We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas Day meal. ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Black Horse Inn Restaurant

The Black Horse Inn Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Black Horse Inn Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Thurnham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Nestling in the picturesque North Downs it���s hard to believe that Maidstone is only a stones throw away from Thurnam���s Black Horse Inn. Looking from the outside like the most traditional pub in Britain ��� white washed, tile hung, sash windowed, sign swinging in the breeze ��� inside will come as no great shock. In winter you���ll find a roaring fire in the imposing brick fireplace, dried hops drape from the ceiling and antiquey dark wood is in abundance. In summer diners can head outside to a paradise of shadey pergolas, ponds and green lawn or eat in the conservatory. Homegrown produce is key in a sophisticated menu which combines traditionalism with contemporary dining with impressive results.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
288 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Christmas Day meal. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We ate here on Christmas Day this is our 5th Christmas Day here, the admin team are very helpful and accommodating with requests.
The food was all pre ordered, so we was surprised when the wrong starters were brought out, once we received our correct starters, they was all lovely.
We all had roast turkey for our main meals which was beautiful and the portions were huge too!
The desserts came next again these were the wrong ones, but after getting the correct ones they was very good.
The waiting staff were lovely and checked on us lots which was great, overall another brilliant Christmas Day, no work for us and wonderful food.

Helpful?
Thank lou98uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    134
    60
    54
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not as good as previous visits”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

I have been here three times in 2013. The first with my partner, had a nice time, good lamb shank and all dishes good - it was busy but service was fine. Second time Feb 2013 a big group of us for a birthday - again good service and all was well. Third time, in late September we booked in for early supper around 5pm. When we arrived there were only a handful of people there (weekday). We were seated in the conservatory, which was empty so lacked any sort of atmosphere or ambiance. It was also very cold. We kept our coats on throughout the meal, as did others who were seated in there after us, but it wasn't even noticed let alone actioned by the servers. We had some charcuterie platters with a glass of wine each then left. We asked if we could sit in the main restaurant but was told no (there was no one in there, I suspect they were ready for evening service but still I would have thought they'd have a table they could turn round in time for a second seating as we were so early). Service wasn't attentive at all - bordering on poor, food was fine though, but we just felt a bit bemused by the whole thing really so not in a hurry to return. Shame as we do like it here, hopefully just a blip.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
237 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“A Superb Proper Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

From the moment you enter the place and read some of the humorous signs on the walls you know you are in for a treat.

When you enter you are greeted with a smallish bar with a wide range of local drinks that really do set the mood to unwind and sit by the open fire.

We had food here and were promptly taken to our table. Nothing was too much trouble and the food was excellent.

It was a great visit and really is a must if you are in the area. In the summer the beer garden is a perfect place to go an relax....just make sure you get there early enough to get a space.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Gorgeous English Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

I have eaten her twice now and love the food and the ambience. If you want a quintessentially English pub with beautiful traditional decor, warm atmosphere, log fires and an excellent choice of food and drink you must try the Black Horse. The food is delicious, featuring specials of game and fish as well as the regular a la carte menu. This time I had a rich roast beef Jacob's ladder of beef and ox cheek with red wine gravy and the meat was falling off the bone and the dish was spectacular. Highly recommended as it is open all day serving food and has both a restaurant and bar area so you can choose the type of experience you want

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank elaine l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Could have been better !”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

Went here for a lunch for a change of surroundings. We've been here several times before, as a couple and with family too. Upon arrival we were told we would have to wait 20 minutes for our table even though there were plenty available but as we got there at 1pm, we had plenty of time. We sat and ordered and waited for the meal to arrive (main course only, no starter). And waited. And waited. Eventually the fish arrived for my wife and I had the venison stew. The stew was very tasty but the fish was far too salty. My wife then ordered spotted dick and custard. After waiting for half an hour, the waitress came over and asked to be reminded what we had ordered. As time was pressing (it was now nearly 3), we decided to just pay and leave. As I say we have been several times and cannot fault the place. On this occasion, a large Xmas party was the reason for the delays apparently but this shouldn't be an excuse for the regulars to have to put up with. I shall undoubtedly give this place another chance, but things had better improve !!

Helpful?
Thank GeordieBoySi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Horse Inn Restaurant also viewed

Boughton Monchelsea, Maidstone
 

Been to The Black Horse Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing