We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Urbandale
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
96 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Most HI Express hotels are good -- so I often consider those. This one was up to par. It was a newer hotel so everything was in good shape. Desk personnel were helpful and got me a couple more nights there despite everything appearing booked online. Room was clean and comfortable. Exercise room had good equipment - recumbent bike, three treadmills, elliptical, a good pulley-style weight machine, dumbbells up to 50 lbs. and a weight bench. Room was big enough and had TV, water, towels and mats. It was clean, too. Kids used the pool and said it was good. Breakfast was typical of HI Express, well stocked and maintained. Really no complaints at all about this place. I'd go back again without hesitation unless I found something comparable at a lower price. Access was good, just off interstate, and there were a few restaurants in the vicinity, but we ate our meals in other areas of town. Business Center had OK computers and monitors -- but the printer didn't work (or maybe I couldn't figure out how to make it work). Other than that, this hotel was great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank speedz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford C, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. We hope we have the change to serve you in the future. We have forwarded on your comments to all employees for review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    53
    22
    7
    4
See reviews for
65
21
8
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

The hotel is clean and friendly. We had a high school softball team staying there and a storm go through but was very quiet room. The breakfast, pool, & room were great. I would recommend this for anyone who wants a smoke-free, pet free hotel in Des Moines, IA area. Ruby Tuesdays & Culvers within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pfo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford C, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and thank your for your kind words. We always try our best to make every stay a wonderful stay. We hope to see you again next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnston, Iowa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I reserved rooms for both sets of Grandparents for the weekend of May 5th 2013. The rooms were very clean and the beds were very comfortable. The hotel is brand new and the decorations are very modern. The pool area was very nice and the location is perfect. Right off the interstate next to a couple restaurants. Perfect stay was stated by the Grandparents.

Room Tip: The king suite is very large and very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cutie98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford C, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your excellent feedback about the staff here in Urbandale. I have forwarded on your comments to all staff members as well as management. Safe travels, and we will see you next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on our way to S. Dakota. We were there the night that the terrible tornado hit Oklahoma. We were surrounded by severe storms and hail most of the evening. Many around us lost power but we did not.
Very friendly and accommodating staff. Clean and comfortable room with enough amenities to make our stay enjoyable and relaxing. Very conveniently located if you are traveling east or west through Des Moines.
Would not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: Upper floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford C, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank You for your review. Everyone here is thrilled that we were able to make your stay a comfortable one. We hope your trip to South Dakota went well and hope you get a chance to come see us again on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

We felt and were very Welcome by the staff at the Holiday Inn express in Urbandale Iowa. I was in des Moines to visit mt 87 year old Mother, following Mothers day. We had made reservation at the Microtel across the parking lott through Hotels. com and when we attempted to check in we were met with a staff person that was very rude and could care less that i had a letter from hotels. com that said the manager of there hotel had oked my special Needs request. God must of been looking out for me and my family because I walked across the parking lott. The day staff at HIX was a welcome change from the ugly theatment I just had. The Night Staff was also very good and heipful to my familys needs. The young man that worked in the kitchen was outstanding even to the point of comming in to work on his day off tomake sure the guest had a nice hot meal. If I had a lot of money I woud tip every one of the Staff at HIX, because they restored my faith in God and human kind. I will stay there again.

Room Tip: Parking light are very bright at night so it shines in room. but room ar very clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford C, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
We are happy to have served you during your visit. Thank you so much for your feedback. We hope that you get a chance to come see us again in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a weekend getaway with family and it was perfect. The staff accommodated all of our needs and even though there were many high school sports teams in the hotel, we were able to enjoy ourselves and had a wonderful time. It was difficult to get our room cooler than 68 degrees, but we opened a window and that seemed to do the trick. Perhaps they hadn't switched from heat to air conditioning yet. We will stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Auntiepae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
We are so happy your family enjoyed thier stay with us. We like to think of your family as our own and always do our best to provide excellent service and the comfort you deserve. Upon recieving your review we have internally done a check of all of our A/C units as we are switching into warmer weather. We hope to see you and your family again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times. It is a very convenient location just off I35 in NW Des Moines. The surrounding area has a lot of food options. There is a restaurant located 100 yds to the east.

This is a new hotel and everything looks (and smells) great. The lobby area is an upgrade over most HIE's I have stayed in. The breakfast dining area is expansive.

I highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ketchtwenty2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your lovely reccomendation of the hotel. We strive to make sure that our guests needs are met each and every day. We truely hope that you will keep us in mind when you head back to town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urbandale
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines
2.9 mi away
Hotel Renovo
Hotel Renovo
#2 of 11 in Urbandale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines Urbandale
0.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale
0.6 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel and Conference Center - Des Moines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale
Address: 8789 Plum Dr, Urbandale, IA 50322-6245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Urbandale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Urbandale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing