We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveler rating
124
22
5
7
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
124
22
5
7
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbarrier reeflobsterboat rideevery mealhoneymoon suitelife jacketsother guestsbelize citycave tubingwater shoesisland hoppingsnorkeling excursionsaw dolphinsprivate islandprivate experienceauthentic belizeresort owner
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 158 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2017 via mobile

... because this is the perfect place to really get away from it all! It's worth the effort to get to this family owned private island on Belize's barrier reef. The resort consists of several individual house cabanas, which are air conditioned and comfortable. The beds were comfy and roomy, the cabanas spic and span clean. The food is served modified family style, with a set menu every night from which you can deviate. While the island is a perfect place to relax, with sea kayaks and snorkeling gear if you wish to explore around it, the resort also has many different tours for multiple attractions ranging from Mayan ruins to reef scuba to excursions to dive the famous Blue Hole. We took several tours and they were all well run, professional and most of all, fun! The staff bends over backwards to cater to your every whim. If you really feel the need to stay in touch with back home, they have Wi-Fi which worked very well while we were there. But if you want to get away from it all, turn that stuff off! Bottom line, I highly recommend this resort for your vacation!

Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Hank F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yok-Ha-Frontdesk, Front Office Manager at Yok Ha Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2017

Hi Hank F,

It was a pleasure to do our best to cater to your needs and we are very happy to note that you enjoyed our hospitality. Thank you very much for your kind thoughts and also for your valuable time in sending your comments here.

Yok Ha family sends our best wishes to you.

With warm regards,
Management Team
Yok Ha Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2017

Great place to get away from it all and relax!!! We were confused about what to bring and we ultimately over packed, shorts and bathing suits, a pair of each and a sun dress are all you need. There aren't more than 14 guests at any time, no need to dress up. Food was ok if you are a snacker bring some snacks, tea drinkers need to bring there own.. Service was a ten, Marcos was a great host and Nellie saw that our rooms were clean and well kept.We brought our own floaties and it worked out great. Do not forget water shoes, they do provide snorkel equipment.

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fred s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yok-Ha-Frontdesk, Front Office Manager at Yok Ha Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2017

Hi fred s,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Yok Ha. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your time and that your stay was pleasant. Your kind words are much appreciated, in particular the ones about our employees and our service; we will make sure to pass on your praise and comments to the team.

We are always happy to hear from a satisfied guest and we look forward to welcoming you back again to see improvements of the points that you mentioned.

Best Regards,
The Management Team
Yok Ha Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2017

I found this place on Groupon when looking for a vacation destination. We had previous gone to places in Mexico and had never really considered Belize. I am glad I found this place. The rooms are spacious and the porches provide a lot of privacy and most look directly on the ocean!

There are two things that make this place great. The location on a caye is amazing and very private. You feel like you are the only people on the planet. The second thing is the service. The staff at Yok Ha take the time to get to know you and address everyone by their names. It is like you have your own staff on your own private island - that is the feeling.

Although they do offer day trips back to the mainland, we chose to focus on water activities and did a snorkeling trip and an island hopping trip. Both trips involved snorkeling, and the waters around the great reef are amazing! Saw all kinds of fish, mantas and even sea turtles. My guide gave me a world class demonstration of spear fishing, something I had never witnessed.

The food was outstanding, not only is how it tasted, but also how it was presented.

Groupon or not, this place is a great value and a lifetime experience.

Room Tip: Some cabins have a better ocean view than others
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank canook2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yok-Ha-Frontdesk, Front Office Manager at Yok Ha Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2017

Hi canook2000,

Thank you for your review and feedback about your stay with us. We are truly happy to read that you enjoyed your time and the quality of our rooms and facilities. Thank you for recognizing the level of service from our staff and we hope to welcome you back to the resort soon.

Best Regards,
The Management Team
Yok Ha Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2017 via mobile

We couldn't have found a more perfect place to vacation! Stayed there last week and of course didn't want to leave. We loved there only being five cabins, felt like you had the island to yourselves. There were only two other couples there and we enjoyed getting to know them. They had a new bartender when we got there, Sergio was excellent! I really hope they keep him on. We did a few excursions while we were there. Marcus was outstanding organizing everything for us. He was very professional and a pleasure to have around. Fernando was our boat captain and tour guide, we really enjoyed him taking us every where. Fernando caught us lobster one day that our beautiful and talented chef cooked for us (best lobster we ever had!) everything she cooked was delicious! Everyone felt like family, so sad to leave them and the beautiful island. We can't wait to go back! I highly recommend doing the zip line adventure it was a blast! Ask Fernando to stop for ice cream too, perfect after an adventure.

Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
2  Thank April W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yok-Ha-Frontdesk, Front Office Manager at Yok Ha Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2017

Hi April W,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Yok Ha. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your time and that your stay was pleasant. Your kind words are much appreciated, in particular the ones about our employees and our services; we will make sure to pass on your praise and comments to the team. We are always happy to hear from a satisfied guest and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
The Management Team
Yok Ha Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2017

The place was ok, if it was on the main land it would be a Motel 6 with a view. You are secluded, No TV's in the rooms and don't count on WiFi. Not saying it was terrible but when you think of a Resort you might think of something different. The owner of the property came the last night we were there and wouldn't even speak to us, I mean really there's only I think 5 rooms! They picked us up around noon and we still didn't get there until night time because you're gonna wait around for other people to fly in and that's for a 8 mile boat ride. Going swimming was the only thing I can think of that I liked. I like options and there you don't have any. You eat when they say and don't count on getting ice and if you do you have to pay for it. For the money there are nicer resorts in Belize. Not ever going back.

Stayed: February 2017
2  Thank kejone04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yok-Ha-Frontdesk, Front Office Manager at Yok Ha Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2017

Hi Kejone04,

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay with us. We're sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations and appreciate you taking time to share your concerns.

Our goal is to cater for guests who are looking for privacy (hence the reason it's a private island and the owners give the guests their privacy). Our reviews show that all of our visitors have in fact enjoyed this type of seclusion.

We do not have TVs in the cabanas because we want you to relax and enjoy the beach as much as possible.

Regarding boat shuttle, this information is given upon your booking confirmation. Our reservations personnel always advise guests about the boat shuttle time to prevent a long wait.

Your comment about not having options will be taken into serious consideration. It is through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary, improve the service that we provide to our valued guests.

With that said, we ask that you allow us another opportunity to welcome you back to see improvements made, as we consider it our privilege to host you again.

All the best,
The Management Team
Yok Ha Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews