We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Efficient cost-effective friendly local hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cobblestone Inn and Suites Vinton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cobblestone Inn and Suites Vinton
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Vinton
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Efficient cost-effective friendly local hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here a few times now and always found the hotel and staff friendly and efficient
Breakfast is complimentary and adequate.
Wifi is free but variable in reliability so bring your own hot spot if planning to work
Upgraded rooms are comfortably with large comfortable bed and hot tub
Small bar area if you need a drink up until midnight

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryryry4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMvinton, General Manager at Cobblestone Inn and Suites Vinton, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    8
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
12
4
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

First of all, why build a new hotel and not have a swimming pool??? We arrived on a Tuesday afternoon. I get checked in and the receptionist shows us to our room. Apparently, they were rekeying the rooms but didn't finish. So, I am told that I need to pick up the phone at the front desk and call someone to let us in our room every time we leave and return. She has a tool that pops off a protective cover to use the key... I ask if there are any rooms that were already done. She checks and finds us a room. We walk in and there is a wire hanging from the door with a 9 volt battery dangling from it. Obviously, this room hasn't been completely finished. It took several swipes each time just to get in my room. We turn on the TV and cable isn't working. We run to a store next door and buy movies. Start watching and the DVD remote doesn't work. About 9:00 that night, cable starts working. At the same time, a worker knocks on our door wanting to finish working on the door lock. Seriously??? 9:00p.m.????? We had company leave our room at 9:30 that night, and all employees were sitting outside at the picnic table smoking and visiting. The continental breakfast was less than desirable the next morning. Very few choices and really not very good. I have a child with special needs. I left my oldest child watching her so I could check out. Within a couple minutes of checking out, that employee was already coming into our room..."oh, you haven't left, yet??" So disappointed in this hotel. Will make the drive from Cedar Rapids next time!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lbollin13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMvinton, General Manager at Cobblestone Inn and Suites Vinton, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
I certainly appreciate you taking the time to write a review concerning your resent stay at our hotel. i was sorry to read we failed to meet your expectations in several areas. It is our goal to consistently provide the highest quality in both product and service, and it is vital to our continued success to know when we have fallen short of our own high standards. Let me simply say that all of us at the Cobblestone Inn and Suites are committed to providing a much better and more pleasant experience for our guests than what you had the misfortune of experiencing.

Again, thank you for taking the time to write. I sincerely hope that you will allow us another opportunity to demonstrate our true level of hospitality and interest in serving you properly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
163 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We've stayed here twice since the place opened and the experiences were different.

The first time the prices I reserved online matched our receipt; the second time they did not even when I made an injury about it. Being there for funeral I simply didn't have the energy to pursue it further.

The first time there was a limited item breakfast buffet that ran out; the second time the buffet had been expanded to include a sausage gravy and it didn't run out. We seemed to have the same amount of guests each time based on who we saw and the number of cars in the parking lot.

The first time we has a spider problem in our room -- ongoing we were told -- but we were given a discount and they weren't very big; the second time no spiders at all.

The first time every thing from check-in to check out ran smoothly; the second time they just could not get the room cards to work and so only one of our cards worked at any given time.

The rooms were clean on each visit and the microwave and frig (not mini sized but larger tan that) were a plus. The amount of in-room storage was ideal. Each time the staff was very responsive and friendly.

If not for the other problems, it would be a great place to stay. Vinton needs more options though.

Room Tip: The hotel is used a lot by construction crews so make sure you get a lower level room to avoid the d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thetammyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMvinton, General Manager at Cobblestone Inn and Suites Vinton, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Guest service is our number one goal at Cobblestone Inn and Suites. It was apparent to me, while reading your review, that we fell short of this goal when you were our guest. It is through concerned guests, such as yourself, that we gain insight into areas of our business that require attention, areas that may have otherwise gone unnoticed. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced while our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

1. There was a notice at the check-in desk to not use the hotel water for 24 hours - and on inquiry, I was told that E Coli had been detected in the water. But no complementary drinking water was made available - and no ice was available at all. I was told to buy drinking water if I wanted to drink any.
2. At the time of making the reservation (1 hour before checkin), I was told that a hot breakfast with sausage, eggs and toast would be available. That was the reason I picked the place, as I was travelling with my daughter who is on a gluten free diet. But at breakfast the next day, they only had biscuits and gravy. After complaining about it, I was offered sausage - which arrived a few minutes later 50% burnt. Only half of it was even edible.
3. There is no elevator to get to the 2nd floor - which would usually not be a big deal, except I had a sleeping kid to carry up stairs, in addition to a suitcase.
4. The builiding is new and the rooms are spacious, but that did not make up for the absence of drinking water.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dsingh12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

community had a high wind storm which destroyed many of the beautiful mature trees here. Hotel lost some siding but when we were there, everything was in good shape. Hotel was very pleasant, staff were very accommodating. Had a nice little bar, similar to the hyatt place plan. Nice breakfast and a nice patio out front to bbq. Had a laundry which was great, but the treadmill was in the laundry room, which is ok for my house, but not the hotel. I didn't see a pool anywhere. Great biking and hiking trail nearby. Hotel wasn't the least expensive but anywhere we went in Vinton was a bargain and certainly made it easy to go out and about.

Room Tip: I believe they offer whirlpool rooms, kings and queens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bgould1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wabasha, Minnesota
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2011

This is a very cute hotel with a very professional staff that will do anything for you. The manager even drove us downtown to have some drinks. Rooms have great beds, refrig, microwaves, and 32" flat pannels. If you are staying in the Vinton This is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolynn49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2011

Great place to stay if you happen to need to stay in Vinton. The rooms are very comfortable, clean and are equipped with mini fridge and microwave. The complimentary breakfast easily rivals those of larger chain hotels and even has a very small bar should you want a beer or some wine. The staff is very friendly and courteous which, unfortunatly, is hard to find these days.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank richardjunkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vinton hotels
0.8 mi away
Modern Motel
Modern Motel
#2 of 2 in Vinton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Cobblestone Inn and Suites Vinton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cobblestone Inn and Suites Vinton

Property: Cobblestone Inn and Suites Vinton
Address: 1202 W 11th St, Vinton, IA 52349-4711
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Vinton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Vinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cobblestone Inn and Suites Vinton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a convenient location near everything Vinton, IA has to offer. Situated near, Virginia Gay Hospital, Kirkwood Community College, and the Cedar River, this hotel offers easy access to Highway 218. Nearby offices include Iowa Flight Training, Paradise Skydiving, Benton County Department of Health, Iowa Braille & Sight School, and Benton County Courthouse. Stay connected and relaxed while exploring or working in Vinton with complimentary Wi-Fi access, 24-Hour Business Center, complimentary hot breakfast, fitness center, Mini-Microwaves, Mini-Refrigerators, and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Cobblestone Inn and Suites Vinton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cobblestone Inn And Suites Vinton Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing