We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a great place to stay for a reasonable price”
Review of Roy-EL Motel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wapello
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Roy-EL Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wapello
Blaine, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It was a great place to stay for a reasonable price”
Reviewed July 23, 2010

The lady who checked us in was very, very nice. Every day there were fresh towels, soap, cups, etc. in the bathroom and all the wastebaskets in the room were emptied. We stayed 4 nights and one of the nights the sheets had been changed. It was a very pleasant place to stay and we will definitely stay there on our yearly trips to Iowa. There was always coffee ready early in the mornings if we wanted any. If we needed anything the owners were always available.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ballen1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
1
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2010

I recently stayed 2-nights at the Roy El Motel on 61. The room was clean and comfortable for a good price.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BellasMama_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2009

My husband and I had to stay at the motel when our home was flooded in 2008. The managers were very friendly and compassionate. We have to large dogs and they were welcomed in our room while we were with them. There was a terrible storm one of the days we were there and the managers took us to the basement for protection. They took very good care of us. You won't find this kind of care in a larger town. There's a lot to be said for small town USA.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thehoneyhole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iowa city, ia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2008

This motel is conveniently located on Highway 61 and is more than adequate for a good night's stay. The owners are on the scene and are helpful about finding meals and resources which are not abundant, although the bait and lunch shop just north on the highway is definitely worth a visit for the homemade pie alone---and, of course, the atmosphere. Also, there is an excellent restaurant downtown which serves both great Alaskan fish and steak, but is open only for lunch and supper, and never on Sundays.

The same people who own the motel also own the hotel downtown, and it is a charmer. No phones, no cell access---just charm, quiet and a great place to sleep. Only a continental breakfast is available, but otherwise this is not to be missed. We sometimes go there just for the pleasure of being in the place because it makes us feel like we've really been someplace special, and it's only about an hour's drive.

Also, it does have a pay phone.

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank sway1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Roy-EL Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roy-EL Motel

Property: Roy-EL Motel
Address: 405 US Highway 61 South, Wapello, IA 52653
Location: United States > Iowa > Wapello
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wapello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 312
Also Known As:
Roy-EL Motel Wapello, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing