We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines
Nearby Hotels
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn(Urbandale)
$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Renovo(Urbandale)
$189
$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
$70
EconoLodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
GardenInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (745)
Filter reviews
745 results
Traveler rating
313
251
109
46
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
313
251
109
46
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswindow seatdes moinesroom was cleanqueen bedcross country tripgreat pricewafflesvalue for the moneyfront desk personnelstayed two nightsbreakfast areabiscuits and gravystaff was very friendly and helpfulplace to sleepstay there againother hotelscontinental breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
720 - 725 of 745 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Hotel smelled pretty bad. Although our rooms seemed clean, it was hard to think that you were in a clean room as you had to keep smelling "that" smell.
Breakfast was pretty weak. There was hardly any variety and they were running out a lot. The front desk person had to run the front desk, get the food for the breakfast, and heat up her food that she brought from home over in the micro that guest were having to use. Maybe more workers would help.
We were also almost double charged. We told the worker when we arrived that we already paid, but she was not going to give us the keys if we didn't pay again. In the morning we got things figured out with the a.m. worker (the one that was having to do everything else too.) She was very apologetic for the problem.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bdamron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Asked for non-smoking room smelt like old smoke. asked for new room not much better. First room was like a closet. TV very old, remote did not work correctly. Next visit will stay at Holiday Inn across the street

Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Loyce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This was our second visit to this hotel and we found it met our basic needs. Our queen bed room was clean with a pleasant view of fields and scrub trees from the window: not a parking lot! We had a refrigerator and a microwave as well as a small sink and a sofa bed as this was considered a small one-room "suite" all for a low "AARP" rate -- under $60 with tax! This is a modern building (probably built around 2000) so there are more electrical outlets for all the gadgets we travelers depend upon. Front desk staff were polite and helpful replacing a broken ice bucket and handling other minor requests.

Room Tip: Be aware that the main entrance doors are heavy and lack ADA opener buttons. Inside, the hotel is more friendly to those with special needs and has a central elevator, and adjustable seats for the bathtubs, etc.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulSFraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

You can't beat the price for this basic motel off the interstate. We stayed four nights while visiting relatives nearby. Beds are comfortable, and room is clean and quiet. Pet friendly for an extra $10.
Management is a problem, and should be addressed by the Microtel Corp. They are in the process of changing to flat TVs. We had one of the rooms that had been changed (four so far). The TV channels are nowhere to be found. The channel guide in the room means nothing. If you have a program you want to watch, good luck finding it. The staff knows nothing about it. We asked to see the manager, but in four days he was never on the premises. The staff doesn't care about customer service, especially the morning staff. Need milk for your cereal? Asking won't get it. They have some, but nobody put it out, and they won't get it for you! I saw two dead cockroaches on the floor of the breakfast area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinaGrodt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We had booked eight rooms to handle relatives coming for the funeral of our father. As we were the first to arrive, we were greeted by the desk clerk, in jeans and a t-shirt, who informed us that the reservation we had made the day before had been "screwed up" by the night clerk. So, eight non smoking rooms on the same floor in close vicinity had been lost and all he could offer us were six non smoking rooms scattered around the hotel along with two "not too bad" smoking rooms. One of those room's air conditioners did not work, but it didn't matter much since the room was so smoky that our son and wife took one step inside and turned around. So, too, did five more of the parties. (Even if the rooms were non-smoking, many still smelled of smoke as did the common areas.) Fortunately for the majority of our group, the Holiday Inn Express and Suites virtually across the parking lot had rooms...very nice rooms for more money of course, but at that point, no one was complaining. The breakfast is an embarrassment--a few bagels, muffins, and bread for toasting, cereal, and packets of instant oatmeal. How hard is it to make a hard boiled egg? Perhaps some yogurt? No fruit, not even a banana. Tea and Coffee is available as are a few juice options, but all in all it was a giant disappointment.

On the positive side, the room we stayed in (non-smoking) was clean and everything worked for the most part although the wi-fi signal was weak and intermittently disappeared. Still, we had to ask several times for hangers (our room had none) and the bathtub would not hold water so a weak shower was the only option. Sound like fun?

They did give us a good rate. The unusual thing is that we have stayed at another Microtel in Ames, Iowa, just 35 miles away, that had none of these problems. It's an inexpensive chain, but even so one expects a certain base level of service.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 11Barbara11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews