We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Usually like this hotel but bad experience this time” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sleep Inn
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Urbandale
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Usually like this hotel but bad experience this time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel a few times before & were happy with it.
The staff is very friendly & the location is great.
This time though we had a room that had mold in the showers (that I documented with pics). It was disgusting.
There was a cigarette burn in the comforter in our 'non-smoking' room.
Also we went to enjoy the pool two different times but it was taken over by about 15 people in there (who were all clearly there together) playing volleyball with a beach ball and taking up the entire pool. The children of these people were all swimming around the hot tub as though it were a baby pool so we couldn't enjoy that either.
We have really enjoyed this hotel in the past but thus time was very disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Qtinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twbtcaptain, Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear guest,

I am very sorry your room was not up to standards. I really appreciate your comments. You have brought a couple of very important items to our attention. I will address the burn hole in the bedspread and the cleanliness of the bathroom with our housekeeping staff. I'm also sorry our pool room was extremely busy. Our hotel fills up most weekends during the summer with vacation travelers and sports teams. If you have problems with a particular group while staying in the hotel please let us know and we will address your concerns. I appreciate your past business you have given us. I do hope that you will continue to stay with us and give us a chance to exceed your expectations. If you have any futher concerns please call us directly and ask to speak to a member of our Executive Team. Any of us will be happy to assist you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    60
    28
    9
    4
See reviews for
45
26
8
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
245 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

If you are traveling with a bicycle, stay here. It's less than a half mile from the longest paved bike trail in the U.S. Amazing!

Now for the hotel ... the room was very nice, clean, and up to date. Breakfast was just okay, hard-boiled eggs, no scrambled eggs, sausage, plenty of junk. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

We'll stay here again, for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Iowa
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We've stayed here before and we came back. The rooms are very clean and are large and spacious. The pool area is well maintained and stocked with plenty of towels. The staff is very helpful and quick. Easy access to the Highway. Breakfast is a hit (waffles, pastries, cereal, toast, bagels etc...with everything being well stocked. Will stay again I'm sure!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smorcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed with our daughter for two nights at this comfortable, clean, well-maintained inn. The service was friendly and accommodating. The second-floor suite was large enough for a family with three children. Two large screen TVs!! Little kitchenette in the suite was helpful for a family. Breakfast featured waffles, sausage, eggs. Wireless internet was not password protected but it was easy to access (wouldn't count on it being secure). It overlooked the pool area but noise was minimal. The in-house laundry was helpful for a family on the road for the summer. The area was sunny, shady, and clean. It was a little odd that the pool was edged with stainless steel. We stayed here so that we could walk to Living History Farms and were very happy with our choice.

Room Tip: Suites are great for families with children, but you may hear a little of the noise from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mamanabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn Park, Minnesota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We made a short notice reservation and booked a free night online using our Choice Hotels points. We reserved a one king room and the only thing available on line was a handicap access. room. The room was great and very comfortable with a very spacious bathroom and full bath. The only downside was that we were on the freeway side of the hotel and I know from prior stays here that the road noise can be quite loud. Our stay was very pleasant and at check-in we had a very pleasant and professional young man. The hotel was less than full and our night was very quiet and uneventful. The breakfast was very good with lots of choices and my favorite waffles.
Overall excellent experience with the only negative the road noise on the west side of the hotel. Advise asking for the side facing the Machine Shed restaurant.

Room Tip: We had room 318. Lots of the rooms here have only a 3/4 bath. This room is handicap accessable, so h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Staff was great! I had a issue with my computer and the young man at the desk went out of his way and help me fix it! The rooms are clean and crisp, and the price is right! I will be back again!! Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

My family and I checked in the Sleep Inn on Friday the 17th and plan on staying till Monday. We had made our reservations one year in advance because of graduation and wanted to make sure we have rooms to stay in. We I made the reservation I asked for two adjoining rooms on the first floor. The young man said that would not be a problem and guaranteed us that would be available for us. Due to my grandma be older and less mobile, it was a lot easier for her and our family to be right next door in case anything happens.

Upon check-in we were assigned different rooms on different floors. We then told them what we reserved and the young man said that should not be a problem. After five min. or so he looked like he did not know how to handle the situation. He then asked for help from the woman working with him. She was wearing more professional attire, so I assumed she would be able to fix the issue very quickly. Boy was I wrong. She began to explain that they never "guarantee" any adjoining rooms. This does not make sense to me. I have worked in the hospitality industry and know when something is not right. You should be able to guarantee adjoining rooms one year in advance. She then began to say that at they start of the day we had adjoining rooms, but someone decided to stay an extra night and the room is no longer available. She said that it is not their policy to move people out of a room. I understand that if they have a reservation for that night. If they decide to stay an extra day she should have said he would have to move to a different room because they need that room to accommodate another guest. We did this all the time to guest at our hotel and there was never an issue.

We needed to go to dinner, so we left and she said she would have the problem taken care of by the time we get back. We ate at The Machine Shed and it was fantastic. I would recommend it to anyone. When we got back they had our rooms eight rooms apart from each other. This was not acceptable because we needed to be next door to each other. She began to talk down to us and made it seem that we were being out of line. This is a customer service industry and it seemed as if this hotel did not know that. I believe her name was Hailey. She rolled her eyes and laughed at us when we said we were not happy. She did not ask if there was anything else she could do to improve our stay. It seemed that she did not want to improve the situation at all.

Our room was very clean and looks very comfortable. Very relaxing atmosphere to be in. The pool area was fun to relax in as well. The breakfast was also amazing in the morning. Everything about the hotel was great except for the staff which was poor to say the least. I would not stay here again due the lack of service. It was very unprofessional the way she handled the situation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Garrett H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urbandale
4.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#26 of 48 in Des Moines
3.0 of 5 stars 88 reviews
9.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#23 of 48 in Des Moines
3.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
15.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Altoona
Comfort Inn Altoona
#5 of 8 in Altoona
3.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Renovo
Hotel Renovo
#1 of 11 in Urbandale
5.0 of 5 stars 99 reviews
8.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Event Center
14.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Pleasant Hill
4.0 of 5 stars 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn

Property: Sleep Inn
Address: 11211 Hickman Rd, Urbandale, IA 50322-3757
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Urbandale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Urbandale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Sleep Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Urbandale
Sleep Inn Urbandale
Urbandale Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing