, especially with the wooden floors - I imagine this would be even more inconvenient in the winter months! Also, this was probably a one-off, but we were woken at 8.30am by builders bawling at each other outside our window - not what you want when you have booked a relaxing night away! Overall a lovely place though, we would definitely go back and recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews