We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great after a long day of driving..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Des Moines Urbandale
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Urbandale
Certificate of Excellence
Cheyenne, Wyoming, United States
Level Contributor
204 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Great after a long day of driving..”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

It was a long day of driving. We found this Inn and was clean,ok price and very comfortable the front desk folks were so nice and friendly. The breakfast lacked sausage or bacon but barely passible. Easy access ,true non smoking room,easy check out. Amenities in room were better then average.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms will be great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    46
    13
    2
    3
See reviews for
36
26
6
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Litchfield, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2014

We stayed here one night before moving our college age son into Drake University. We were welcomed and helped immediately upon arrival by the front desk. Our room was very nice, clean and comfortable. Everything is new with very sleek, modern furnishings. We didn't utilize the pool or exercise room, but peeked into both and they seemed great. Breakfast was much like other offerings at other hotels: make your own waffles, eggs, biscuits and gravy, bacon and sausages, cereal, muffins, yogurt, etc. When visiting our son at school down the road, we'll go back!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kkdoodlebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2014

We stayed here one night, it was very nice. The beds are really comfortable. Room was clean, very up-to-date. One complaint would be breakfast - it was ok. Eggs, biscuits & gravy, would have liked to have some form of meat. Overall very nice!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trudy95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okoboji, Iowa
Level Contributor
433 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2014

This appears to be a very new Fairfield Inn and a very nice one. The lobby is upscale and large with an open seating area for breakfast. Our room was nice but a bit odd. It was huge but with a lot of open space. There was room for a sofa and sitting area but no furniture in that area. Perhaps the furniture had not arrived yet or the room was just an odd shape as it was by the elevator. At any rate, the room, bathroom, and bed were very nice as was the hotel overall.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gopherhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2014

As a family of 5, we look for reasonably priced hotels with a pool, free breakfast, and free internet. This Fairfield was a hit with the family. We were too tired to swim but it looked as though other families were having a good time. Our room was clean and stocked (bless you prideful housekeeping staff!). The free wifi streamed movies on three digital devices (why won't kids watch regular tv?) with no issues. Breakfast was well stocked and the area kept clean. I'd also like to thank Samantha, who worked the front desk. She laughed at the children's (12, 9, 3) quibbles and other antics, graciously found the last rollaway and pillows, and delivered with professionalism. She was bsck at the desk for morning checkout...with a smile. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barb b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

This is a brand new Fairfield so it is spotlessly clean & up-to-date. My first impressions were excellent but, unfortunately, there were a few issues. The walls are paper thin. Let's face it: when it comes to a hotel, sleep quality is second only to cleanliness, and sleep quality is rarely good where there is inadequate soundproofing. We stayed here during AAU Jr Olympics and there was a lot of noise from the teenagers in the next room. I tried to call the front desk FOUR times about the noise only to get a busy signal. I finally had to go down to the front desk myself to get help. The breakfast was alright but out of many items. The hotel was booked solid for Jr Olympics but they were unprepared to accomodate so many guests, and only seemed to have on the same amount of staff as they would on any given Monday night. Subsequently, the service was lacking.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PTWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Let me start by saying I am very picky about my hotel stays:) This is a beautiful new hotel located conveniently right off the interstate. Large, spacious, CLEAN rooms with a great layout plan along with plenty of outlets for all our cell phones, computers, ect. The staff here is AWESOME! Michelle who checked us in was very nice:) We had an issue with some loud, drunk, obnoxious ball team adults. We notified the manager, Thressy, and she took care of it immediately! Pool was small but clean & nice. I enjoyed the hot tub:) They also have a comfortable sitting area right outside the pool. My family was very happy to find a Pizza Ranch, Ruby Tuesdays, Culvers & an Arby's all practically within the hotels parking lot! This was a great hotel experience and when in the area we will definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinW0704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urbandale
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale
0.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale
0.6 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel and Conference Center - Des Moines
2.0 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Des Moines Urbandale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Des Moines Urbandale

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Des Moines Urbandale
Address: 8661 Plum Dr, Urbandale, IA 50322
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Urbandale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Urbandale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Des Moines Urbandale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Des Moines Urbandale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing