We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ADEQUATE” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Urbandale/Des Moines Area

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Super 8 Urbandale/Des Moines Area
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Urbandale
Roseburg, Or
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ADEQUATE”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Motel is showing its age. Perhaps a room or two at a time rehab - new carpet, furniture, paint, etc. A little more attention by room cleaning staff wouldn't hurt either. Super 8 seems to run the gamit from wonderful (e.g. - Big Timber, Montana) to barely OK (e.g. - this one).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    22
    39
    50
    54
See reviews for
75
28
10
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

The hotel is located just off the highway and is easy to get to. There are a few places to eat with a Buffalo Wild Wings just down the street. You can tell this was an older hotel (formally Comfort Inn) as the hotel was lacking modern updates. The bathroom was very aged and needs to be completely redone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

The bathroom where the tile connected to the wall was dirty. Needs some serious deep cleaning. Only two pillows per bed and the pillow were old and flat. The beds were hard and one bed sat higher than the other. Air condition was loud and didn't work properly. Room smelled musty and old like it hadn't been deep cleaned in years. Reception was Moody and not friendly. I worked housekeeping management before and there is no reason even a 2 star hotel should be this unkempt. Never again will I stay at a super 8. I will pay the $40 more a ñight for a peace of mind.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Tessa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We booked a single room with a king size bed and requested a cot (that they were going to charge us ten bucks for) then realized the couch pulled out into a bed, the clerk couldn't understand why we wanted more room for three people every time we saw her she would hound us about how many people were staying in our room. Whats it to her if my child rolls around everywhere during the night! We paid for the room so we can sleep any way we want! The room was nasty with potato chips smashed on the floor, one little bottle of shampoo, had to unplug the lights to plug in the microwave, THE COMFORTER HAD CIGARETTE BURNS IN IT, front desk didn't want to give us an extra blanket and pillow, breakfast was a joke!! (Mini donuts and cereal.) The room was straight out of the 80s and lacked cleanliness for sure. Also we got here and the hot tub was not working. Wish we had known that before we booked the room. GROSS. NEVER AGAIN.

Room Tip: read reviews before booking at this motel. crap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amberj652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urbandale
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay
Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay
#31 of 49 in Des Moines
3.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines
2.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest
5.0 mi away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#11 of 49 in Des Moines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Urbandale/Des Moines Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Urbandale/Des Moines Area

Property: Super 8 Urbandale/Des Moines Area
Address: 5900 Sutton Pl, Urbandale, IA 50322-1876 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Urbandale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Urbandale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Urbandale/Des Moines Area 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban and fresh remodel for your to make you feel right at home! Everything is new from the carpet to the curtains! Enjoy our free breakfast bar and indoor pool all with the convenience of being right off I-80. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Super 8 Urbandale/Des Moines Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Urbandale
Super Eight Urbandale
Urbandale Super 8
Urbandale Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing