We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel for the Traveler”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Urbandale
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, MN
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel for the Traveler”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Spent two nights at this location located just off I-80/35 in Urbandale, IA. Hotel is off highway
enough that Hwy. noise was not a problem. Ruby Tuesdays, Culvers, and Arbys nearby within
walking distance. Hotel room was clean and numerous TV channels offered including HD channels and METV. Breakfast offerings were good, cereals, waffles, yogurt, breads, juice, coffee, etc., nice lobby area and staff was friendly. Wireless internet signal was initially a problem, however staff later gave me the password for another router and then I had no problem
with wireless signal.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TIM B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebraS-GM, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you!! for your kind review! To let you know, our internet is/has being/been replaced!! (by Sept. 1,2013) but probably much sooner. Our provider would not up speeds etc. so we are changing. This will make your stay nearly perfect next time. Can't wait to see you again!!!
And I will tell them to keep METV!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    223
    102
    41
    25
See reviews for
280
111
63
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Seriously - you have to check hair dyers out from the front desk and even though I requested one 4 times - at 11:30 PM, 6:00 AM, 1:30 PM and 3:30 PM I got no results.I had to go buy one at Target in order to wash and style my hair. The old 19" TV was fuzed out, the ice machine on our floor was broke and we had to keep getting out keys reprogrammed in order to get in our room. We stayed two nights and our room was never freshened up with clean towels or trash removed. The room was relative clean, but worn and you had to crawl under the night stand or desk to plug in charges for phones or computers.. The WIFI did work - and they had a typical breakfast, but we will not be staying here again. We were very disappointed and frustrated by the end of 3 days and 2 nights.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeggyVanAm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebraS-GM, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
With apologies that your stay was not enjoyable. You will be happy to know that we are changing our internet provider due to the poor service we were receiving. New internet will be up and running by the 1st of September!!!! The televisions will be replaced by the end of the year. HAIR DRYERS are on order!! Please email the hotel at microtel@mchsi.com as I would like to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierce, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Visited on July 26th stopping just for the night. Got a room and being in the hotel business we looked for signs of a clean room. Noticed bed bugs. Immediately left, told the fella at the desk who acted as if he was already aware of the issue. Ended up going to holiday inn. Much better! Don't use this hotel. Right down the road is a much better place. Still waiting for a refund, if none is received I will take more extensive measures.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank 3DisneyAddicts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebraS-GM, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Being in the hotel business yourselves, you should make sure of what you see. Although room was 'taken down' along with those on either side, NO BUGS FOUND. It was late, and the room decor is dark. With apologies that we didn't have another room at the time. Have a wonderful summer season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lamoni
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Sink wouldn't drain-internet was so slow-wasn't worth getting on so no business work got done. Nothing great-normal room

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
1 Thank Manny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebraS-GM, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know that you basically liked your stay!!! INTERNET is being changed to new provider with 5x the speed that we had. AND it will WORK!! (This will be done by Sept. 1, 2013) Please give us a try next time you come to the Des Moines/Urbandale area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urbandale
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale
0.6 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel and Conference Center - Des Moines
0.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Des Moines Urbandale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Renovo
Hotel Renovo
#3 of 11 in Urbandale
141 reviews
3.8 mi away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#11 of 48 in Des Moines
596 reviews
0.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines
Address: 8711 Plum Dr, Urbandale, IA 50322-6245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Urbandale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Urbandale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a newly remodeled 76 room Hotel. We have 1 queen, 2 queen, 1 queen suites ( includes microwave, refrigerator, and pull out couch ), and 1 queen jacuzzi suites on property: including accessible rooms. We offer a complimentary breakfast every morning from 6:00 am to 9:30 am, free wi-fi, on property fitness room, and on property guest laundry. We are pet friendly with a fee per pet per night of $10.00. Our check in is anytime after 3:00 PM and check out is 11:00 AM. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites Urbandale Hotel Urbandale
Microtel Urbandale
Urbandale Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing