We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Black Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurnham
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed on a Sunday night to celebrate our first wedding anniversary and stayed in Alyssum. The room was modern, clean and well equipped. The evening meal was delicious, as was the inclusive breakfast. The service was very good too. The setting is very picturesque. Only downsides were: the digibox took quite a while to pick up some channels, the WiFi signal was non-existent, the heated towel rail didn't work, heating is via one electric heater which you are not allowed to leave on when you are not in the room which means you come back to a chilly room, especially with the wooden floors - I imagine this would be even more inconvenient in the winter months! Also, this was probably a one-off, but we were woken at 8.30am by builders bawling at each other outside our window - not what you want when you have booked a relaxing night away! Overall a lovely place though, we would definitely go back and recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    160
    33
    28
    12
See reviews for
123
237
21
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights, very comfortable spacious room , nice solid bed and a good hot drinks tray with biscuits. The breakfast was one of the best cooked breakfasts ive had.Well recommended for business travelers as the pub also serves well priced quality evening meals.

Room Tip: They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank renraw70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlerock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Third stay in this lovely location--excellent food,very helpful and friendly staff.Safe parking.Quiet location and only 5 minutes from motorway.Walking opportunites abound--you will not be disapointed

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dessie n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night whilst touring the area as it is very convenient for a visit to Leeds Castle.
The room was lovely and extremely well equipped - they seem to have thought of everything, even umbrellas to use if it is raining when you go to the main building for meals etc!
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, especially the girl on reception in the mornings, when we called in to book the room and also to checkout. She really helped with suggestions of places to visit and things to see.
The evening meal was delicious, as was breakfast and we would happily recommend this inn to anyone staying in the area, and visit again ourselves if we were holidaying in Kent again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SHELLYJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Stayed here with friends as we were in the area at Go Ape (Leeds castle). Fantastic quaint bar with a wonderful atmosphere. Lovely "chalet" style rooms. Fantastic breakfast. All in all a lovely hotel, very helpful and amiable staff. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wivenhoe UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Brilliant location in the rolling hills of North Kent. Great breakfast and the evening meal (please book ahead) was delightful and served very professionally by attentive staff. The room was peaceful and well appointed. There was a duck alarm call system (a family of ducks gave us a gentle wake up call!) We will come back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WivenhoeUKWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed here for one night with my husband and despite an unfortunate start - which I shant mention on here, suffice to stay the staff dealt with it wonderfully and were genuinely sorry which was all fine. Stayed in Foxglove and the room was excellent, immaculate and fresh. The TV was okay but only worked on two channels but this did not affect us in anyway. Good quality extras in the room - teas coffees etc. Free standing fan in the cupboard as well as iron and board.
Ate in the restaurant and the meal and service was superb. The breakfast the next morning was perfect. Will definitely be coming back very soon! Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank armywife43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurnham
1.7 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
0.9 mi away
Detling Coachhouse
Detling Coachhouse
#7 of 15 in Maidstone
213 reviews
4.4 mi away
Village Hotel Maidstone
Village Hotel Maidstone
#4 of 15 in Maidstone
1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#8 of 15 in Maidstone
1,524 reviews
14.5 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
1,156 reviews
7.3 mi away
Chilston Park Hotel
Chilston Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lenham
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Horse Inn

Property: The Black Horse Inn
Address: Pilgrims Way, Thurnham, Maidstone ME14 3LD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone > Thurnham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurnham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Black Horse Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17th Century Pub / Restaurant with beams, hops and open fireplaces serving real ales and country wine. 27 beautiful en-suite rooms in the grounds provide a peaceful haven around the duck pond. Ideal for business or tourists. Close to Leeds Castle and only a 50 minute train journey to London. Lovely gardens and outside dining area. Also licensed for Civil Marriage Ceremonies.Fully equiped air conditioned business centre ideal for conferences, meetings and training seating up to 80 delegates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The Black Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Horse Hotel Maidstone
Black Horse Maidstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing