We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Urbandale
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good location, good price”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed at this hotel due to their pet policy and location. Good spot to stop in Des Moines if you are passing through, there are a few restaurants and a Walgreens nearby. Good sized room, staff was pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrntDskManager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    226
    104
    42
    26
See reviews for
285
113
65
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

I stayed here with some friends and we were quite surprised by this hotel. The staff was friendly and the rooms were pretty clean and comfortable. The rooms had some nice touches like a nightlight in the bathroom and even comfy padded window seats. However, they do not have hair dryers. The location is great, right off the highway, and there is quite a bit very close by including food, gas stations and grocery stores. The breakfast is what you would expect from a budget hotel... cereal, muffins and some toaster items. I would stay here again if ever back in the area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMO23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Overall the hotel was clean but my room was a little damp, I believe only because of the extreme humidity for an extended period of time. I want to point out that it did not have an order just a dampness. Service was good, room was clean, Breakfast could of been more, but was alright. walking distance to Ruby Tuesdays and Arby's.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingDanSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coldspring, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights. Very clean and quiet. Near the highway and food nearby. Continental breakfast was adequate.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viccorbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2010

Great for a nights stay, not far from the Highway and gas station.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick7330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2010

Hotel Staff was very great help me alot about the area, hotel is right of theI 80 and near resturants. Rooms are super clean. breakfast was ok but again I did pay $100+ to get gravy and biscut. I would be back to stay again

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richfield, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2010

it was clean, beds were comfortable. desk people very friendly and helpful. located next to arbys and culvers (walked there) east to get anywhere from there. downside - air conditioner was sooo loud and tv was a little old fashioned and weirdly placed but no big deal. would have been nice to have a place to sit outside but all in all. good for momey. and yes continental breakfast was adequate for the average person. nice eating area and lobby with large tv

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KARENX3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urbandale
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale
0.6 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel and Conference Center - Des Moines
0.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Des Moines Urbandale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Renovo
Hotel Renovo
#2 of 11 in Urbandale
149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines/Urbandale
3.8 mi away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#13 of 48 in Des Moines
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines
Address: 8711 Plum Dr, Urbandale, IA 50322-6245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Urbandale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Urbandale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a newly remodeled 76 room Hotel. We have 1 queen, 2 queen, 1 queen suites ( includes microwave, refrigerator, and pull out couch ), and 1 queen jacuzzi suites on property: including accessible rooms. We offer a complimentary breakfast every morning from 6:00 am to 9:30 am, free wi-fi, on property fitness room, and on property guest laundry. We are pet friendly with a fee per pet per night of $10.00. Our check in is anytime after 3:00 PM and check out is 11:00 AM. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites Urbandale Hotel Urbandale
Microtel Urbandale
Urbandale Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing