We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Super 8 I've stayed at”
Review of Super 8 Walnut

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Super 8 Walnut
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Walnut
Orangeville, Illinois
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best Super 8 I've stayed at”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

I deliver trucks throughout the US, I stay at a lot of Motels many are Super 8's. Walnut Super 8 is by far the cleanest and nicest yet, friendly service and a chocolate chip cookie at check in. Knowing that we would be on the road early (6am) the clerk had breakfast ready for us and a couple of others early. That was very much appreciated. Had a great down home feel. The business card says Sue Shepherd is the General Manager, thank you Sue and your staff, I will be back, and I will pass this info on to other drivers.
Oh yes, about 50 feet from the motel is a restaurant, EMMA JEAN'S. Even though they are under construction they were serving a limited selection of pizza and sandwiches, I had the pulled pork, actually two sandwiches packed with pork, it was delicious. The owner came over and welcomed us and gave us a tour of the construction area, this is going to be a first class place with a conference room, bar and occasional buffet. Looking at the beautiful oak wood work the owner is not holding back... this will be a first class dining establishment. Can't wait to see what's on the new menu.
ARP

Room Tip: had room 108 and was very satisfied
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1NICE91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    106
    64
    31
    13
See reviews for
138
85
34
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

this motel is one of the cleanest and niceest motels I have been in, in a long time and the price was easy on the walet.

Room Tip: any room all room,s are clean & neet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquille, Oregon
Level Contributor
75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Not the best Super 8 I've stayed in. Seems a bit run down, but I couldn't make it to Lincoln as planned because of nasty weather. Biggest complaint is noise: plumbing and people in the next room. Otherwise it was OK.

Major plus was that they take dogs.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gunta14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
202 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

rm 120, k, n/s
The short version: As motels are in the hospitality business, a friendly welcome would be a nice minimum start with a customer. The long version: On this occassion, on asking the clerk if a coupon could be used, she stated, "only if it isn't expired"; then upon presenting the coupon, the clerk
stated, "It's not in my job description to cut it out". Somewhat taken aback, I was not
sure if I was to provide a scissors or if one would be produced. I then removed the page
with the coupon, folding it so only the needed coupon was showing. This proved to be
unacceptable to the clerk, who then took the page and roughly tore out the coupon.
Check-in was smooth after that, until asked where one might eat other than the
McDonald's next door. The clerk shrugged her shoulders as if she had no clue even
though there were two restaurant fliers on the counter which my husband had just picked up.
Then the clerk recommended one of the two.(it was a good recommendation)

All- round average for a Super 8 (clean, nice pool, full breakfast) with one significant minus--
soundproofing between rooms is poor (next room tv & plumbing easily heard). Motel
choices in Walnut are limited to two; I'm inclinded to try the other one if I have another
occassion when Walnut is at the end of the day.

Room Tip: away from highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

This hotel is showing a lot of wear, but was still a decent, clean place to stay. We were traveling and just needed a clean bed and bath. Staff was pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pontiacnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2011

We arrived late and had our dog. The rate charged seemed a bit higher then expected - I had looked at Lincoln, NE as our travel goal, but we didn't get that far. The people were very friendly and nice and the room was large as well as the dog exercise area outside. Breakfast bar was very adequate. If we were travelling through again, I would consider another stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wickie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2011

We rarely stay in super 8's but had no other choice. Positives: clean, better then normal breakfast, nice size room. Negatives: no fitted sheets on bed, tried to charge us 10 dollars for two persons staying in room instead of just one as listed on our reservation, very noisy plumbing, paid as much as we would have at a comfort or best western hotel. Bottom line- if you are passing through and want a basic but clean hotel stay
here- if you have another option or are a light sleeper do not stay here.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matesheavyhaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walnut
6.0 mi away
Cobblestone Inn and Suites Avoca
12.1 mi away
Boulders Inn & Suites
Boulders Inn & Suites
#2 of 5 in Atlantic
80 reviews
10.4 mi away
Tivoli Inn & Suites
Tivoli Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Elk Horn
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Settle Inn & Suites Harlan
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Walnut
6.1 mi away
Motel 6 Avoca
Motel 6 Avoca
#1 of 3 in Avoca
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Walnut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Walnut

Property: Super 8 Walnut
Address: 2109 Antique City Dr, I-80 Exit 46, Walnut, IA 51577-3037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Walnut
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Walnut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Walnut 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Walnut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Walnut
Walnut Super 8
Walnut Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing