We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and Comfortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Urbandale
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
238 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2008

I selected this hotel for an overnight stay while attending my son's graduation from Drake University. Check-in was a bit slow because there were a lot of guests for a wedding held on the site checking in who arrived when we did, but the staff handled it effiiciently and we were soon checked in. The rooms and the rest of the property felt brand-new and everything was spotless. Front desk staff was ready to help with maps and information. There's a Fitness Center and an indoor pool that are on the smallish side, but the usual for this type of hotel. Beds were extraordinarily comfortable. My parents were there also and my Dad thought the bathroom a bit small- he said he preferred a separate sink/vanity area.

My husband and I got breakfast coupons- not sure if it was because it was included in our room rate or because of our Gold status. Everyone else had to pay- it was under $10/person and included omelets cooked to order, the usual fruits, cereals and pastries, and biscuits with artery-clogging suausage gravy- my husband's favorite.

The immediate area includes many restaurants (Texas Road House and a Mexican one within walking distance) and if you make a left turn out of the hotel onto 86th, there's a Dahl's supermarket up the road with everything, including a full liquor license.

It was a hectic but happy weekend and this was a great place to spend the night!

  • Liked — Clean, new and comfortable beds
  • Disliked — Nothing significant
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AThena53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    116
    44
    12
    6
See reviews for
123
92
24
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
759 reviews
234 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 427 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2008

As a Hilton Diamond member, I get to stay at a lot of Hilton Garden Inns. This one is by far one of the best. This was my second visit. and was as good as the first. I got a two room suite for the cost of most one room hotels. The staff were very accommodating (even when I had a problem they fixed it immediately) and the restaurant for breakfast was excellent., with great waitstaff (which is usually a problem with this chain). The room was clean and maid service was excellent. There are a lot of things nearby too, including a Texas Roadhouse next door - but beware, this restaurant is popular and has long waits even on weekdays.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, Attention to Detail
  • Disliked — Far away from downtown
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank drichrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
153 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 410 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2007

This hotel has easy access from the highway, but is far away to hear any noise, so it makes a very convenient one-night stopover. The entrance and lobby look very attractive and were spotless clean. Check-in went smooth with very friendly front desk staff. As Gold Hhonors members we were given an upgrade to a 1-bedroom suite.

The suite was great, separate living area with sofa, small table and comfortable chairs. There were also a work desk with chair, 2 TV sets, refrigerator, microwave and the bedroom had a good quality bed. The bathroom was very nice and clean. All furniture was made of very good materials and in perfect condition.

There is a business center with two computers and printers. In the evening connections were very slow, but still workable. In the early morning one computer didn’t work at all and the other was too slow to even read mail. However morning staff was very assist full but they didn’t get things started. They apologized a few times for this failure. As it was early Monday morning and hard to get professional assistance, the friendly approach made me didn’t mind at all. I knew they would sort this out as soon as possible.

Breakfast was good, with many items to choose from. Eggs could be ordered in every way. There was only one young girl working that has to be better trained. For instance she didn’t put new forks and knives on the table, we and other guests had to get this from other tables to the table where one wants to sit (it seems she does that only once in the morning at every table and never replace this items). Also it took a long time before she cleaned tables.

But these were only minor issues. Besides the friendly staff and the great suite we had also a very good and quiet night sleep, so it was in all a wonderful and relaxing stay.

  • Liked — Forthcoming staff and good quality rooms
  • Disliked — Need somewhat more attention at the breakfast
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BA-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
162 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2007

I was looking for a place to crash for the night in the middle of a long drive, and chose wisely. The hotel feels brand new (but I know it's been there at least a few years), and the staff is quite helpful. Rooms are a good size and quite clean, beds very comfortable, and breakfast in the morning is good and plentiful, including cook to order with delicious omelettes.

The area is growing, with good restaurants nearby...the road that the hotel is on is currently a road to nowhere...they are building another hotel next door, and you can tell the "subdivision" (for lack of a better term) is growing, but it isn't finished yet. The little strip mall across the street has a Cold Stone which is a good place to grab some ice cream after dinner somewhere.

Very easy access off of the interstate, but you don't have to deal with the hassle of downtown (and associated parking fees). Free internet was quick and nice.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, bed comfort, free internet, location
  • Disliked — Front Desk staff a little slow, but not bad
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Zacharius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2007

This appeared to be a new hotel, comfortable, clean and nice. There is free Internet connection. The breakfast is only $8.50 or so, and is not that great, but good for the price. The bed and linens are good quality, as as the toiletries.There are a number of good restaurants around the hotel. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank Laurel99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cedar rapids,ia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2006

I have stayed at a number of lodging establishments in Des Moines over 20 years, and I have to say that the Hilton Garden Inn provided the best service and accomdations I have seen yet. The staff was friendly, knowledgable and professional and went out of their way to honor any requests I had. The public areas and rooms were well appointed and clean. The bed I had in my room was large and comfortable. Even though property is next to the Interstate, the noise was minimal. I didn't use the onsite restuarant, but there is a Texas Roadhouse next door and a sandwich shop and Starbucks across the street. A number of other dining establishments and a movie theater are within walking distance. I would definitely stay at this property again if in the Des Moines area.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — If in town for convention business, ask for convention rate
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mahlerssecond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2004

I am a Hilton Honors Gold Level and continue to be impressed with the Hilton Garden Inn locations. This one is exceptional! A pleasure to stay here, even if I was on business! The facility is light and bright with banquet facililties AND a full restaurant right on sight! Super friendly staff too! DO NOT miss the chance to stay here and eat dinner too! I hope to visit again soon!

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urbandale
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines
3.2 mi away
Hotel Renovo
Hotel Renovo
#2 of 11 in Urbandale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel and Conference Center - Des Moines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale
0.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines Urbandale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale
Address: 8600 Northpark Drive, Urbandale, IA 50322
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Urbandale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Urbandale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale Hotel Urbandale
Hilton Garden Inn Urbandale
Hilton Urbandale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing