We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, comfortable, and inexpensive” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sleep Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sleep Inn
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Urbandale
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, and inexpensive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

If you've ever seen Hotel Impossible, you'll think that this hotel took all the advice given and used it. For example, our room was very clean and the bed was made with simple linens and without the silly bed cover that people throw on the floor and that then gets put back on the bed. There were various options for lighting that made it easy to sit at the desk, in bed, or in a chair, and read. The bathroom had a shower, which was deceptively large. There was a little coffee machine in the room, which I always appreciate. The continental breakfast was basic but good, e.g., waffles, hard-boiled eggs, yogurts, various breads, fruits, juices, and coffee. We'll definitely stay here again when visiting family in Iowa.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cpieper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    62
    32
    9
    4
See reviews for
48
27
8
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brainerd, Minnesota
Level Contributor
118 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

The only negative was that you had to drive through a restaurant parking lot and another hotel parking lot to get there. Thank God for the GPS! The room was nice, decorated in green and blue. That was a refreshing change. Seems all the other 'Choice Hotels' have the same decor. Nice breakfast. We were on the highway side and didn't hear much noise at all. Walking distance from the Iowa Machine Shed restaurant is a big plus!

Room Tip: Ask for the back side if you need quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GrannyJules218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MINDEN
Level Contributor
139 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Rooms were roomy and the staff was very helpful. I liked the roominess of the lobby and eating area. The bathroom had an odor to it though almost like "lime away" cleaner. But other than that our stay was fine and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Softball_Mom_1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendelcc
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

The walls are paper thin at this hotel. Some sort of party was going on above us, called three times to desk. At first she told me that there was just a guy above us sitting on the couch. At 1pm she called back and said it was a wedding party and offered to move us. Should of done that with my first call two hours previously. Should of given us some compensation for having to move in the middle of the night but none was offered. Then was up by 6 with people getting up for showers next door. Rough night for sure....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wendelcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin TX
Level Contributor
207 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We arrived at night and couldn't see the hotel. Our GPS delivered us to the "address" but this hotel is behind the Comfort Suites and Machine Shed, so we had to ask at the Comfort Suites for directions. Our room was huge, but had a smallish bathroom sink and counter in the room (not in the bathroom) with the toilet and large shower in a small room with a pocket door. So that felt more crowded that it needed to be. We were very surprised that there wasn't a fridge or microwave in the room--there was plenty of space for them. We liked the location (got to love Machine Shed!) and the contemporary decor.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BabsinTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlyle, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Another business trip left me camping along I 35 on the West side of Des Moines. The Sleep Inn is in a great location adjacent to the interstate exit. The sister Comfort Inn is next door and you drive through the "Iowa Machine Shed" restaurant parking lot to get to your hotel. I did not eat at the Iowa Machine Shed but, it looked great - open for lunch or dinner and I will plan to eat there on my next visit when I WILL arrive before the supper hour. The Sleep Inn has been redecorate with new contemporary colors and materials. Ask for a king room with shower - very nice set up with a large step in shower (no tub needed) plus great room layout, nice flat panel TV and very quiet. Hotel provides privileges to the use the huge "Aspen Club" athletic and tennis facility located across the road for free - "complimentary privileges" for hotel guests.

Breakfast the next morning was good and included complimentary USA today - a nice feature.

Room Tip: Ask for a king non-smoling room with over-sized shower. Rooms on the first and second floor have go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesquite, Nevada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Just northeast of Des Moines, the Hotel was easy access to the interstate and a short drive to restaurants, grocery stores and other shopping. Rooms were clean and fairly new; comfortable, quiet and had all the amenities you'd need. Adjacent to a Living Farm project with restaurant and farmers market. Breakfast was more than adequate. Only little hiccup-we were given keys to an occupied room, but was remedied post-haste. You get a lot for your dollar here!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urbandale
0.1 mi away
Hotel Renovo
Hotel Renovo
#2 of 11 in Urbandale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wildwood Lodge
Wildwood Lodge
#3 of 8 in Clive
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West
3.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines
1.0 mi away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#11 of 49 in Des Moines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn

Property: Sleep Inn
Address: 11211 Hickman Rd, Urbandale, IA 50322-3757
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Urbandale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Urbandale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sleep Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Urbandale
Sleep Inn Urbandale
Urbandale Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing