We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Super customer service, cheerful decor, central location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sleep Inn
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Urbandale
Terre Haute, IN
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Super customer service, cheerful decor, central location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Within walking distance to Machine Shed restaurant and Living History Farms. Ask for a referral coupon for Machine Shed appetizer. Less expensive option than than adjacent Comfort Suites. Pleasant and helpful staff from desk clerks, breakfast worker to housekeeping. Central location - close to restaurants and shopping. Short drive to casino, Bass Pro and Jordan Creek, Merle Hay and Valley West malls. Reasonable rates if you are a priority club member and watch for sales. Staff makes an effort to honor requests for room location and optional refrigerators. Location popular with sports teams, pet owners and families so can be noisy. Heard running in the halls and pool crowded. Charming lobby lounge has computer and sofa seating. Updated decor in cheerful modern colors interspersed with county antiques. Breakfast seating fills up quickly. Waffle maker, sausage, cereal, toaster options. No eggs, bacon or oatmeal pot. Rooms updated a few years ago but bed was not very firm and shower only. Our room was at the end of hall bordering the stairs and an exit so could have higher foot traffic but convenient to unloading luggage. Room was non-smoking but had a strong previous smoking or over deodorized smell that required running the AC to mitigate the smell.

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of the halls are located near stairs and exit doors. Convenient for unloading vehic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DotHam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    60
    27
    9
    3
See reviews for
45
25
8
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huron, Ohio
Level Contributor
309 reviews
198 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Best stop this week. Stayed two nights in Room 308. Everything was good including the price.

Sort of strange location and a little hard to find behind the Comfort Suites, but worth the effort.

The only area lacking was in the breakfast selection. There's some room for improvement there.

I'd stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MessNmagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

When we arrived at the Sleep Inn, we discovered some of their power was out due to a storm that went through. I overheard them on the phone with the power company and while I'm still not sure how some power was out and some was not, it was evident there was nothing the staff could do. While this was not an ideal situation, I was so impressed with the staff's ability to continue to provide outstanding customer service. They asked us (and the people in line before us and after us) if we would like them to call and book us a room at another property due to the inconvenience. They were even willing to lose a sale to keep me happy! I said no, and I'm glad I did.

The staff made sure to bring a lamp into my room to plug into the one working outlet and hand-delivered a wake up call by knocking on our door early this morning.

It was an unfortunate situation, but the staff rose above it. It is clear they understand the meaning of customer service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

While tricky to get to (it's behind the Comfort Suites), you'll be glad once you get there. The front desk was being renovated so the "desk" was a table set up in the sitting area. This didn't hamper check in at all, it was seamless. Rooms were clean, as were all common areas. The pool and spa were also tidy and thankfully not overly chlorinated. Breakfast was your typical continental offerings, and staff was busy cleaning and refilling as needed. We had an issue with our television and it was replaced immediately. Very satisfied with this hotel and would certainly not hesitate to recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MidwestLivin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol Stream, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Very comfortable room, clean, the staff members were very efficient and friendly. Only stayed one night but would choose to stay here again. Breakfast was just ok.

Some of the reviews did not reflect the stay i experienced.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loreli K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed for a week in July for USSSA Fastpitch World Series. The rooms were very clean and roomy. Breakfast was perfect before a long day of softball. The pool was large and clean. The staff was wonderful. I needed my battery charged in my vehicle as I left the key on (oops). We were close to being late for one of my daughter's games and I was frantic. The front desk called in their maintenance person and he jumped my battery. Would stay here again anytime!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crashjjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elwood, Nebraska
Level Contributor
364 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Overall this was a good place, surprisingly quiet with a decent breakfast. It could probably use a visit by a decent interior decorator and there are little use issues (small things that were either a little dirty or beat up) but overall we were happy with the quality and the price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Letsroadtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urbandale
0.1 mi away
Hotel Renovo
Hotel Renovo
#2 of 11 in Urbandale
5.0 of 5 stars 82 reviews
0.9 mi away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#10 of 48 in Des Moines
4.0 of 5 stars 477 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wildwood Lodge
Wildwood Lodge
#2 of 8 in Clive
4.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites
0.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West
3.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn

Property: Sleep Inn
Address: 11211 Hickman Road, Urbandale, IA 50322
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Urbandale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Urbandale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Choice Hotels so you can book your Sleep Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Urbandale
Sleep Inn Urbandale
Urbandale Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing