We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for a stopover or walking break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Black Horse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Black Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurnham
Certificate of Excellence
Wivenhoe UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great for a stopover or walking break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Brilliant location in the rolling hills of North Kent. Great breakfast and the evening meal (please book ahead) was delightful and served very professionally by attentive staff. The room was peaceful and well appointed. There was a duck alarm call system (a family of ducks gave us a gentle wake up call!) We will come back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WivenhoeUKWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    155
    31
    27
    11
See reviews for
114
222
21
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed here for one night with my husband and despite an unfortunate start - which I shant mention on here, suffice to stay the staff dealt with it wonderfully and were genuinely sorry which was all fine. Stayed in Foxglove and the room was excellent, immaculate and fresh. The TV was okay but only worked on two channels but this did not affect us in anyway. Good quality extras in the room - teas coffees etc. Free standing fan in the cupboard as well as iron and board.
Ate in the restaurant and the meal and service was superb. The breakfast the next morning was perfect. Will definitely be coming back very soon! Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank armywife43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crewe
Level Contributor
104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

The breakfasts and evening meals at this inn with chalets are excellent. The rooms are perfectly adequate with all modern accessories and gardens in which to relax. Some of the rooms are dark and therefore a bit dismal, but those with an open aspect are pleasant and comfortable. The hotel is very convenient for Leeds Castle. We would definitely stay again if we could get a good room.

Room Tip: Avoid those tucked in the corners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charliecreweCrewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

We had a one night stay at the Black Horse on our rtn from Holland,what a great find!!!
We were traveling with our dog and stayed in one of the garden rooms,we found the room to have everything we needed... Very clean and comfortable.
We recieved a very warm welcome in the bar inc treats for the dog,we had a few drinks followed by a meal in the bar our table had been set and reserved for us for the evening no pressure to hurry our meal even though it was a busy Saturday night.
The pub is full of old world charm and the food excellent the staff all very attentive.
The next day after a superb fresh cooked to order breakfast we took advantage of the maps of local walks in the area.
We also got sunshine and a chance to enjoy the outside sitting area which was very well kept and plenty of space to enjoy the delightful grounds.
A great way to end our holiday many thanks to all hope to return again when we are in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debsDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

The staff here are always welcoming and friendly, the rooms clean, comfortable and well equipped, as mentioned before heaters, fans, hairdryers, umbrellas etc. I was joined by a customer for the evening meal, as it was a lovely evening we sat out on the terrace and we were both very pleased with our meals which were delicious. Breakfast the following morning was well preseted and prepared. For me the Black Horse offers everythng you need for a comfortable stay in a very beautiful part of the world.

Room Tip: All the rooms I have stayed in are of the same standard and I have never been disturbed by noise or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneyQ54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hersham
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

I stayed somewhere in Sussex the night before the Black Horse which cost more than double the room rate and which had far inferior rooms. The Black Horse rooms are simple but immaculately presented with every thought for the user. Heaters for the cold weather, fans for hot weather, umbrellas for the wet weather, ground coffee and cafetieres in the rooms, hot chocolate for the children, TV, Wi Fi, comfy chairs, shortbread, iron, hair dryer, bottled water in the rooms, clean bathrooms etc. etc.. The restaurant had good (but not fine) dining and was a little gloomy in the day but all the staff (including Bill the cat) were really friendly and we had a great stay.The review by the contributor in Saffron Waldon is clearly malicious so take absolutely no notice of it.

Room Tip: I think all rooms were more or less the same but those with difficulty walking should seek advice fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HershamTriumph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saffron walden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

This place is like a boy scouts camp. It is made up of very basically furnished huts/chalets built in close proximity to each other so if you like listening to other peoples antics and conversations you will love it. The bed is the most uncomfortable I have slept in for many a year. I travel frequently and this on a comfort basis scored zero. It is ok if you are into caravan clubs etc. They had the nerve to charge £100 per night for this! On top of this I found the staff in the reception to be very 'bulshy' and arrogant.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4Cambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHorseInn, Owner at The Black Horse Inn, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
I am very dissappointed with your review. You may say you travel requently and think we resemble a caravan club but can assure you that we recenly received a Gold Star Award with four stars from the AA Inspectors.

As you can imagine the inspectors also travel all the time and must stay at the hotels they are rating with a view to giving an impartial report. We have guests who return to us year after year and in fact business guests who stay week after week!

We do not charge £100 for our rooms - I can only assume you booked through an Agent which is more expensive as they charge up to 20% commission on the booking.

The majority of beds are new and certainly the mattresses are replaced regularly.

I only get excellent comments about the reception staff and have never had any other customer comment about their attitude being bulshy and arrogant.

I am always intersted in hearing what my guests have to say but am at a loss to how you can think we are a boy scout camp!

Your comments certainly do not reflect the comments I usually get and I am sorry you did not enjoy your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurnham
1.7 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
0.8 mi away
Detling Coachhouse
Detling Coachhouse
#7 of 15 in Maidstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Maidstone Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#8 of 15 in Maidstone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Townhouse Hotel
The Townhouse Hotel
#10 of 15 in Maidstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
3.6 mi away
Village Hotel Maidstone
Village Hotel Maidstone
#5 of 15 in Maidstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Horse Inn

Property: The Black Horse Inn
Address: Pilgrims Way, Thurnham, Maidstone ME14 3LD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone > Thurnham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurnham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Black Horse Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17th Century Pub / Restaurant with beams, hops and open fireplaces serving real ales and country wine. 27 beautiful en-suite rooms in the grounds provide a peaceful haven around the duck pond. Ideal for business or tourists. Close to Leeds Castle and only a 50 minute train journey to London. Lovely gardens and outside dining area. Also licensed for Civil Marriage Ceremonies.Fully equiped air conditioned business centre ideal for conferences, meetings and training seating up to 80 delegates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, Priceline and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your The Black Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Horse Hotel Maidstone
Black Horse Maidstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing